We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mix of character and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
Ranked #36 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect mix of character and great service”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stumbled upon this hotel while searching for something in the tough-to-find compromise between 5-star luxury ($$$$) and low-rent hostel ($/2). Cusco has a lot to offer to people from all walks, however the hotels for the most part seem to fall into one of those two polar opposite categories. Andean Wings is a large Spanish colonial house converted to a charming boutique hotel. This is not a typical hotel. But if you enjoy off-the-beaten-path, like I do, look no further.

It features nice, locally decorated rooms with private baths, a beautiful botanic covered courtyard dining area, and a cozy cafe/bar with fireplace where we enjoyed coffee, coca tea, or local beers while we mingled with the staff and other gringos. We met honeymooners and another couple traveling on business like us. It's a safe, 3-minute walk to Cusco's Plaza de Armas, which features several great dining spots (Medio del Calle & Inka Gril to name two) and a 5 minute walk to artsy San Blas.

My wife and I enjoyed 3 nights here while I was in Peru for work (and some play.) The staff was over-the-top accommodating- which isn't really my style. But I quickly learned is the norm in Cusco and surrounding areas. Staff was also eager to educate and assist with coordinating transportation for tours and work- including successfully tracking down my driver when my cell phone was left in a taxi! WiFi was a little flaky, but got the job done. I would love to return to Cusco for several days to explore more. If I do, I will definitely stay at Andean Wings again. PS- Spring for a suite, it's worth it!

Room Tip: Cappuccino Suite was cozy and tucked in the back with a nice courtyard window. Matrimonial Suite was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g150driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Guest Relations Manager at Andean Wings Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We were happy to have you and your wife here at Andean Wings and it is great to hear that you were so happy with your stay with us in Cusco! We will certainly look forward to your return visit when you can get back to Cusco!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    131
    50
    9
    7
See reviews for
109
287
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I spend two nights in the Andean Wings and were happy we did. It is located about a five-minute walk from the Central Plaza and near very fine Fodor-reccommended restaurants. The rooms are clean and comfortable by Peruvian standards. We had a flat screen television, free WiFi connection, and a delicious breakfast with made-to-order eggs.

The service was friendly, yet respectable. Airport pick-up was included in our package. The price for the mini-suite was above average in cost, but we would not hesitate to stay there again.

The front entrance always had a doorman posted and the hotel was very secure. The interior of the hotel is an estancia with beautiful tiled floors.

Room Tip: The mini suite had great views and a small sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mramos8556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delray beach, fl
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Wings at the end of March at the end of our Peruvian vacation. The hotel was beautiful, the breakfast was amazing, and the staff were tireless and very attentive. The first night, we had what we though was an issue with our shower, but like other hotels in other countries, we only had to let the hot water run for 15 minutes before it actually became hot! LOL
It was chilly in Cusco and it was so nice that the hotel's bar was like a living room, with comfy chairs and a cozy fire. The location of the hotel was also great because it was in easy walking distance to all the Plazas. After our long days of climbing up and down mountains and up and down stairs, this hotel was a dream!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DillyB_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Once again i took the time to do the research into finding the right hotel for my trip to Cusco. The thing i love most about "Trip Advisor" is it's based on personal experiences and pretty much fact. I always book based on feedback and hence if you take the time to read the views you won't be disappointed. Anyways the Andean Wings Boutique Hotel was a lovely little gem situated in the perfect location. The staff were very friendly, attentive and most helpful from start to finish. Would i recommend this place "Yes" most definately as it was exactly as the reviews stated it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Thanks to The Andean Wings Boutique Hotel, our holiday was awesome!
We arrived at the Andean Wings after spending some time in hospital after being treated for Altitude sickness. Lisa, Maria, Angela and all of the staff took very good care of us and made sure that we were comfortable and happy. The hotel itself was immaculate and the rooms beautiful - very modern and well kept. The restaurant food was delicious too.

Our travel plans had changed due to our time spend in hospital, however the staff at Andean Wings knew Simon - a local travel agent who saved our holiday! Simon booked us into an amazing authentic tour of Machu Pichu and the Sacred Valley. We had University qualified English speaking guides who imparted much local knowledge about the Inca sites, and generally had a deep knowledge about the areas we traveled to. Simon also booked us into another tour of Paracas Island, Huacacina and Nasca. This was also great, again with excellent English speaking guides with a sense of fun and adventure.

What could have been a disaster turned out to be a blessing - we cannot thank the staff at Andean Wings enough for all they did for us during our stay and would recommend Andean Wings to all travelers! Thank you to all of the staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Andean Wings was a great looking hotel in a very good location. The rooms were lovely and had everything we might need including goos wifi.Breakfast and free welcome drinks were good and the manager was very helpful. The only reason we did not give an excellent rating was that we had no hot water for showers in the morning. This could have been because they were about to close for renovations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay in Cusco. For those who want luxury but a very human touch this is the place. The restaurant has excellent food for reasonable pricing, and is located in the glass covered fountain adorned courtyard of this beautiful old house. Decor is very tasteful and beautiful. The bar has a fire place and is equipped with medicinal extracts for all ailments. The Massage, Tarot and other esoteric opportunities are very healthful and helpful. The personnel are really friendly and go out of their way to please, helping to arrange rooms how you want, providing a lamp or table etc. I recommend this to people who want a five star hotel but are tired of the normal Marriott style of five star.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 169 in Cusco
1,415 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Dorado San Agustin
El Dorado San Agustin
#51 of 169 in Cusco
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 169 in Cusco
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andean Wings Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andean Wings Boutique Hotel

Property: Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Siete Cuartones 225, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Andean Wings Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel is a charming and majestic boutique hotel where the perfect mixture of style, harmony and top-of-the-line aesthetics blend. Located in a renovated 16th century Spanish colonial house, it lies just two blocks away from the Plaza de Armas of Cusco, the true heart of the Peruvian Andes. We provide all the amenities of a five-star hotel combined with the modern concept of a Boutique Hotel, promising personalized services, uniquely decorated rooms full of antiques and original works of art - simple, yet luxurious pleasures for our guests. Our objective is to offer our visitors a warm and welcoming stay which surpasses most other hotels in the area and thereby complimenting their travels in Peru. Try our menu at Mandela's Restaurant & Tapas Bar, located in the hotel's colonial courtyard, a cuisine created to delight the most discerning of palates. We offer a fabulous repertoire of International-Peruvian Fusion Cuisine using the highest culinary techniques in the world - try our exquisite Lomo Saltado and our famous Grilled Trout accompanied with Yellow Pepper Risotto, or enjoy our new Cusquenian flag cocktail, the Tic'aPukalla'c, a unique beverage that simply defines freshness and flavor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andean Wings Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing