We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best hotel we've EVER stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Possibly the best hotel we've EVER stayed in!”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed in the Aranwa for two nights and then one night either side of our trip to Machu Picchu. This hotel is amazing! Excellent location, a pleasant 5 minute walk from the main square. On arrival we were immediately ushered into a lounge area and given a cup of coca tea, while our bags were taken to our room.

Our deluxe room was cavernous with a huge chandelier, original colonial art on the ceiling, super-luxurious bathroom and giant enclosed terrace area looking out onto the street. They pump oxygen into the rooms to ease the effects of altitude - compared to other hotels we went on to stay in, this was a welcome addition that definitely helped us to sleep better. There is free wifi available in the rooms and throughout the hotel. We also utilised the hotel's DVD library one night.

The communal areas are beautiful, centred round a grand courtyard, which you overlook at breakfast. Breakfast was extensive and delicious, plus it's available from 5am to accommodate the early risers heading off to Machu Picchu. The bar area is very nicely decorated but was empty the whole time we were there, so we didn't use it.

Overall the service was impeccable - every staff member was super polite and helpful, though the hotel seemed quiet and there were always several guys just 'standing around'. We changed currency at the front desk with ease and stored our luggage there overnight whilst at Machu Picchu - upon our return it had already been transferred to our room (not as grand as the first but still fabulous).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmasteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    178
    35
    10
    7
See reviews for
212
456
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is such a beautiful hotel and for the price, I think it offers exceptional value. The rooms are spacious and very tastefully decorated and the bathrooms very well appointed. We stayed 2 nights before our trek and then returned 4 days later to stay another night. It was no problem for them to mind our luggage in that time and to even leave the bill until our return. We only ate in their restaurant on our last night in an attempt to sample the "real" Cusco. Mistake! The food here is so incredible I wish we had eaten there every night! The included breakfasts were also fantastic and the staff very attentive and friendly and spoke remarkably good English. Do yourself a favour and experience this hotel and this beautiful city for yourself :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Enjoyed a family vacation for two (2) nights in two rooms during New Years. Service oriented small hotel that is very accommodating. Includes free Wi-Fi and nice cooked to order breakfast daily. Rooms were well appointed, large bathroom with double sinks, great stall showers, large tub and heated towel rack and floor. Most rooms do not have external windows but that isn't a major concern. Location is steps from one of the main squares and loads of great restaurants are in short walking distance. One downside - toilet paper can not be flushed in toilets. Very strange, but that is the only negative and really come to think of it not horrible (maybe for the maids).

Room Tip: Second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iraa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed just one night before moving on to the sacred valley. The hotel is located on a quiet street just a 5 minute walk from the main plaza de armas. My room was the cheapest "classic" room but was very well fitted out with a comfortable bed and a luxurious en suite bathroom. The main drawback was the window opened onto the corridor next to one of the internal courtyards. If you book a classic room ask about its location.

The public spaces were absolutely beautiful, restored courtyards, a real peaceful oasis from the bustle of Cusco.

Only had breakfast here which was standard 4 star hotel buffet style.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_traveller1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Bogota
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night upon arrival to Cusco before heading to lower altitude in the sacred valley. I specifically chose the hotel because of the oxygen they pipe into the rooms because I was worried about altitude sickness within our group which included senior citizens and toddlers. Additionally, it is one of the nicest hotels in Cusco.

The hotel itself is just perfectly decorated - that lovely combination of antiqueties (or replicas) and modern design. Rooms do not have views and windows look out into the hallways - this didn't bother us - for just one night we didn't really care and honestly, the 16th colonial mansion charm of this place more than makes up for a lack of view. It's a small chain so there are the odd eccentricities to it - we didn't like the multiple jet-stream shower heads (none of which fell directly in the center of a cramped shower stall) and there were some mini-bar discrepancies on our room bill which were never resolved and we ended up paying for. Breakfast was very nice and the dining room was charming.

The hotel organized a day trip tour of Cusco for us and transportation to our next hotel. I thought it was a bit expensive and the tour guide fairly lackluster, but it's an option if you don't have any other. One day in Cusco really didn't seem like enough, I would have preferred to have 2 full days so we would have had more time to wander.

The hotel is located a 3 minute walk from the Plaza de Armas right in the center of all the cute shopping on charming parts of Cusco. We were able to easily get a van for 8 from the airport to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms do not have "views" as all rooms face an interior courtyard but the higher category...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiquiMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were treated royally. Coca tea was brought to us as we waited in their lovely reception area before being taken to our room. We stayed in room 218 which had a small balcony overlooking the city. The view at night was especially wonderful. The staff was very accommodating especially when I was feeling the effects of altitude sickness. Our room was spacious and elegantly furnished with a bathroom featuring a heated floor and towel rack. We ate in their restaurant 3 out of our 4 nights and found the service and food to be excellent. Elvis, Darcey, Tony, Ivan and Serejion were very helpful in menu suggestions and took extra time with us to ask us about our travels and answer the many questions we had. The manager Felipe was courteous and very attentive to detail. The hotel is ideally located to many of Cusco's attractions and we always felt safe in the neighbourhood. We'd love to visit again!

Room Tip: Our room, 218 was very spacious with two very comfortable double beds. We had a small balcony which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 755 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

HOTEL REVIEW # 203 Aranwa

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences.

LOCATION: Excellent. A couple of blocks from the plaza de aramas and centrally located to sites and restaurants. Street is a bit busier compared to some of the other high end hotels.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: Recommend arranging a hotel car which is more expensive than a taxi from the airport but safer. 20 minute drive to hotel.

TYPE OF ROOM: 

Standard room

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed was a little bit harder than preferred but linens and pillows were of highest quality. Hotels has a pillow menu

LIGHTING: Great in both bathroom and bedroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Luxurious with no expenses spared. Marble throughout. Only option is a rainshower. Very good water pressure.

TOILETRIES: Gilcrest and Soames.

CLEANLINESS: Hotel is very new and the entire hotel is spotless.

A/C: Didn’t use AC but the only heat are the heated floors. Worked fine.

CLOSET SPACE: Not much space to unpack all items.

STYLE OF ROOM: Really beautiful. Chandaleir in bedroom is a nice touch and no expenses spared to make this room great. Did feel like a bit too much stuff is in the room making it a bit cluttered for such a tiny room. Barely enough space for 2 large suitcases to fit comfortably in the room (same issue at monasterio). I didn’t like that the room didn’t have a window to the outside as the only window went to the hallway.

COMMON AREA: Stunning. Much better than the website images. This was my 3rd choice of hotel in Cusco (stayed at Monasterio and Casa Cartagena) but after seeing the hotel common areas this was favorite. The hotel feels a bit like a museum (but more comfortable). The artwork on the walls are all original and probably worth a fortune. I had the feeling that cost was no issue with respect to making sure this hotel would be amazing.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room was quiet and all morning sunlight could be blocked.

FOOD: Room service pasta was delicious (and I am very picky). Breakfast was the best in our 2 weeks in Peru. Everything was very fresh and of the highest quality. Pancakes were amazing. Coffee was great… very enjoyable.

TV/INTERNET: Didn’t use the TV but internet worked well in the room and average speed for Peru (slow). No cost for wireless in the room or common areas.

SERVICE: Staff was incredibly nice (did get a wakeup call 30 mins late).

SUMMARY: Stayed at Casa Cartagena and Monasterio but this would be my choice if going back to Cusco (if I could get a larger room). I like the décor the best in the common areas as well as excellent food (food at monasterio was bad). The royal suite at Casa Cartagena was amazing and I preferred that room to the standard at Aranwa. Monasterio is my 3rd choice but if you like more historic, older hotels that may be the best (rooms are not good there). If you like historic hotels, stay at Aranwa or Casa Cartagena and get a drink at monasterio. We also loved the food at LIMO restaurant.

Room Tip: I would suggest a larger room as the standard rooms are too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.5 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.3 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel

Property: Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
Address: Avenida San Juan de Dios 255 | Centro Historico, Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in the heart of the Inca city. Built on a completely restored 16th century manor. 43 oxygenated rooms, each with a unique feel and architecture surround the elaborate courtyards and lush inner gardens. Mestizo restaurant and tapas bar complete the gastronomic offer. Antique paintings from the Cuzco School, colonial carvings and sculptures with high cultural value line up the corridors, encompassing a design that brings back its grandeur and lets history speak for itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing