We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the quiet side of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 355 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the quiet side of town”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here before and after the Inca trail, and both times we had street facing bedroom,. the stay before we were woken early to sounds of car horns beeping! it did bother us at first as we were up and out early most mornings off sight seeing but after the trail we were hoping for a good night sleep but we were give a room that was over the reception area and outside a public area. We asked yo change rooms but the only one tat was aviable was our previous room whihc was just a noisy. they did give us a key to a ajoining room to ours but that was just as noisy and cold!

The staff tried there best and the rooms were clean, but i would have put a bit more thought into allocating the rooms for tired trail travellers!

The location was great and so was the food and to repeat my self the staff were helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    128
    33
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
166
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Maytaq Wasin in Cusco twice, one night right after our 4-day Inca trek, and one night after a 5-day Amazon adventure. We were not expecting much, just a clean bed and a hot shower. We were very pleasantly surprised to find Maytaq to be a great little hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. At first, the shower did not have hot water, which was a disappointment after our 4-day hike, but after relaxing half an hour with some coca tea we were able to take our much-anticipated hot showers.
We had no problems with the street noise that others have described because we had a room that did not face the street. It did face another room, so we had to keep our curtains closed, which also meant that we had to keep the lights on. It was on the second floor, and one of the hotel staff helped carry the heavy luggage upstairs. During our Amazon trip the hotel stored our bags. We had the same room again when we returned. A nice touch was the “welcome back” card with the chocolates on our bed.
WiFi worked perfectly all the time, something we could not take for granted in the other hotels in Peru. The heater in the room must have been on a timer, because it only came on at night, and was off by early morning. This was too bad, as we were trying to dry some wool socks on the heater. The hair dryer blew a fuse, but worked again the next morning.
Breakfast was very nice and was held in a bright and modern restaurant space. Lots of fresh fruit, juice, bread and cereal, and eggs made to order. There was an extra charge for specialty coffees like cappuccinos, but regular coffee and tea were adequate and free.
The location can’t be beat. It is close to the main square (Plaza de Armas) AND to our favorite restaurant in Cusco, Greens. Right next door to Maytaq is the Machu Picchu museum, which is worth a visit after you’ve been in Machu Picchu. It features some of the artifacts that were taken to Yale after MP was discovered and recently returned.
I loved this boutique hotel and highly recommend it to people who are not looking for a Hilton or Marriott but want something more personal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco,ca
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hands down an excellent hotel. Great service, lovely rooms, delicious breakfast including eggs cooked as you like them and the freshest juices. We stayed here before and after hiking the Inca Trail and dreamed of Maytaq's beds every night on the trail :) Great location a couple blocks off of Cusco's beautiful main square. Go up on the rooftop - you'll see Cusco laid out before you.
We booked by emailing them directly.

Room Tip: room on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buytics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed at the Maytaq for three nights, sandwiched around an overnight to the Sacred Valley and Macchu Picchu. While not "fancy," the Maytaq is excellent in every sense. Rooms, dining area and lobby are all spotlessly clean. The staff is truly exceptional. At every level, staff members exuded hospitality and professionalism. Whether it was calling a taxi; printing boarding passes or carrying bags up stairs, help was offered with a enthusiastic smile. Location, as has been mentioned, is also excellent; just two short blocks from the Plaza de Armas. There's also a market across the street to buy water and snacks; some nice restaurants and shopping nearby; and two "same day" laundry places. I had two bags of dirty clothes washed, ironed and folded for about $7. Recommend the Maytaq highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDKorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A good location makes this hotel a great place to stay in Cusco, being just 2 minutes walk from the main square and the 3 "pubs" are equidistant. As other reviewers have said, there are no lifts but that should not prove a problem as the staff are only to eager to help with your luggage and there are only a couple of floors in addition to street level. The only negative side to staying here is if you are unfortunate enough to get a room overlooking the street, as there is significant noise from car horns being blasted throughout the night.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room overlooking the street !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WR9Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Echo all the positive comments. Breakfasts with fresh fruit juice, wonderful locally sourced fruit and awesome coffee.

Stayed as a family, and had a room for us and our two daughters. Concierge were helpful.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank willdopl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Everything about this hotel is awesome! The location is about a block away from the Plaza des Armas,and downhill from San Bles. You can cover almost all Cusco site seeing from here on foot due to the hotel's central location. The rooms are big, clean and the staff are wonderful. When we first arrived, our room for 3 people (me, husband and teenage son) was in the back on the first floor and was two floors/two bathrooms. When we came back from the Inka Trail, we were on the third floor (the stairs were a bit tough after the 4 day hike, LOL) and we had one big room with two very comfortable beds. The views from that room of the city were very good.
Breakfast is included, and the buffet is plentiful and tasty. The coffee and warm milk delicious! I also really appreciated that the hotel held on to our bags while we were on the Inca Trail at no cost. There is free wifi, and a Mac computer in the lobby with a 15 minute time limit for use as well.
Everything about this hotel and everyone associated with it was terrific. We'd recommend it and we'd go back!

Room Tip: We didn't see an elevator, so if stairs are difficult, ask for a room on the bottom floor. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tikidream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#31 of 167 in Cusco
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel

Property: Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel
Address: Santa Catalina Ancha 342, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 355 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing