We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our wonderful stay at the Maytaq!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Our wonderful stay at the Maytaq!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband, my college student daughter, and I traveled to Peru last August. I posted an earlier review before we actually stayed at the Maytaq, speaking to how Andrea, the hotel manager, unbelievably went out of her way to help us prior to our arrival. She personally advanced the money and purchased three Machu Picchu entrance tickets for us (and emailed the vouchers) when the Peruvian government stopped allowing the use of credit cards to pay for the reservations made online. Understanding, as well, the Maytaq policy is to pay at the time of arrival (no credit cards in advance) and we were staying there AFTER we used the Machu Picchu tickets. It all worked out perfectly and we were very grateful for her trust and generosity. And to complete the saga – we loved staying at the Maytaq.

Objectively:
Pros - Our room was surprisingly large for a triple – the 3 of us stayed in the only room that had been available. The lobby, breakfast area, & our room were immaculate, tastefully modern & quite comfortable. The bath soaps etc were of a lovely quality & individual Kleenex packets were provided. The Reception staff was excellent. They made restaurant reservations for us, were exceedingly friendly & helpful in every way. Andrea is sophisticated and gracious, so it made sense that the hotel was likewise. Breakfast was excellent - eggs made to order etc. The location was perfect for us - on a quiet street, but quite close to the areas we wanted to walk. Coca & other teas available - I believe - 24 hours. We drank a lot of tea! We arrived in Cusco from the Sacred Valley by car so we did not need their complimentary airport pickup. Andrea agreed in an advance email to instead, provide a taxi to the airport when we left. The value and comfort here were outstanding. We will definitely stay at the Maytaq if we are fortunate enough to return to Cusco.

Cons - none. But note that there is a flight of stairs from the street up to the lobby and then a smaller flight of steps to the upstairs rooms. If you are unable or unwilling to walk up steps in the higher altitude, this is probably not the ideal hotel for you.
The heater in our room was not working well the first night (we stayed two nights) – making our room a bit cold - but the problem was fixed when we told them the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squishytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    117
    32
    4
    0
See reviews for
58
156
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great rooms, great Service! Excellent staff and perfect location. Enjoyed our stay very much and will highly recommend the hotel to all our friends and family! Thank you for making our stay that much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Excellent and convenient location. Walking distance to the main square and shops. Very close to restuarants. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were clean and spacious. Tidy bathroom. Buffet breakfast was good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reena_Booval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. The location is terrific, very short walk to main square. Buffet breakfast was very nice.
Rooms are nice and clean although ours was very stuffy and could be noisy when the window was open.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrygreene20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We ended our two week adventure in South America by staying four nights at the Maytaq Wasin Hotel. The hotel is in a great location! You are a block and half off the main square in Cusco. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The rooms are big and the bathroom is modern and nice. You can walk to great restaurants around the city. In addition to great accommodations, the staff is super friendly. They are always helpful and kind. After the first night they recognized us and had our key ready when we walked up. The breakfast is good and they provide cooked to order eggs in addition to bread, meats, cheeses and cereal. They have coffee service all day in the lounge area. Freddy was great and helpful to assist with any needs.

Room Tip: Make sure you visit the roof top to see spectacular views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We just finished a two week trip to South America and this was hands down our favorite hotel. The location is fantastic and within walking distance to shopping and excellent restaurants. The staff is just phenomenal. They were helpful, polite and accomodating. Rare at any hotel these days. One of our trip members wasn't feeling so good and the breakfast staff and front desk staff went above and beyond to make him more comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful each morning and the rooftop view was great. They also have a laundry service that is reasonably priced and very quick! The rooms are very clean and quiet.I really can't say enough nice things about this place. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXORTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place is good for the price. The walls are pretty thin so you can clearly hear people talking in the hallway, traffic, etc. The beds are hard. Sleep was hard to come by at this place. Breakfast was adequate, but again not amazing. Most of the staff only speaks minimal English. If you are looking for something great and relaxing, keep looking. The location was very good. The rooftop was very nice as well. It will work, but it won't wow.

Room Tip: Get 2nd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Cusco Plaza
0.0 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#29 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel

Property: Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel
Address: Santa Catalina Ancha 342, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing