We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercedes is worth the visit alone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse
Ranked #30 of 325 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mercedes is worth the visit alone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This bed and breakfast served real coffee in the included breakfast!!! Oh how I was ecstatic to have that nice treat after far too much instant coffee.
The rooms are quite large, warm alpaca blankets (which you'll need!!). Only complaint is that hot water was quite finicky to get working, but when it worked, you have a nice shower ahead of you.
You have access to a kitchenette & better yet to Mercedes, the hostel manager. Had a great conversation with her, she's open about her country and very knowledgable. Speaks excellent English!
We were also able to book a tour to Maras and Moray with her, good price and excellent tour I highly recommend.
Great hostel, fairly quiet, though at price of a 30 minute walk to the plaza de Armas.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank swiebe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    64
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
25
69
24
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I would highly recommend staying at Casa de Mama! When we first arrived in Cusco we had only booked two nights and ended up extending it for the rest of the two weeks we were there. Mercedes (Mama) is very hospitable and helped out as much as possible. She did everything from booked us tours, helped us navigate Cusco, or just pointing us to a good restaurant. The walk wasn't bad at all. The breakfast was top notch and made to order. The rooms where spacious with a mini fridge and cooking stove. There was always hot water and wifi, which was a plus. We went on the Inca Trail and she watched our baggage while we were gone. We talked to a few other tourist and nobody got the service we did or had the rooms we had for the price we were paying.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crookedgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

A perfect rating as this 3 star facility delivers as promised. I have been fortunate to have met Mercedes on a few occasions, in the beginning it was by chance and then by choice as she is so very hospitable and caring and organized!! Since they offer pick up I recommend using it, it gives you a chance to figure out where things are. The rooms are satisfactory and I doubt you will spend much time in them. You can use the kitchen to prepare or store your food. The location is a fair walk from the plaza but I have to say that the walk does take you past many sites that you might otherwise miss on your trip, textiles, museums and local markets, restaurants. Very close to the train station. Safe, quiet and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venusrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Mercedes went above and beyond to make sure we were welcomed and cared for while staying in Cusco. From arranging travel to helping us find vegetarian food, she quickly made the place feel like home. It is far from the main square of cusco, but it was not difficult to travel by taxi. Mercedes kept our extra luggage while we were on the Inca Trail, and we had no problem trusting her.

Just bring warm pajamas if you're visiting in the chilly season. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teagan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a great stay at Casa de Mama. Mercedes goes out of her way to make sure you are comfortable. We stayed 3 nights and Mercedes helped us organize tours and transportation. Also we were able to leave our bags with her while we went to Macchu Picchu. I highly recommend staying here. It is a little bit of a walk, but it really wasn't that far at all to downtown, maybe 10minutes, but there are nice shopping stops along the way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Киев, Украина
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Clean, quite and very friendly place. Took seven nights there, didn't want to leave! Fresh juices and home made quince jam for the breakfast are also great) The only slight minus is the location: near the bus station, but a bit far from Placa de Armas. It's not a problem if you don't mind 20 minutes walk, and a taxi to the city center costs 4 soles.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed 2 nights. Everything was great. We left our backpack in the storage room during Inca Trail for free. The owner miss Mercedes treated us like family. The location is 20 min walking to the Plaza de Armas so maybe could be a problem for some people.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marazm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
1.4 mi away
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Hostal Quipu Cusco
#16 of 325 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#3 of 325 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique
0.9 mi away
Hostal Goya Andina
Hostal Goya Andina
#54 of 325 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse

Property: Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse
Address: Av Infancia 548, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing