We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to almost everywhere.”
Review of Ninos Hotel Fierro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ranked #41 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Brookline
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Walking distance to almost everywhere.”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Ninos Hotel – Fierro 476 is located in a residential neighborhood. It is walking distance from Plaza Regocijo, the, Plaza de Armas, and San Pedro Central Market. The hotel’s restaurant has freshly baked breads and using food from the hotel’s own garden. The famous pumpkin soup is delicious. Service is excellent. The restaurant’s hours are 6am to 11pm. These hours made it convenient for guests to have a late dinner after a long day of activities.
Room is sparsely furnished. Bed, nightstand, small table, two chairs. No closet. There is a storage drawer under the bed. Each room is a girl’s name. We are in Hady on the first floor. The room was dark and cold. The walls are thin. We requested a second floor room and the management honored it. We got a second floor room – Rosa. It was warmer and more light (coming from the skylight in the ceiling). We had ample hot water for showers.
Staff is courteous and helpful. We stayed a total of eight nights….four days before Inca Trail trek and four days after.
Pick up from Cusco airport to Ninos can be arranged prior to arrival.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room that is facing the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    61
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
74
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I traveled with 8 others and booked months ahead of time as we would be using it as a home base. The 2nd time returning after a 3 day excursion we were not notified that plumbing was being worked on. in the middle 2 of the ladies in our party were taking showers when the water was turned off. What a crazy thing when the hotel had our schedule and knew we would be coming back from our excursion all of us needing showers as we had not had one for 3 days.

The rate was set for the 9 of us. Most of us closed our bill leaving the last night leaving the single night return open. The Manager who took care of all the payments did not keep good records, or make notes in the system so at the time of check out, there was so much confusion. The poor lady closing us out could not tell which was what and who had closed their bills previously. At the end we were charged 3 times as much for our last stay than what was agreed upon. Unfortunately after 45 minutes for the poor lady was not able handle the issue even after calling the manager. He had no recollection at all.

Poor service, bad record keeping, no mention of pluming being worked on or even a clue that guest should be notified that plumbing was being serviced.

I would recommend finding an alternative place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powderloverla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

FIRST, TWO DISCLAIMERS:
(1) Know that there are now 2 Niños Hotel locations in Cusco and we stayed at the second location, Fierro. I have no experience with the Meloc location, but it is about 2 blocks closer to the center of the city (and this is the only location that shows on google maps).
(2) This is 4 stars for the price (always a bit confusing on trip advisor how people are calibrating their rating). It's a step above a hostel, especially if you get a private room with a private bedroom, but it essentially has a hostel vibe.

PROS:
- A relatively good price for a central hotel with a private bathroom (if that's the room style you pick). You can find cheaper, but this is reasonable.
- Clean. Everything is very well kept.
- Nicely appointed. It's not the Ritz, but the interior courtyard is cute, the cafe is darling, and the rooms are nicely decorated with local paintings and nice blankets.
- Good food. Breakfast was not included for our reservation, but their little cafe has a great breakfast and serves dinner as well.
- Good service. Everyone was nice and responded quickly to requests, but they're a little understaffed (see cons).
- Relatively central. About a 10-15 minute walk from the main square (the center of Cusco's tourist district) but starting to edge into non-tourist Cusco (see cons for more).
- A good mission. Read about it on their website.

CONS
- No heat. They provide ample blankets but there is no central heat and nights can get cold in the fall/winter. Some hostels have space heaters but I didn't ask.
- No A/C. We didn't need this because we visited in the fall, but know that it's not available. It may not even be necessary in the summer, but I'd check nighttime forecasts.
- Peruvian plumbing. Toilet paper goes in a bin beside the toilet. This is standard for all but the most westernized hotels, but know that this is what you're dealing with.
- Inconsistent hot water. One morning there was no hot water for the shower, but they did respond later that afternoon when we asked.
- A bit understaffed. Often there is only one person managing the front desk and cafe. During busier hours for the cafe there are two, but waiting for breakfast and/or assistance is not uncommon.
- Edge of the tourist district. It's a little grimmer, a little more local (a plus in my book), and a little noisier at night (dogs, kids, etc.).

OVERALL
A lovely and charming hotel with few pretensions or perks. Great for those looking to see Cusco without spending unduly on a western hotel but still looking for a private room and bathroom.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed both at Meloc and Fierro, and liked my room (Olga) at Fierro better than the one I had at Meloc (Moises).

The rooms are big, light and very clean. The bed in Olga was very comfortable, as well, and the bathroom was HUGE, which was really a perk, not a necessity.

It´s still very convenient to downtown, though slightly farther away from Plaza de Armas than Meloc is. Not a big deal, though.

I had to leave to go to Urubamba and regret not having just stayed at Fierro for an additional two nights instead of getting gouged at the other place I went.

highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divechiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Perfect loaction in Cusco, close to the plaza de Armas but away from the crowed, helpfull staff, clean and comfortable rooms, great ambiance and peacefull. Its a bit more expensive but you got the chance to support a good cause! Well done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window looking over the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in August 2013. On arrival at night, the area and the street did not impress us too favourably. Then we got to know that part of town better and discovered a colourful cross-section of small shops and interesting craftsmen workshops.

Once through the front door the WOW! factor hit us, with the view of the charming and elegant, Spanish colonial style courtyard. The rooms, accessed from the courtyard, are basic, large and clean. They can be cold, although there is a good supply of blankets for the night.

There is a small cafeteria that serves appetising meals all day long. The atmosphere here is friendly and socialising is the norm. Sipping a cup of coffee midmorning sun in the courtyard is a pleasure not to be missed.

The staff is young, welcoming and helpful. The hotel, in spite of its rather Spartan character, has a captivating ambiance and the clientele it attracts i.e. travellers with a limited budget but with a purpose, adds to its appeal. Value for money is undeniable.

The location is good, just a 10 minute walk from the main square – but watch for potholes and the very uneven surface of pavements!

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIANCARLO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our arrival in the Sacred Valley. The room was nice, with a very high ceiling and double and single bed. The room was nice and bright, but quite cold at night! That was fine though as they had provided lots of blankets and nice bedding. The breakfast was good, but not included in the price. It was a little bit of walk from town, not too far, but when suffering from a little bit of altitude sickness is a little bit of a challenge! We were able to explore the city well from Ninos hotel and I would recommend this if you want a simple, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#23 of 169 in Cusco
1,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tocapu Boutique Hotel
Tocapu Boutique Hotel
#86 of 169 in Cusco
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#49 of 169 in Cusco
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 169 in Cusco
212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#38 of 169 in Cusco
441 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Principe III
Hotel Principe III
#69 of 169 in Cusco
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninos Hotel Fierro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninos Hotel Fierro

Property: Ninos Hotel Fierro
Address: Calle Fierro 476, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ninos Hotel Fierro 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ninos Hotel Fierro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing