We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
Ranked #3 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really enjoyable stay!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was really impressed with Pariwana after staying at Kokopelli Hostel a few weeks previously. They're quite similar in size and layout, but Pariwana was a much more enjoyable experience. We stayed for one night in a 4-bed dorm with an ensuite (albeit no shower!) but other bathrooms were very close by and never too busy.
The staff were extremely friendly and the whole place just had a nice atmosphere, busy bar and common areas. As with many hostels, it could've done with some more cleaning, especially the shared areas but nothing was significantly dirty. I'd also recommend a better breakfast, rolls and cereal were not great!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wings89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    342
    50
    21
    19
See reviews for
23
175
365
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great hostel that actually has everything you could need. Rooms are comfortable, there's a TV room that's really comfy, a modern kitchen, and of course the courtyard with beanbag chairs. Furthermore, staff are really helpful, and showers are clean. A party hostel but not so much so that if you have an early start, you could not get your rest. Only annoyances that I can think of are the tourist information desk that 9 times out of 10 could not answer cusco related questions and directed you to the reception, also WIFI does not work in the rooms. Overall, one of the best hostels I've been to!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Tafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 1 night - New Years Eve - check-in was very smooth....the shared 4 bed dorm was clean with useful large secure lockers and comfortable beds with good quality wam quilts and pillows. The showers and toilet area was quite dirty but when I spoke to reception they confirmed they'd had issues with some damage to the upstairs showers by some over zealous guests which was affecting the smooth running of the hostel and the supply of hot water. The gentleman confirmed he would attempt to restore the hot water to the downstairs showers which he managed in a short time which was excellent service. The bar area and games room - table tennis & darts was excellent. The Wi-Fi was excellent which is a must for travelers. The location is amazing less than 2 minutes from the main square and all the restaurants and bars. I would recommend this hostel to any traveller.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YummyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here either side of our trek of the Inka trail.
Both in dorms and a private room to get some good rest before the trek.
The beds are very comfy with big duvets. Hot water showers. Great location just off plaza de San Francisco. It's not too noisy considering its a party hostel and it's very social, offering activities in the evenings. The court yard is great to lounge in on a sunny day with big bean bags and a Ping pong table. I would recommend it - and the pirate room was brilliant.

My only negative would be that the dorms do not have wifi - only the private rooms and the social areas (bar, computer room, etc).

Overall a great place to stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Dorm set up is great. Bar and gaming area is really cool and the food is amaazzing! There is also a chill/movie room which a lot of hostels don't have that are really needed after drinking too much beer at high altitude! Recomended...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neleroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Pariwana Hostel has an excellent standard and is my favourite hostel so far having travelled 10 weeks through Peru, Bolivia, Argentina, Uruguay and Brazil. I stayed alone as a female for 4 nights in Oct 2013.

Great atmosphere, mixed group of travellers, met very fun people, awesome common areas like a patio and the bar/breakfast room. Always free (mate) tea!:) Party times in the evening with salsa and karaoke but still I could sleep like a baby in my room!

Rooms are spacious, in your private, large lockers there are two spaces for big backpack and smaller stuff PLUS a private plug in in your locker!!! Little details like this is is just priceless!

THE BEST PART: the beds! Very comfy mattresses and a real duvet! You will love this because in Cusco it gets really cold at night. Beds are made every day.

Sanitary rooms are more than sufficient, I never had to wait, there is sufficient hot water, and I am a big fan of not having the sanitary rooms in your dorm.

I highly recommend and I have always recommended the Pariwana to other travellers I met!
Enjoy your stay

Room Tip: I got a dorm just above reception - excellent because close to everyting (sanitary rooms, bar/breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGirlOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a huge hostel, but it is very well managed. Half of the time you don't realize how many people are staying here, because the hostel is on three floors surrounding a courtyard and there are tons of common spaces in addition to long hallways on the different floors that lead you to the different dormitories where all these people are staying. They are very well prepared for the traveler; there is a bureau right on site where you can get tourist information and even book tickets into certain places, and there is an ATM machine in one of the corners inside the hostel. There's also a good size kitchen, a cafe which turns into a dance space at night sometimes, and an ample internet room with about 6 computers and lots of space for anyone else who wants to use the WiFi. there is also a massive outdoor courtyard with bean bags for people to sit around and lounge with their friends and other acquaintances.

The one thing I would advise for anybody coming here is to remember that Cusco is way up in the mountains, and it gets cold here, and it can rain a lot, especially around the time I came, December through February. Most of the hostel, with the exception of some of the corridors, the kitchen, the cafe, and the internet room, are completely outdoors, and chances are that you will have to go outdoors from your bed to the bathroom or anywhere else in the hostel you want to go, unless you have a completely private suite with the bathroom inside of it. At night, the temperatures can go down to zero occasionally, and the high elevations may tax your body also and make it weaker to fighting off infection. Make sure you have an ample amount of thick clothing to cover up and get warm. Fortunately, the hostel serves free coca leaves that you can combine with the pot of boiling water and the complementary cups they offer to make yourself a nice hot coca infusion if you begin to feel chilled or overwhelmed.

Definitely a great, impressive hostel. Recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MitchL54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 167 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#21 of 167 in Cusco
1,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 454 in Cusco
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 454 in Cusco
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 454 in Cusco
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#5 of 454 in Cusco
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pariwana Hostel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pariwana Hostel Cusco

Property: Pariwana Hostel Cusco
Address: C. Meson de la Estrella 136 | Centro Historico del Cusco, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pariwana Hostel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pariwana Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing