We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of my trip.”
Review of Kukuli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kukuli Lodge
Ranked #72 of 554 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Kukuli Lodge is located adjacent to a Hospital and because of this, it enjoys an unusually quiet neighborhood in an otherwise frenetic city. The courtyard is fully mature flowering plants, for a flower lover like me, this is great. The owners have two beautiful dogs who are friendly and mild mannered. The host is friendly, knowledgeable about his city and is a culinary expert. He provides a Gastronomic Tour as part of the experience during which you visit a local market, pick up fresh ingredients and finally work with him to prepare and serve food and drink especially known to originate from the region. We made ceviche, toasted corn, a fantastic custard I can't remember the name of and Pisco Sours. I have to say my husband and I both became friends with him, he is a gracious and considerate host.

Room Tip: I loved the first upstairs bedroom. It has a beautiful view over the hospital of the city rising abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTRogers1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kukulilodge, Propietario at Kukuli Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Roger
It was my pleasureto have you both here in Kukuli Lodge B&B.
It is true we became friends and Marco and I hope we can meet again here in Peru again or in your country. Hugs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice little B&B in Cusco- Marcos was a great host, making us feel welcome as soon as we arrived, offering to pick us up from the airport and taking our clothes to the laundry. The rooms are basic but clean, spacious and nicely decorated, and had the most consistently hot water we found in Peru. Be aware that it's quite far away from the historical centre of Cusco- taxis in and out are generally required, but are cheap and easy to hail. The surroundings area isn't great- we didn't feel completely safe walking at night, and it could be quite noisy (our room looked out on to the street, so others may be quieter) and we were sometimes kept awake by the barking dogs. Still, the rooms are good value and you couldn't ask for a more welcoming host.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kukulilodge, Propietario at Kukuli Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi there, thank you for your comments. The place are very save even if it doesnt look like. I am very glad you had a nice time with us.
Best regds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband, three teenage sons, and I spent a wonderful week under the excellent care of Ronald and Marcos at Kukuli Lodge. Our rooms were very comfortable and there was always plenty of hot, hot water for our showers. The lodge allowed for us to relax after our fun-filled days in Cusco. In addition to our two rooms, we had access to a lounge area as well as a breakfast area. Breakfast was served when we wanted it each morning. The lodge was wonderful, but the attention we received from Ronald and Marcos was above and beyond what we expected. In addition to making phone calls for us in Spanish and helping us set up a wonderful horseback riding trip, Ronald recommended wonderful local restaurants for us and showed a true concern when we were hours late returning from Machu Picchu (due to a rock slide that covered the tracks and delayed the trains). He always asked us how our day had been and what we were planning to do next. We really felt like part of the family, especially when the whole family was invited to their family BBQ . My entire family truly enjoyed our stay at Kukuli Lodge and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacher4kidsattek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kukulilodge, Propietario at Kukuli Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013
Google Translation

Es grato saber que pasaron una linda temporada en nuestro hospedaje. Fue muy agradable compartir muchas actividades como la parrilla y la fogata.
Espero que regresen pronto y nos volvamos a ver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

we spend 4 days in Cusco and Ronald and Marcos were extremely welcoming and helpful to us. Ronald picked us up at the airport, and gave us great information on restaurants and how to get around. The inn is outside the center of town, but walking to the more central parts of Cusco were fun, easy to get to, and it was nice to get away from the tourist scene around Plaza de Armas. They had a barbecue one night with friends, and invited us, which made us feel so at home. It was nice to find a place that doesn't make you feel like you're on the tourist production line. We definitely recommend staying at the Kukuli Lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kukulilodge, Propietario at Kukuli Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hi Mark
Was really wonderful share that time with all of you. Thanks for a such nice comment of us. Hope we can meet again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel does not take visa, or any other credit cards, so beware! The Expedia information is incorrect. Also, the lodge only offers transfers from the airport to the hotel, not the reverse. Information is also misleading here. The hotel lacks charm, is VERY basic, and far from Plaza de Armas and the more touristic parts of Cusco. You must take a taxi to those areas of Cusco. People have been nice but the services and accommodations offered versus what was purported to be offered left me very unhappy, especially the fact the the hotel does not accept credit cards. I would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone else. I was charged $35 for a single room and do not think I got a good or even fair value for that price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drkc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kukulilodge, Propietario at Kukuli Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho que no haya estado cómodo en nustro hospedaje pero debo aclarar que algunas cosas que dices no son correctas. En nuestra informacion dejamos en claro que no trabajamos con trajeta visa u otras. También informamos que nuestro hospedaje no se encuentra dentro del perímetro turistico y lamentamos el hecho que tú no hayas leído esta información en EXPEDIA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Me and my brother stayed here when we visited Cusco and we had a wonderful time. Ron and Marco were so welcoming and kind to us, and they can pick you up from the airport! Food was great, the rooms were very clean, modern with a tv and a bath. It's a lovely lodge with gardens to explore, with excellent views of Cusco.
It's not in the centre on Cusco, so you will have to get a taxi to the main square, or walk (takes about 45 minutes)
Cannot recommend this enough!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahC692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kukulilodge, Gerente at Kukuli Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hey Hanna
Nice to know about you two. Thanks for the private message you send us.
Hope all of you are ok in Uk now.
Greeting from us.
Marco and Ronald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A great old property. Was there twice 3 nights at the beginning of March and a few days later upon my return from Machu Pichu. Had a great spot for my moto in an adjoining store. Very friendly and helpful hosts.
Location is out of the central Cusco area but there are lots of small restaraunts and stores in the area. Cab ride downtown is cheap.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RexBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kukulilodge, Owner at Kukuli Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

It was our pleasure to have you in our lodge. For the next time I will make sure to give you a room upstairs.
Hope you have a good trip and I am following you by you website.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.6 mi away
Casa Hospedaje Hatun Quilla
1.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#160 of 172 in Cusco
89 reviews
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
1.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 172 in Cusco
1,527 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 554 in Cusco
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kukuli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kukuli Lodge

Address: 520 Tomasa Tito Condemayta Ave., Cusco 5184, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 554 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $20 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kukuli Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kukuli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing