We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Clean and good vibes”
Review of Ecopackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ecopackers
Ranked #2 of 499 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The location is perfect. Wifi could be working better ( sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't work , completely random )
Restaurant is pretty good too ! Some of the dorm rooms a huge ( up to 18 beds ) so getting up early in the morning without making noises is pretty hard.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Front Office Manager at Ecopackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review, we are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that our services were of your satisfaction, please come back and visit us soon, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was without a doubt one of the best hostel I've been to. The rooms and bathrooms were always clean, the staff were incredibly nice and helpful, the place is really nice and its location is perfect. If I could go back I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank María A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Manager at Ecopackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review, we are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that our services were of your satisfaction, please come back and visit us soon, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hostel seemed nice at first because we had a "suite" which came with a space heater. This is a true luxury in cold Cusco and in a hostel in general. They also provided nice, big towels to the suite. However, around 10:30 at night all of the water in the place went off. When I went to ask the front desk, he said he was trying to look into it but did not know how long it would be. Also, there were 2 girls asking for towels for their room and they were told that the cleaning crew was gone for the night and all the towels are locked up so no one can access them. A girl looking for an extra blanket because it was SO cold inside the hostel was told the same thing. They did go out of their way to have scrambled eggs prepared for us extra early since we had to leave at 5:30 am to drive to the jungle though.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Owner at Ecopackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review, we are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that our services were of your satisfaction, please come back and visit us soon, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just stayed a few nights in ecopackers. A clean, well run hostel. Friendly staff. Definitely the place to stay in Cuzco. Booked salkantay trek with them. Well organised and run trip. Easy access to the main centre. Internet can be a little patchy. It took 2 hrs for my iPhone to get onto Internet but after that it was all good

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PottyTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Front Office Manager at Ecopackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review, we are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that our services were of your satisfaction, please come back and visit us soon, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was the third place we stayed at in cusco (one being a 3 star hotel) and this was by far the best!! We stayed on a large dorm which was super spacious! The beds have awesome mattresses with heaps of blankets for the cold cusco nights! The bar has cheap food and drinks available with awesome happy hour prices and awesome live music!!! Unlike a lot of places in cusco this one is not up a hill and close to heaps of attractions and the main square. The tv room was big with couches and bean bags and an open fire!!! We were also able to store our bags before and after our stay!! We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacinta182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Owner at Ecopackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review, we are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that our services were of your satisfaction, please come back and visit us soon, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Very kind staff helps you with every kind of problem, 24 by 24. Dorms are big but very clean and with comfortable beds. Good restaurant, fast laundry service, lovely patio in the sun. Close to town center!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Manager at Ecopackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review, we are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that our services were of your satisfaction, please come back and visit us soon, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed there before and after the salkantay trek. The touragency inside is very good but their prices is a bit higher so make sure that you pay reasonably. Ecopackers has the best beds i ever slept in in a hostel with new sheets and stable beds. The place is located close to the main square. However when we were there in late june it was terribly cold, this is because they have no roof over the main courtyard like many other places in Cusco. The temperature is at evening constantly around 10 degrees from which i got a cold.

They have good clean showers and nice friendly staff. The breakfast includes bread, jam, toast, juice and tea/coffee and every morning they add for example guacamole or tomato. The restaurant menu is good and not too expensive. Watch out with some thing like buying or renting stuff in there which is outside the restaurant. A 2 liter water is 4 sol and renting a towel 5 (!). They have a small kitchen but no fridge to store anything so i guess the kitchen wasnt used too much really.

The only reason not to give Ecopackers 4 points is the problem with internet, this is by far one of the worst places when it comes to the internet. Every morning the routers are down (and often during daytime) and if it works you should feel lucky. I dont know why it keeps the connection in other places but not here. And also they only have 3 computers but the place has like 10 rooms so i dont know how they think.

In general very quiet at weekdays and a bit more busy and weekends. If you want to party, go to the other hostels like pariwana or wild rover.

Prices range from 25 and up.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Front Office Manager at Ecopackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review, we are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that our services were of your satisfaction, please come back and visit us soon, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Family

We have since corrected the issues that you mention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#144 of 171 in Cusco
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#63 of 171 in Cusco
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 499 in Cusco
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 499 in Cusco
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecopackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecopackers

Address: Santa Teresa #375 | Centro Historico Del Cusco, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 499 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $10 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ecopackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecopackers is an exclusive hang out for those who want the privilege of an incredible stay in Cusco in a vintage house, in one of the first "Casonas" built by the Spanish settlers when they conquered the Inca Empire, nearly five hundred years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ecopackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecopackers Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing