We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient Comforable Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 325 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient Comforable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Spent two nights here with a group. We added a trip to Cusco and Machu Picchu to the end of a mission trip on the Ucayali River. Maytaq Wasin is tastefully decorated. The rooms are small, simple but very comfortable. My wife and I had two twin beds. The hotel is not air conditioned and the first night was quite warm. The window in our room opened onto the street in front of the hotel which was too loud to keep open through the night. (No problem with noise with the window closed.) Cusco is generally pretty cool at night. The second night was very comfortable. The only issue I would mention is that that our first morning, we needed to leave the hotel at 6:00 AM to catch the train for Machu Picchu. My wife and I had an alarm clock but those in the group who asked for a wake up call did not receive one until 5:55. One front desk employee doesn't spoil the whole experience but it was a problem. The hotel's proximity to the Plaza de Armas, the Cathedral and the Incan Museum was great. Two blocks in either direction. Price was also reasonable. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room not on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaboJefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    113
    31
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
153
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is in a great spot. Just a block off the main square so close, but quiet. It is fairly basic, but had everything we needed. Free unlimited filtered water and tea was a plus, very friendly and helpful staff, a heater in the bedroom, a nice rooftop patio with a cool view and a decent breakfast included. The Machu Picchu museum is next door. It is not super luxury or in a converted palace, but this is a good option for people who want things done right for a good price.

Room Tip: there is no elevator, but there are only three floors. Even so, with the altitude, the walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank admglick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel. We stayed here 3 nights before visiting the Sacred Valley/Macchu Picchu and one night on the way back. They even stored our big luggage while we were in Sacred Valley and Macchu Picchu with no problems. The staff are extremely helpful, caring, friendly, professional, and speak English.

Upon arrival, I had a medical issue and they immediately called a doctor to the hotel. The staff were very concerned, caring, and understanding. With their help, we were able to complete our Peru vacation as planned. I thank you all so much, especially the guys at the front desk!

The hotel is nicely decorated. They had filtered water to fill water bottles, hot water, and cocoa tea. There is a PC in the lobby with Wi-Fi for everyone to use and the Wi-Fi in the room worked just fine. The breakfast served in the restaurant next door was fantastic. They have breads,
cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit, juices, yogurt, coffee, and eggs cooked to order. The rooftop terrace has a fantastic view. It's beautiful during the day and at night - great place to read or have a drink. Be sure to check it out!

Now the room - we had plenty of space in Room 211 - some people have complained about small rooms. The bathroom was all newly tiled with a large shower. We had plenty of hot water and good pressure. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room had two windows that opened to the central court, so with both windows open we could get some fresh air. We only had two very minor complaints. The air circulation could be better, which could be easily fixed by adding fans to the rooms. The other complaint was hard pillows - they were very hard and uncomfortable.

The hotel is in a great location - only two blocks from the Plaza De Armas. Most museums and sites are within easy walking distance. There are many restaurants and shops nearby. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cuzco.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyR887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was a tale of two halves for us. We stayed before and after our trek. We arrived for our first stay after a long journey, overnight bus to Lima followed by a flight, to find that there was a problem with the hot water. The room only had a window onto a corridor( room 303) and the room was quite chilly, but the staff did get the radiator to work which made a big difference. The room itself was very comfortable and clean. Also, we had read good things about the restaurant but it was closed as it was Sunday.

When we returned for a couple of nights after our trek we were in room 304, again very comfortable and clean, which had a lovely view over the Cusco rooftops, the shower had endless amounts of hot water and the room had a heater. We ate in the restaurant 2 nights, the food was really excellent and the waiters were good fun. I would have given this hotel 5 starts based on our second stay. The location is ideal for the main square, shops and markets.

Room Tip: Request a room with window eg; room 304 and tell the staff if the room is cold as they will provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene-Wanadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

There is nothing I can complain about with this B&B. The location was near everything in Cusco. The complementary coca tea really helped us prevent altitude sickness. Breakfast was good. Checkin and checkout was smooth too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xpehbamxyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, close to the Plaza de Armas yet quiet (if you have an interior room.) It is right next door to the Machu Picchu museum and a block from the plaza. The Mutu restaurant sownstairs has great food at good prices and the only waiter we found in Peru who actually checked to see how everything was after the food was served. The 3rd floor roof is great for views, smoking or just relaxing.

The only downside of this hotel is that the internet in our 2nd and 3rd floor rooms was barely existent.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room so you do not need to hear the noise and chaos of Cusco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nippstik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel was sort of a home base for us as we stayed for one day at the start of our trip and two days towards the end of our trip. It's what you would expect from a 3 start hotel, good value and close proximity to the area. If you are looking for something that is of higher quality and more amenities you'll need to look elsewhere. This really is a travelers hotel which is there for sleeping and pretty much that's it.

The rooms were clean, beds were hard and you could hear all the traffic in the hallways as there is no noise proofing used here. Windows are weird, some look into a hallway, some into a courtyard and some who knows where. Very odd. You'll need to walk all the way up to the third floor as there is a nice look out at the roof where you can see 360 degrees around Cusco.

Brunch was included and is very basic. Toast, Eggs, Yogurt, juices and bread. Was good enough to start with.

WiFi is quite fast and I was pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is situated just off the square and is a 2-3 minute walk to it. There is lots to do and see around and you'll be satisfied with that.

Overall if I was travelling again I'd use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is away from the traffic of the hotel if noise is an issue for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#29 of 161 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 161 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel

Property: Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel
Address: Santa Catalina Ancha 342, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing