We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”
Review of Ecopackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ecopackers
Ranked #2 of 437 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for over a weeke it's my son and husband. For South American standards the hostel is great. We stayed in a 15 bed dorm and I can say they have the biggest, longest and most comfortable beds of any hostel I've stayed in over the years. The showers on the second floor where amazing, very clean and HOT with great pressure (the first two on the block anyway) at any time of day and night.
The space and the way the old house has been refurbished is great to hang out in, saying that because of its age the door in our dorm (I on the first floor) was extremely noisy which was a bit of a bother with 15 people coming in and out at all times of the day and night.
Gregorio at the front desk was lovely and friendly as where most of the staff (some, more than others)
There is table tennis and table football which was great for my son, lovely courtyard to sit around in when the weather was nice and 3 free computers (which could do with updating!) the hostel also has an ATM dispensing Soles & Dollars on site, laundry service
and also a travel agent which we booked some tours from which were good and saved us walking around for ours looking for the best deal.

The restaurant and bar on site are really good and reasonably priced. The complimentary breakfast is standard bread & jam although some days there was also guacamole or meats too but not very consistent, selection of teas & coffees.
The little communal kitchen is also well stocked.
There's a lounge with an open fire, they don't light it till 5pm the only slightly negative is that it is quite cold so this is the only place to warm up (only after 5 and that's if you get a spot by the fire) so there were days where the only option during the day was to get into bed to warm up! We were there in October so I'm sure that in the winter they must put heaters around to warm up the communal areas, if not make sure you take extra layers!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    313
    57
    24
    7
See reviews for
31
144
581
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Louise, Alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two night and it was awesome. Great location just next to the main square and lots of shops in the area. Kitchen is pretty small but goos value for food. There is also hot water all the time. Enjoyed staying here and will recomend it ! Cheers

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoumenPearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambrils, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I want to thank all the staff of Ecopackers. This is a wonderful place, just 3 minutes walking from Plaza de Armas. The atmosphere is fantastic. The bunkbeds are soooo comfortable! A clean hostel. Free breakfast. Just perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in this place with my girlfriend in a double room. The room was basic but nice enough with a big, clean bathroom.
The hostel has lots to do and a good location but I didn't find the staff at the desk helpful at all. I explain to one girl a few things I needed help with, our room needing cleaning and a couple other things.she just carried on serving others and came back 45 mins later and asked why I was waiting?! She didn't seem bothered to help at all.She also gave us back our laundry when it was soaking wet! I asked them if they could book us a taxi and they happily obliged but then didn't so they ended up telling us to stop one on the street... That left us rushing. Just unhelpful!
Aside from that the place is ok, if I were going back though I'd deffinetly shop around before returning!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tutabellle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoPackersPeru, Propietario at Ecopackers, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you had an over all good experience in our establishment but unhappy at the same time.

We have certainly addresed our staff members about the problems you had with them, your laundry, and your taxi service.

We have since called to the attention of our laundry and taxi services the problems that you encountered.

Please receive our sincere apologies on behalf of the Ecopackers Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

one of my favoiurite hostels in south america so far...
pretty courtyard, nice tv room with beanbags and lots of dvds to use for free
the bathrooms were always clean
the breakfast was amazing- the nicest guacamole i have ever tasted! and unlimited bread and whatever they brought with it
so near the centre of cusco and definately worth the money

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed there a couple times this year. This hostel has everything that you'd look for, and they are also very accommodating to their guests. I'll just list a couple things that they have that are a little out of the ordinary. A patio area with varied seating, pool table, bar, bbqs in aforementioned patios for about 15 soles every now and then, travel agency, TV room.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gnitnuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and it was very good experience! Great location (2 blocks from mais square), friendly and helpful staff (Karen, Dennis, Gregorio, thanks a lot!), they also have an ATM, wi-fi, hot shower 24h and laundry service (very fast and cheap!). They also can arrange tours (city tour, sacred valley, bus tickets for everywhere in Peru, day tour in Lake Titicaca) and taxi to wherever you wanna go!! Just one thing: would it be fantastic if they provide breakfast earlier. Lovely place to stay at, i definitely recommend this!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#114 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 437 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 437 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 437 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecopackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecopackers

Property: Ecopackers
Address: Santa Teresa #375 | Centro Historico Del Cusco, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 437 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ecopackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecopackers is an exclusive hang out for those who want the privilege of an incredible stay in Cusco in a vintage house, in one of the first "Casonas" built by the Spanish settlers when they conquered the Inca Empire, nearly five hundred years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ecopackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecopackers Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing