We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Curry in Cusco”
Review of Korma Sutra!

Korma Sutra!
Ranked #114 of 728 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located in the traditional San Blas neighborhood, `The´Curry House, Korma Sutra is a small locally owned Indian restaurant featuring a wide menu cooked by owner & head chef Nick Garret. We pride in providing fresh great tasting food in a relaxed laid back ambiance with good music and excellent drinks. Either if you´re coming after an exhausting Inka Trail or whether you are about to embark on the next adventure, be sure to visit us for a little taste of India in the heart of the Andes.We will welcome you with open arms and open hearts!
Lima, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Curry in Cusco”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great location, great beer, great chef/owner, best Jalfrezi i´ve had in Peru. Next time I´m in Cusco, I´ll be there within minutes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valetillidie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    73
    23
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matawan, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Curry favor”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were attracted to Korma Sutra by the awesome aroma of Indian spices. We ordered the tandoori guinea pig and the alpaca steak chili. While the food was tasty and we did enjoy it, the service was incredibly slow. Our bread never made it to the table.
The restaurant was nicely decorated and comfortable, the food was good but the long, long wait for our food made it hard to enjoy. I think with better service this will be an excellent eatery.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The real thing for curry lovers in Cusco”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Wanted to visit here after reading good recommendations across the board, but the friends we were with preferred trad Peruvian food on their last night. But having popped in to check out the menu, seen the huge range of spices lining the walls of the open kitchen and smelt the fragrant aromas emanating from it, we decided there and then to visit another night, and when we did we weren't disappointed. We stayed clear of the 'fusion' end of the menu (clearly geared at travellers thinking they're getting a more 'authentic' dining experience, but actually having to pay over the odds for the privilege), and went straight for the classics: Lamb Rogan Josh and Chicken Jalfrezi. Both were nicely presented, perfectly balanced in spiciness, and with a kick-as* taste. The sag aloo samosas we shared to start were unusual but very tasty as well. The only thing that didn't seem 'authentic' to our UK-trained palettes was the Peshwari Nan, which didn't have that thinly rolled, moist-inside texture you normally associate with naan breads, but was very sweet. The atmos was pretty enticing and chilled as well, and the service was attentive, although lacking warmth or personality. That was a shame as overall it was a fantastic dining experience, perfect either for a date night or meal with friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePiemanAndHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taganga, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Satisfying break from the norm in a friendly, bustling setting”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We went on some locals' recommendations and weren't disappointed. First curry in many months and the ambience, service, and menu were all spot on. It was nice to see a bit of fusion in the menu, with cuy and alpaca being offered as options. The four of us ordered a dish each with some rice to share and a portion of tandoori chicken which was enormous.

All of us thought our dishes were delicious. They have classics on the menu too like lamb rogan and tikka, but also a good choice of veggie options. I tried a spicy veggie curry with coconut milk which I loved.

This is a small restaurant which is always busy so if they are full when you pop by, try their new sister restaurant next door which is a Mexican taco place, also very good. Not even on TA just yet but well worth a try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Fails to Delight”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

A gem of a restaurant in Cusco, never fails to curb my curry ex-pat curry craving. The curried alpaca is a winner every time.

I am a bit surprised at the last comment posted here by Mike B. I too am an ex-pat living in Peru for more than 7 years now. I too have eaten any times at the restaurant and have also taken many friends there. I have always enjoyed the food and service and surprisingly Nick (a rather busy chef) has always taken the time to say hello and goodbye. What a strange post........

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TotallyLatinAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Korma Sutra! also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Korma Sutra!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing