We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best place -warm and friendly"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tambo del Arriero Hotel Boutique
Ranked #20 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
1 review
“"Best place -warm and friendly"”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was there with my mum and my boyfriend 20 days ago and it was really nice to stay in Tambo del Arriero, services are excellent, big rooms, quiet area and great location!!.
The receptionists Victor and Sergio, were very friendly and helpful, they made feel like at home.
The only thing to improve could be the buffet breakfast, it should have more variety; everything else is perfect.
I cannot forget to mention the extra service I had with Tari Tours, because Angela Rengifo gave us an excellent service, very professional, always on time, very helpful and ready to do more for us until the end. Since we arrive at the airport, transfer was very comfortable, all the places we have been were top sites. The tour to Valle Sagrado and Machu Picchu were unforgettable experience.
If you don´t know the place very well I will strongly recommend an angel like Angela to assist you!!
And just to finish, I would like to mention that next year my relatives will stay in the same place, same with my friends; because that place is the best. I love it!

Room Tip: "Rooms facing to the yard are quiet and you have a nice view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayrabys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    109
    27
    1
    6
See reviews for
117
145
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in a lovely corner room on the second floor. Our room had two large double beds and a ladder leading up to a second level where there was a fridge, kettle and a lovely sitting area. The room was excellently decorated and the bathroom was spotless. As with everywhere in Cusco, the shower water has very little pressure and sometimes there is only a trickle. The lighting wasn't excellent in the room. There are heaters all over the room which heat the room very well. The breakfast was relatively simple but tasty and the service and staff was friendly and helpful. There is wifi but we were not able to pick up the signal from our room unless we left the door open. Very quiet and serene and less than a 5 minute walk to the main square.

Room Tip: If you want to use the wifi in your room and not just at reception, check the signal gets to the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

To chose this hotel was the best choice we could have made while staying in Cusco. You can almost feel the history of the old completly renovated building, but don´t expect basic facilities as everything is very modern and luxury. We felt well looked after and didn´t miss any amenities.

We abundantly recommend this beautiful hotel for all those who want to enjoy an unique experience during their stay in Cusco!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We really liked this hotel, which we booked for three days while we acclimatised before a previously arranged two week tour. The rooms were spacious, well designed, clean and stylish. The staff were very helpful - especially on the first night when my wife suffered from altitude sickness and I had to ask the night porter to fetch some oxygen at 3am. We didn't eat in the hotel other than breakfast, but for bed and breakfast it was very good. The only feature that lets them down is their association with the two women they send to collect you at the airport who run a tour agency. They push their tours very aggressively and pestered us until we gave in. On our second day we finally agreed to one and took a half day tour to the Pisac ruins. The guide himself was excellent and very knowledgeable, but we were completely fleeced by Angela who, we were able to work out later when we acquired more local knowledge, charged us at least three times the going rate. She really lets them down, and they are foolish to have any thing to do with her.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Tambo del Arriero is a top notch hotel. It’s an experience which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Upon our arrival by taxi, the staff instantly appeared and helped us into the hotel which appears unremarkable from the outside. Walking through the doorway, an absolutely beautifully restored building appears before you. The courts are very pleasant and comfortable.

Our room was spacious and immaculate. Everything was perfect. The breakfast offered a number of excellent options for any traveler's taste. I especially enjoyed the omelets!

The staff at Tambo del Arriero made me feel as a member of their family. Everyone from the front desk staff to the bar crew was very friendly and helpful. Be sure to ask to see the before and after restoration photos. The restaurants they recommended, Chi Cha and Limo, served some of the best meals I've had anywhere on my travels around the world.

By coincidence, we arrived in Cusco at the end of the Feast of Corpus Christi. The procession of the saints and all the traditional dancing, costumes, and music made Cusco a very special place which will stand out from all my travels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice big clean rooms. House built in the XVIth century with very nice upgrades.

Excellent staff. After a few days of tours, we needed our jeans washed. They sent our laundry out at 7 am, and it was back and ready by 10 am. Fast and excellent prices.

Will stay here again for sure! Karina, Miguel and Marianela are great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Amarofabiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

The Tambo is a few blocks up from the square, but is walkable within 5 minutes. It is in a quiet neighborhood and has an unassuming door - watch the numbers. The rooms were comfortable and big. We stayed here on the night before and night after our trek to Machu Picchu, and they held some luggage for us - even had it in our rooms when we got back. Peter was very helpful and friendly, and recommended the two best restaurants of our trip (El Limo and Chicha). I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingtexan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
#22 of 169 in Cusco
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 169 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.7 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambo del Arriero Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Arriero Hotel Boutique

Property: Tambo del Arriero Hotel Boutique
Address: Nueva Alta 484, Cusco Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tambo del Arriero Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo del Arriero is a great Boutique Hotel in Cusco, Peru. It was designed to accommodate a reduced number of guestrooms taking care of the original architecture and spirit of the original house and, at the same time, satisfying the needs of the most demanding contemporary traveler. Therefore, we offer a private, warm and homely atmosphere; but at the same time, highly professional in order to guarantee a delightful and unforgettable stay enjoying the colonial architecture of Cusco together with modern comforts. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a range of services and amenities: Breakfast area. Coffee Bar. Free WiFi. Safety box. Laundry. Luggage storage. Free airport pick-up and drop-off. First aid. Information about Cuzco and touristic places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tambo del Arriero Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing