We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse
Ranked #40 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Mama and her staff were very helpful. We arrived at the hotel as early as 7am, definitely before check-in time, but she welcomed us to her office with coca tea and even let us check in early. We didn't sleep at all the night before. So, having an early check-in was great.

The room had all the basic stuff. But it was very noisy outside at night. Our room was near the main street and the train station. We could hear a training passing by at the middle of the night. The room was cold. We didn't know that we could ask for a heater.

We stayed two nights and headed to Machu Picchu. We left most of our luggage at the hotel. After Machu Picchu, we came back and stayed another two nights there but in another room - a much more quiet room.

We liked the location too - it's a bit far from the main square but with about 10-15 minutes, you would get there.

Mama was kind and flexible. The last day we needed to leave early (before the breakfast hours) and her staff still made us breakfast - hot drinks, scrambled eggs, fresh juice, and bread.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the courtyard or behind the kitchen. Higher floors could be better too. The fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    65
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
25
72
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week in July. We were quite impressed with the staff hospitality, especially with the help we received from Mercedes. She is a special person who care a lot about her guests and do everything that thins goes well for everyone. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The breakfast is good also, simple and fresh. If you need guidance for your visit in Cusco, Mercedes is there to help you. We recommend this hotel to everyone. The hospitality of Mercedes has no price ! Many thanks to Emma too !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vulpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This review is a bit late since I visited in May but I wanted to say that this was the best hostel I stayed at during my stay in Peru! Mercedes was extremely nice and helpful in getting us around town and out to Machu Picchu! I felt very much at home at Casa de Mama 2 and want to make sure no one misses out on such great hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This bed and breakfast served real coffee in the included breakfast!!! Oh how I was ecstatic to have that nice treat after far too much instant coffee.
The rooms are quite large, warm alpaca blankets (which you'll need!!). Only complaint is that hot water was quite finicky to get working, but when it worked, you have a nice shower ahead of you.
You have access to a kitchenette & better yet to Mercedes, the hostel manager. Had a great conversation with her, she's open about her country and very knowledgable. Speaks excellent English!
We were also able to book a tour to Maras and Moray with her, good price and excellent tour I highly recommend.
Great hostel, fairly quiet, though at price of a 30 minute walk to the plaza de Armas.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank swiebe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I would highly recommend staying at Casa de Mama! When we first arrived in Cusco we had only booked two nights and ended up extending it for the rest of the two weeks we were there. Mercedes (Mama) is very hospitable and helped out as much as possible. She did everything from booked us tours, helped us navigate Cusco, or just pointing us to a good restaurant. The walk wasn't bad at all. The breakfast was top notch and made to order. The rooms where spacious with a mini fridge and cooking stove. There was always hot water and wifi, which was a plus. We went on the Inca Trail and she watched our baggage while we were gone. We talked to a few other tourist and nobody got the service we did or had the rooms we had for the price we were paying.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crookedgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

A perfect rating as this 3 star facility delivers as promised. I have been fortunate to have met Mercedes on a few occasions, in the beginning it was by chance and then by choice as she is so very hospitable and caring and organized!! Since they offer pick up I recommend using it, it gives you a chance to figure out where things are. The rooms are satisfactory and I doubt you will spend much time in them. You can use the kitchen to prepare or store your food. The location is a fair walk from the plaza but I have to say that the walk does take you past many sites that you might otherwise miss on your trip, textiles, museums and local markets, restaurants. Very close to the train station. Safe, quiet and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venusrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Mercedes went above and beyond to make sure we were welcomed and cared for while staying in Cusco. From arranging travel to helping us find vegetarian food, she quickly made the place feel like home. It is far from the main square of cusco, but it was not difficult to travel by taxi. Mercedes kept our extra luggage while we were on the Inca Trail, and we had no problem trusting her.

Just bring warm pajamas if you're visiting in the chilly season. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teagan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
1.2 mi away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
1.2 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hostal Cusi Wasi
Hostal Cusi Wasi
#30 of 339 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#3 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#47 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse

Property: Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse
Address: Av Infancia 548, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing