We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kusikuy

Kusikuy
Ranked #6 of 693 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: 25 Years of dedication, love, commitment, combined with flavor, seasoning, excellent ingredients is what Kusikuy restaurant has to offer, our primary aim is to maintain quality and good service, a challenge that day by day we have become our calling card presentation because we have the requirements to be classified as the best. Our clients consider Kusikuy as their second home, the environment, care and the excellent food is what we live in this beautiful place.
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

The waiter was extremely friendly and speaks English very well. He also complimented me on my terrible attempts at speaking spanish. The food was very good. The ambience was great. Seated next to the open fire gave e restaurant a nice cabin feel. Just what you need on a rainy evening in cusco.

Helpful?
Thank PerthDeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    133
    26
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Delicious food and a relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I ate here on our last night in Cusco. It wasn't very crowded, and we had a quiet table by the warm fire. The food was VERY good and reasonably priced (for tourists). Our waiter was attentive and friendly. If we had eaten here sooner in our trip we probably would have returned.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crusadercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Famous for its guinea pig ...don't know why... ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Me and and a couple of friends visited that restaurant as we wanted to try famous peruvian guinea pig. According to Tripadvisor's reviews that is the place to try it !
Restaurant isn't really peruvian...i'd say it's european (made just for tourists..only gringos are the guests there) with peruvian twist. Local people doesn't visit places like this. But it's very elegant and cosy. We had some starters that were really tasty ( kind of potato curry, quinoa soup...) and quite well presented, but we had to wait for them 1 hour. Not a joke- really one hour. I don't know what it is, but in Peru everywhere You have to wait for so long. For main we obviousy asked for guinoa pig! That was another hour waiting...My advice: if You'd usually eat Your dinner at 8, go and order and wait for it already at 6, otherwise You can die waiting.
When the pig arrived it looked fantastic! the pig itself has not much meat, tastes similar to turkey, but well...you have to try it when in peru !
Service was lovely though...men didn't speak english, but was super sweet, veryb warm and friendly !! It's kind of a place where there's much rumour made for nothing...it's all very beautiful and spectacular, but you end up waiting 2 hours, there's not much too eat and you pay for that a lot !
Personally i prefer to blend with locals, so if not my friends who followed the crowd of gringos, i'd rather choose a place where locals go...there i am sure guinea pig would be really spectacular-real taste of peru !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sharonekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service-good Cuy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

It's a quaint place a little off the beaten path with friendly staff and a nice window overlooking the rooftops of Cusco. My husband ordered the Cuy al Horno which the waiter warned us took an hour to cook. He brought it out with a big presentation so we could take pictures and then brought it back to the kitchen to cut it up. It was very tender and to us tasted like dark meat chicken. I had the roasted peppers which were delicious, but the portions so large I could not finish my meal. We actually were so full we skipped dinner that night. The food was very tasty and the waiter very nice-speaking good English as well, which we didn't expect.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IndiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable Cuy presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

A fun experience! They bring you the entire roasted guinea pig out on a platter to take pictures and marvel at such a foreign dish and then take it to the kitchen to carve so you can eat it. We had a great time trying this classic Peruvian dish and have lots of great pictures!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kusikuy also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Kusikuy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing