We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Pizza Carlo

La Pizza Carlo
Ranked #59 of 693 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Felt like Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Tiny unassuming place, only a couple of tables in the same room with the big wood oven and countertop prep area. You can't help but watch them make your food, it's like being in the family kitchen. The owner was friendly, he took pictures of our group with 5 different cameras and never stopped smiling! One of our pizzas got a little well done on one side, so they brought only the good half to the table for us to start on while they remade another half pizza for us. That's good customer service!
A larger variety on the menu with local and traditional ingredients, great quality and atmosphere. This place is right around the corner from the Casa Andina Koricancha, a must if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ablynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    97
    26
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wood fired oven made this pizza good. Nice thin crust. Big selection of toppings and menu has English translations. The pizza itself had lots of cheese but light on the meat toppings. Good pizza

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank retiredtraveller2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pizza - close and personal in Cusco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Noticed walking past but didn't realise how small this restuarant was until going in. Not much bigger than a phone box but what a great pizza and atmosphere. The pizza was great and the owner and his crew were friendly and on hand (actually within arm's length) for refilling the wine. About 8pm three musicians wandered in and played some traditional music rounding off a very memorable, early dinner. Great atmosphere and great pizza - and they won my gold kangaroo Award

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BandToutAndAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We just happened to be walking by & thankfully stopped in for a delicious meal! It's a cute, cozy little place with only 4 tables but service is fast & super friendly. There are some really good pictures of this place from other posters that show the size pretty well. Everything is homemade & fresh & so yummy! While waiting for our food we were served warm garlic bread made fresh & perfectly crispy in the brick oven. My husband & kids had pizzas which they loved (cheese & the other I can't remember because my daughter just started naming off the toppings she wanted!). I had the homemade lasagna which I personally thought was amazing. As someone else posted, this is a great option when you can't do the lomo one more time! The place, owner & food are fantastic & I'd return in a second!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hopper25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC,CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tiny Restaurant Big Flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Had a lot of fun & great pizza in this hole in the wall place. Staff was really nice, owner has a lot of personality. The wood burning stove makes such a difference in flavor. Definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ocgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pizza Carlo also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to La Pizza Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing