We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
Ranked #3 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hostel has a nice courtyard, were you can sit down, play ping pong, enjoy some music or take some lovely (free and all day available) tea! The showers are allways warm in my experience and the beds are comfortable! There's a travel agency, a bar and organize some nice tournaments every evening. The included breakfast is standard, but if you're willing to pay a little extra there's some nice other ones to choose from!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelienspruijt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    342
    50
    21
    20
See reviews for
24
176
366
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The location is great. The staff was very nice. Having a full service restaurant on site was the best part. The food was cheap and good. The only complaint was about the noise very late at night. We had a private room and the music from the bar kept us up some nights. My recommendation is to bring ear plugs. It worked for us.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I spent 4 nights at the Pariwana before and after my Inca Trail hike. It is very centrally located, being a mere 5 minute walk from the main square and close to anything you can think of. The hostel itself is in a beautiful colonial building. The open air courtyard and its awesome giant bean bag chairs is the focal point of the hostel. Guests are here at all times of the day basking in the sun and socializing. You can book your daytrips at a desk right in the courtyard and there is a constant and free supply of coca tea at all times to help with your high altitude symptoms. I will say that the wifi was pretty spotty though, and non-existent in the dorm.

The bar on the second level is also where breakfast is served. The basic breakfast (toast, jam, etc.) is free but you can have a more substantial one at cheap prices if you want. Lots of big table here and at night, it becomes the social centre of the hostel when the outside temperature drops. I stayed in the main dorm on the 1st floor and there were never any noise issues whatsoever. The security man is very diligent in closing down the courtyard to let people sleep in peace as people are always getting up super early to start their Inca Trail hikes. The bunk beds are very comfortable although they don`t have security rails. Large lockers for each bed (complete with internal power sockets to allow for secure charging) are in the rooms too. Shower blocks are found throughout the building. The one on the main floor can be cold if you`re showering in the morning or night but the other one on the 2nd floor is perfectly fine.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating but I noticed they didn`t socially interact with the guests compared to some other hostels I`ve stayed in. This could possibly have been due to language issues.

There is also a large computer room lounge, a TV room, and even a kitchen if you wanted to cook your own meals. If you`re looking for a fun hostel where you can easily meet people but want to avoid the crazy party hostels in town, the Pariwana is where you want to stay!

Room Tip: The main dorm on the main level is great value and quiet. The showers on the 2nd floor are more comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Where to start. This place is literally perfection, clearly designed by actual backpackers! Ok let me list the ways that this place is heaven:

- big, soft, comfy beds with two pillows that genuinely rival my bed at home
- a private locker for each person to store your stuff, WITH A PLUG SOCKET INSIDE for charging!
- hot, hot HOT showers
- oh so clean and beautiful bathrooms
- free simple breakfast with delicious upgrades, the food in the bar is cheap and GOOD! I'd recommend the French toast mmm
- Yep, an on site bar and a good one! Also on site laundry, travel agency, ping pong, BBQ's, salsa lessons, yoga sessions it goes on and on.
- wifi, kind of a given!
- A fantastic, funky social vibe, a real social hub with parties in the bar most nights and beer pong championships.

You're an idiot if you stay anywhere else in Cusco.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I love Pariwana, it's close to Plaza de Armas, there's free breakfast, awesome twice weekly bbq's (they even cater for vegetarians, I loved it!), free activities, very warm beds and friendly staff. The tour desk is very handy as well. I stayed here before and after the Inca Trail and it was perfect! I highly recommend this place! I'm 28 and the average guest age is 25-30 which I found awesome to make friends my age.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klhughes28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Pariwana 4 nights 2 before going to machu picchu and 2 after coming back, and I must say I would recommend this hostel to everyone visiting Cusco.

LOCATION: The hostel is conveniently located, 2 blocks away from a supermarket, 2 blocks away from the central Plaza. Everything is 5-10 minutes walk away.

ROOMS: the rooms are super clean and beautifully furnished. Each room has a name of cusco/Inca history and you can learn just by walking around the place

ACTIVITIES: The Hostel has gone to a great deal of effort to help you enjoy your stay. Every day they have activities organized for you (day and night ones) that are available for a super cheap cost or no cost at all.

AMENITIES: On top of this, the hostel has amazing amenities like ping pong tables on the center cloister, puffs lying around to chill, a restaurant /bar with amazing decoration and delicious food. Everything about this hostel is amazingly planned. They even have an ATM and a Tourist activities desk in the place so you can draw money safely and set up your visits to all Cusco/Inca landmarks.

if you're going to Cusco head to this hostel. You will not regret.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

You can get involved in all activities & parties or you can completely hide and chill-out on the beanbags or in the TV-room. This hostel is great for both 18 to early 20’s travellers as well as older backpackers. As a couple we didn’t really bother with the beer pong or other competitions organised by the hostel. Although they seemed like fun, we wanted to go out and have drinks but sleep somewhere quiet.

I have no bad things to say about this hostel. Great combination party / chill-out vibe. Clean rooms, comfy beds, lockers. LOTS of hang-out areas with bean bags, awesome tv-room & courtyard, board games, ping-pong.

Tiny kitchen but most guests don't cook – it was mostly staff and older travellers like us. But it is great if you’d like to cook your own meals or if you have some leftovers you want to heat up.

Expect chaos during check-in/check-out periods, nobody is really in charge (at least when we were there) and even though they are super friendly and try to be helpful, they run around like headless chickens. At night time when people check-in, a staff member brings the new guests to the room but turns the light on at 3am and no whispering but loud talking, which happened twice. The two girls apologised the next morning as they felt really bad for waking us up.

Just minor points that can be improved but overall it was a great place.

Showers were unbelievable! Constant hot water and powerful too. Lots of space to hang your clothes etc and the toilets were cleaned multiple times a day.

If you want a quiet room, ask for #205 or any of the rooms in the back area, you will not be kept awake by music or guests partying. To be honest I felt that Pariwana kept the noise levels down at a certain time and most guests were very respectful towards sleeping guests.

Wifi is OK in the common areas but there is no wifi in rooms in case you need to sort out some travel stuff.

Stayed here twice and booked Lima too. Breakfast basic but the good thing is it runs till about noon so you can sleep in if you'd like.

It's not trashy or insane like Loki or Wild Rover. Our friends stayed there because Pariwana was fully booked. A lot of wild things happened there, saw people doing drugs in the bathrooms, girls and guys getting naked at the bar, young guys completely tripping and majority of people have sex in dorms etc. it was like there were no boundaries. If that’s what you’re looking for you should go to either of the two, but Pariwana is pretty tame which is a good thing in my opinion.

Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: f you want a quiet room, ask for #205 (6-bed mixed dorm) or any of the rooms in the back area, you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GENYVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 167 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#21 of 167 in Cusco
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 454 in Cusco
1,386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 454 in Cusco
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pariwana Hostel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pariwana Hostel Cusco

Property: Pariwana Hostel Cusco
Address: C. Meson de la Estrella 136 | Centro Historico del Cusco, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pariwana Hostel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pariwana Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing