We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really helpful staff and clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hatun Wasi Hostal

Hatun Wasi Hostal
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hatun Wasi Hostal
Ranked #288 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“really helpful staff and clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

we only stayed here 2 nights dunig our trip in cusco staff helped us when we felt ill with the altitude sickness providing coca tea at reception and somewhere to sit. rooms were really clean and well equipped nad free toiletries and had a little conservatory area to sit out which was different. had a nice comfortable quiet stay here :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona19832012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    10
    2
    15
See reviews for
6
12
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

good value for money, great localization, poor food, decent service, internet and hot water included, conditions after 1,5 months in bolivia very decent
good value for money, great localization, poor food, decent service, internet and hot water included, conditions after 1,5 months in bolivia very decent

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I can't really understamd why people complain so much. Its a hostal... its supposed to be cheap. I Stayed here one night. Its three blocks away from the main square where all the bars and restaurants are. its small, comfy, breakfast is enough, the restrooms are really small but nothing to complain about. Its not stylish nor luxurious but it is JUST FINE. If you're cold get a coat. If the noise bothers you, get some earplugs!!! The Cusco spirit is adventurous and sacrified. Just go for it. I'd definitely come again, especially since I paid less than 18 bucks a night.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arocarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It is so close to the main square. I stayed here two nights, on the first night I was inside the shower for 5 mins to wait for the burning hot water to turn to normal heat water while on the second night I waited for 15 mins still couldn't get normal heat water from cold water. So i gave up taking the shower at last. Even i get the normal heat water the first night, the temperature of the water kept changing from very cold to very hot . The breakfast is crap. The reception doesn't speak English and I could only use my limited Spanish plus body language to communicate with them . I think there is a bar close to us coz I hear the music all night with the bom bom drum beats and I can smell the cigarette smoke in my non smoking room. In the mid night I can hear ppl walking outside the corridor, the ladies speaking next door and the phone rang in next room which made me thought that's my phone rang. At night it's so cold my body was shaking even I was wearing fleece to sleep. On the second day I requested for a heater and they deliver it to my room then it's better. Only shampoo n soap n nothing more. With the rate USD 78 per night I would expect something better than these.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milky_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Paris
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We only stayed one night, but it's a hostel, what do you expect? Pro's - Great location 100 meters from the center of town, warm hospitable staff. Con's - lacked consistent hot water, the breakfast was mediocre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citizenMcDermott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Rooms got a little chilly at night, but so did all the other hotels we stayed in during our July vacation in Peru/Bolivia. Size of rooms is pretty small. Service was fine, loved the central location. Wifi worked great. Breakfast was simple but fine for our needs. I'd stay there again. It also did help to know a little Spanish.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmrc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I've been living in Peru for the past twelve years. I am used to shoddy accommodations. I do not mind a cheap place, and I do not expect a cheap place to be sparkling clean. This is the kind of hotel that should easily meet these expectations. It is well located. The rooms are big. It has a nice patio.

But it fails miserably. The hotel is extremely loud. If you stay here you will wake up to incessant pounding, a loud TV downstairs, the screaming kids of the owners, the barking dog being chased by the kids. This is all typical of many places in Cusco, but here the four story concrete structure is built around a tiny space, and all sounds are amplified to an unbelievable and unbearable volume. Moreover, if you stay here, you will not be allowed to bring alcohol onto the roof top patio (??). If you sleep through all of the noise, someone will loudly knock on your door at 8-9am to remind you that check out is at ten. You'll hear them knocking on other doors before they get to your's. If you happen to check out a bit late (30 minutes or so), the owner will demand you pay for another day and threaten to call the police!! And, most unfortunately, if you are sensitive to insects, you will wake up with bed bug or flea bites.

There are other places nearby that are far quieter, friendlier, welcoming, and comfortable. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKAYHEYYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.0 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#14 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hatun Wasi Hotel
Hatun Wasi Hotel
#235 of 340 in Cusco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
0.1 mi away
Pisko & Soul
Pisko & Soul
#11 of 410 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 163 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatun Wasi Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatun Wasi Hostal

Property: Hatun Wasi Hostal
Address: Cuesta San Blas 619-B, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing