We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”

Hostal San Juan Masias
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal San Juan Masias
Ranked #85 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My three travel companions and I had a decent stay at San Juan Masias. The place is clean and well-tended, and in a decent location close to the center of town. Decent value for the money.

Cons: The room is a bit cold and dark. The wifi did not work in the room and really didn't work anywhere in the building. Unique to be staying in building that is part of a convent and school - can get very loud and crowded at certain parts of the day.

The staff is nice enough but one odd thing is you need to ring a bell to get in and out of the building (they do not give you a key) - which sounds good safety-wise, except often times there is no one there to let you in or out and you have to wait. Then they make you feel guilty for calling them. Was also scolded like little kids when we filled our water bottles from a water cooler they had out in the hallway, because you were only supposed to fill the cups they had sitting out by the cooler and not your own bottles (we didn't know).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed a total of 6 days at this place. It was school holidays for the first 3 days, when there were 3 of us in the room. The place was immaculate ,with polished wooden floors .We were able to leave our luggage in the same room when we spent a night at Agua Caliente on the way to Machu Picchu. When we returned, only 2 of us were in the same room of 3 beds, and we were only charged for 2 people. The breakfast included freshly squeezed orange juice and 2 types of bread and banana, but was sufficient. On our return, we were awakened by the school students from 7.15 a.m. but that was fine for us.There were some problems with the hot water on the last night but that was seen to, as was the signal for the WiFi in the rooms. This hostal was in a wonderful position, quiet for sleeping and with nice staff who did all that they could to help us .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyMuM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were a group of 10 (4 seniors, 4 adults and 2 children) and the lodging was perfect for us. The hostal was a couple of blocks from one of the main squares. The rooms were small but quaint. We reserved a quad, triple, single and matrimonal. All rooms had a heater, tv, and hot water. The breakfast was simple but you could add eggs to your meal for roughly a dollar per egg. The staff was courteous and pleasant. We had such a great time and enjoyed the location that we cancelled our lodging (after our return from 5 days in the Sacred Valley)and rebooked at Hostal San Juan Masias.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherinaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We made a reservation by email and the acknowledgement was prompt. We arrived on an early bus, were able to check in at 5.45am and even offered breakfast. We had a double room with bathroom for 80 soles, including continental breakfast. The room was spotlessly clean and there was a convector heater, just as well as the room was cold. The hostal adjoins a convent and girls' school and there is some noise early in the morning and during the day depending on the activities. Quiet at night and very secure. The reception and breakfast staff were exceptionally friendly. It is about 6-7 minutes walk to the main Plaza de Armas. Only one negative point, the wifi was unreliable although there is one pc you can use.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the school courtyard, may be a little noisy in the morning as the girls arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dd338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.7 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#21 of 167 in Cusco
1,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 167 in Cusco
755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
#27 of 167 in Cusco
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 454 in Cusco
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 454 in Cusco
1,385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 454 in Cusco
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal San Juan Masias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal San Juan Masias

Property: Hostal San Juan Masias
Address: Ahuacpinta No 600, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing