We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the middle of Cuzco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 173 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Aranwa was a wonderful stay. Beautiful, clean and comfortable. Huge (and good) buffet breakfast. Service and staff were excellent. Heated bathroom floor was nice touch, along with free wireless internet in the room. Close to main square and easy walking from the hotel. Highly recommended in Cuzco.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

The location of the hotel is very good cause it is walking distance to most places.
The room I had was a single one and it was very spacious, and nice.
The bathroom was extraordinary, decoration wise, and spacious.
The breakfast had a variety to choose from.
The service of the hotel was excellent since we arrived tired and hungry so we ordered food at the small bar-restaurant downstairs and they volunteered to bring it to our rooms. Furthermore, since we spend New Years eve there, all the employees were very helpful in providing us with information such as were to go and in general were very polite and pleasant.
There is a very nice outdoor patio for breakfast and areas where you can rest after a long day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is a very nice boutique hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable, small but nicely decorated. There is only a window to the hallway. Bathroom has underfloor heating and is well sized. The beautiful colonial mansion (XVI century) is like a museum. Everybody is very friendly and helpful. Free internet. Well located to the city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jurgen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

the hotel is great but the rooms are very small . I was told this is the only hotel which offers free oxyganeted room . they greeted us with coca tea . the bathroom had heated flooring . They offer free internet . the breakfast was good . Its a lovely property . ther eis no window in the room

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medsBom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We arrived at the hotel after an all-night flight, tired and a bit short of breath. The staff greeted us with a cup of tea, got us settled and made sure we were comfortable. The rooms are great--and surround a courtyard. The hotel is near the main square of Cusco, Plaza de Armas, and within walking distance of many of the most interesting sites. It was nice to have the extra oxygen in the room as well. We enjoyed the fabulous artwork located in the public areas and ended up eating at the hotel restaurant the nights we stayed there. The service was friendly and helpful and the food was outstanding. We were part of a Lindblad Expeditions/National Geographic Expedition and really enjoyed our 3 nights at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCSue67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Sure, it's a beautiful hotel in a nice location, but the sevice was not great. We purchased a package on Luxury Link for 2 nights with dinner. This was the first time one of their packages was not outstanding: no "oxygen" (air conditioning) as promised in our windowless room and despite a couple of calls, they could not get it going. Terribly stuffy. We asked for an upgraded room the next night and they turned us down flat, saying the hotel was booked. Doubt it! The place was like a ghost town. We ended up in a different room not as nice as the first one. Dinner was off a special tourist menu so limited choices but the server was great; had nothing to do but chat with us as the restaurant was deserted. Nice chandeliers but was overall disappointed as the other LL European properties we have stayed in knocked themselves out. The Aranwa did not. Our kids stayed at the much cheaper San Augustin and had a better experience.

Room Tip: Make sure the AC works before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giuiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Aranwa is quite simply an incredible hotel, gorgeously decorated, impeccable service, beautiful rooms, absolutely a stunning place. We walked around and just marveled at the stonework, the paintings (many are first-run signed masterpieces), and the high-end furnishings of the hotel.

LOCATION - Aranwa is located just a block or two from the main plaza, Plaza de Armas, and also adjacent to a very nice square with several more restaurants and shops. It is just off the plazas so you're not hounded by vendors every two seconds, and there aren't cars honking wildly out your bedroom, but close enough it literally takes less than 5 minutes to walk to the center, very easy.

HOTEL - The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. We were amazed by the high quality of the furnishings, the unique atmosphere and the amazing paintings throughout the hotel. Somebody spent a fortune on this hotel, and it shows. It has all the amenities, include a very nice restaurant, a bar, and a breakfast restaurant, breakfast is included (pretty standard American-style). Really remarkable. The hotel is small, with not many rooms, which makes it cozy but not too small you feel all by yourself.

ROOMS - We had a suite, and it was lavishly furnished, very large with 2 full rooms, a very comfortable bed (the pillows weren't great though), oxygen pumped in free of charge (unlike some other hotels that charge as much as $50/night), flat screen televisions in each room, free wireless internet, a nice desk for working, and a beautiful bathroom (tub had 18k Gold trim. The only problem we had with the bathrooms was that the shower was not very pleasant - they should replace the nozzles on the ceiling with a nice pleasant tropical rain shower. Other than that, there is nothing to fault with the rooms, they were beautiful, comfortable, and reasonably priced. For a giant suite, it cost us half of what a less impressive room at Hotel Monasterio would have cost. There is even an iron in the room, a rarity in Peru.

SERVICE - Absolutely great. Always polite, prompt, concerned, friendly, and professional. Great English, knew our names immediately, always smiling. From the most welcome introductory coca tea, to the meals to the front desk, top notch.

The prices are high at the restaurants and for services, as with all 5-star hotels, but with so many restaurants just a short walk away, that's no problem.

Tip: There is a laundry service two blocks up where you can do your laundry for about 5 PEN ($1.75) per kg. Much better than the hotel, which charges an obscene price (as with most hotels).

Aranwa is a top-notch hotel, one of the most beautiful we've stayed in. When we returned from the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu, we decided to give Hotel Monasterio a try just for a change, but we wished we had gone back to Aranwa!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.5 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#28 of 173 in Cusco
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel

Address: Avenida San Juan de Dios 255 | Centro Historico, Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 173 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $168 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in the heart of the Inca city. Built on a completely restored 16th century manor. 43 oxygenated rooms, each with a unique feel and architecture surround the elaborate courtyards and lush inner gardens. Mestizo restaurant and tapas bar complete the gastronomic offer. Antique paintings from the Cuzco School, colonial carvings and sculptures with high cultural value line up the corridors, encompassing a design that brings back its grandeur and lets history speak for itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing