We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Private Tours Peru

Private Tours Peru
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Travel -trips - Vacations . Adventure ,fly Fishing - Trips Of Cultural Immersion - Trekking - Cooking Classes- Bird Watching Tour - Rafting - Horseback Riding And Other
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The driver David provided was very good, we felt safe at all times, despite some difficult driving conditions. Our tour of the Sacred Valley was informative and all done at our pace and with our interests.

2  Thank ScotlivingintheUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Expeditio... D, General Manager at Private Tours Peru, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

David Expeditions Peru ,the friend of friends,share your wonderful vavcation with our team.

We are expert professionals ,and
we provide you personal service to enjoy your vacations.

For me and the team of David Expedition Peru, always be a pleasure to help ,and work
with you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"david ramos"
in 12 reviews
"highly recommend david"
in 8 reviews
"sacred valley"
in 63 reviews
"private guide"
in 9 reviews
"cusco airport"
in 9 reviews
"maras salt"
in 6 reviews
"loves his country"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 9 reviews
"alpaca farm"
in 4 reviews
"an excellent tour guide"
in 4 reviews
"ollantaytambo ruins"
in 4 reviews
"rope bridge"
in 2 reviews
"speak quechua"
in 2 reviews
"four days"
in 7 reviews
"always on time"
in 6 reviews
"safe driver"
in 2 reviews
"spending days"
in 2 reviews
Filter

106 - 110 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

If you’re considering a private tour guide, personalized itinerary or private transportation in the Cusco or Sacred Valley area, I highly recommend David Ramos and his company David Expeditions Peru. My husband and I recently returned from Peru (Aug 2011) and hired David for 2 full days of private touring in the area. We were completely satisfied with his services. He also arranged additional private transportation we requested while we were there. He is a college educated native of Urubamba and currently lives in Cusco. He can put together any combination of experiences from the top tourist sites to more personal off-the-beaten-path places. I contacted him via email before the trip to make arrangements. He was punctual, reliable and professional. As another reviewer noted, do not be dissuaded by grammatical errors in David’s written communication as his spoken English is excellent. He is also a thoughtful and engaging, friendly person.

We were picked up in Cusco and spent one day (9 hours) touring sites in Sacred Valley before being dropped off at our hotel in Urubamba. Several days later, David picked us up from the Valley and we toured archeological sites near Cusco along with Museo Inka and local market in Cusco. The cost was US$140 for each day with private car and driver along with David. Everything was so stress free and fun that I wish we had been able to spend more time with David during our trip. His knowledge of the historic sites and current Peruvian culture added a lot to our experience in Peru. It’s like having a local friend for the day to show you the places he knows well. David’s website has some good ideas for itineraries; however David is willing to put together a personalized itinerary based on your needs. You can email him at ------ or -------------- It was necessary to purchase the Boleto Turistico ticket along with a few other entry fees for our itinerary. All could be purchased on site, but be prepared with small bills and coins for some sites as well as for small purchases you will no doubt want to make along the way. Just email David. You won’t regret it!

3  Thank Katryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Expeditio... D, Manager at Private Tours Peru, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

share your wonderful trip with the best team of ,
David Expeditions Peru, to enjoy your Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

After reading several positive reviews on TA forums for David Ramos, I engaged his services for 4 days. 2 days in the Sacred Valley, 1 at Machu Picchu and 1 in Cusco. David graduated from the university with a degree in tourism and really enjoys his work. He's been involved in tourism since his mid teens initially working for tour companies doing the Inca trail. He is soft spoken but passionate about Peru, the people and culture. He seems to have a good relationship with other guides in the area as several came up to say Hi while we were with him. He's not quite 30 years of age yet and still retains the fun loving aspect of youth but remains soft spoken. Having a guide all to ourselves, we also discovered David is a good photographer so we have many photos of my wife and me together (with no worry about who we were handing our DSLR to).

My wife and I read several guidebooks and purchased what we thought was the best one for the area. David added so much to our experience in the Cusco/Sacred Valley/Machu Picchu area. Sharing his knowledge and passion, he made the Coricancha come alive in our minds. Without his description of the grandeur of the Coricancha in Incan times, explanations of why certain surfaces are carved the way they are, it would have just been another marvel of Inca stone carving like the temple areas of Pisac/Ollantaytambo/MP. But he painted a picture with words of how different Coricancha would have been and we gained some measure of appreciation for the magnificence of the Sun Temple of old.

David met us at the Aguas Caliente train station for our tour of MP. Overview of MP, watching the clouds roll in and out then he took us on a hike to the Intipunku (Sun Gate) and the Inca bridge. On the hike to Intipunku, he pointed out the various plants and birds along the way. Took pics from various angles while we waited for the crowds to die down. MP is incredibly crowded with large tour groups from 10 to about 2:30. He expertly took us through the ruins explaining the different buildings, rooms, temples and sculptures. We grew in appreciation for what we had in David when we came back to MP for a 2nd day without him. Listening to the other numerous guides as we went back through the ruins (following the 16 fountains down the stairs and checking out different photographic angles), David stood apart from the guides we heard in how he presented information and the level detail he went into. A couple of the tour guides for the large groups were not very good at all. Just cursory info that I could have gotten straight out of a guidebook.

David went at our pace - which had to be agonizingly slow for him. He took us off the beaten path taking routes to common destinations that seemingly no one else was taking. He showed us sea shells at the top of a Sacred Valley overlook that indicated Peru was under the sea at one time. He took us shopping for souvenirs in Cusco away from the main plaza and gave us a taste of the local life at Mercado San Pedro.

We really appreciated David sharing Peru with us and giving us the benefit of his local expertise. Check out [--] BTW, don't let his written English scare you about his proficiency with spoken English. His fluency speaking is good.

3  Thank old_fogeySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016
Google Translation

Thank Marcelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Livia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Private Tours Peru also viewed

 

Been to Private Tours Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing