We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond in the Rough!”
Review of Andenes al Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Andenes al Cielo
Ranked #7 of 400 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Flying into Cuzco is almost as hard as trekking up to Machu Picchu, which is why you definitely want a hotel like Andenes al Cielo there to welcome you with open arms when you arrive. Little did I know when I booked this hotel online, that it would turn out to be one of the most beautiful little gems in the entire city. Newly rebuilt from the ground up, the proprietors of this establishment left no stone unturned and spared no expense, while still managing to keep it’s unique Old World feel.

Upon entering through the wrought iron gates, one can’t help but appreciate the craftsmanship that went into designing every single detail of this newly opened boutique hotel. With beautiful hand-carved dark wood mezzanines, colonnade stonework, cathedral ceilings in the public spaces and suites, a precious little courtyard koi pond, handcrafted furniture throughout, and a rooftop terrace with a million dollar view of the entire city… it was easy for me to forget that I chose this hotel based on price.

The fact that it was perfectly situated between the beautiful arts district of San Blas, and the cultural epicenter of the Plaza de Armas… and just a stone’s throw from Jack’s (a popular cafe that serves up comfort food day and night) and just up the road from Patty’s (an iconic Irish Pub in the town center) was an unexpected bonus, and made it possible for me to walk everywhere I wanted to visit.

The staff was friendly and accommodating, and Javier (the manager) was happy to give me a local’s perspective on great places to explore while I was in town. But frankly, it was the unexpected luxuries that I really grew to appreciate (especially after my 5 day camping trek to Machu Picchu)… a comfortable bed with fresh cotton linens, a private bathroom with an endless hot shower, and my personal favorite… a real down comforter! They even had cable television, free wireless internet, and complementary continental breakfast!

It felt like home away from home, and I can’t wait to come back to Cuzco and share this lovely treasure with friends and family… but next time I think I just might have to spend a few dollars more and upgrade to one of their amazing suites with a fireplace!

One wonder of the world down, only six more to go!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dynamique1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 513 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2010

Great price, great bed, clean room. This hotel had been open for 2 weeks when we arrived. Rooms were comfortable, clean and sufficiently spacious. It was great to speak with the owner Tony. He helped us find restaurants and other attractions. Staff was generous and helpful.
Wonderful experience! We would definitely return to the Hotel Andennes al Cielo if we return to Cuzco.
Thank you Tony for opening this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watani07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in May and it was amazing. The service was brilliant, with the staff always willing to help. The local knowledge was a big plus, we got to try a lot of non-touristy restaurants and great day trips (all you need to do is ask the staff).

We stayed in a deluxe room which although is not comparable to a 5 star hotel, has character and is built using local methods. The rooms were very spacious with fabulous open beam ceilings and a fireplace for chilly nights.

We will definitely stay here again if we find ourselves back in Peru. Can't recommend it enough. Great central spot, beautiful hotel. Wish there were more like it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieFinbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

I've been in Peru six times and stayed in many grand and not so grand places. My wife and I found the Andenes al Cielo by walking around and checking out different accomodations on our month long trip to Cusco. The hotel was absolutely beautiful, and we immediately checked out of our prior accomodations and moved here. The owner Tony was super friendly, and the Hotel Manager, Javier met every need. The hotel is completely renovated with just enough American touches to meet all of your comfort needs. The beds are extremely cosy with down comforters, a great touch during the cold nights. The staff always smiles and the grounds are immaculate. The courtyard is beautiful, as is the rooftop terrace with a panoramic view of Cusco.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coryclimbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We were lucky to find this hotel on tripadvisor.com. We liked it so much, we extended our stay in Cusco!

We stayed here for a little over a week. It is a wonderful hotel--clean, quiet, safe, charming, excellent location, wonderful service. The breakfast is delicious (fresh fruit, eggs, bread). We would highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theamericannomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We found a gem of a hotel that had only been open 4 days when we stayed there. There were some final preparations being completed and this still was an excellent hotel! The American owners, Tony and Monica, were extremely helpful and are a wealth of knowledge about local restaurants, daily tours, sights to see and generally everything Peruvian. They and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a fantastic time in Cuzco. They even stored our excess baggage while we did the 4-day Inca Trail hike.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silver_weasel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

When we were looking for a hotel for our vacation in Cusco, a friend recommended the Andenes al Cielo. We contacted them, and it turned out that the hotel had not even officially opened, but the owner was so generous and invited us to come stay a few days before opening. The hotel itself is stunning -- it is newly renovated with gorgeous stone and wood accents. There is also a terrace on the top floor that opens to a view of the whole town that guests can use. The rooms were very clean -- they were also newly renovated so everything is in great condition and the beds were SO comfortable.

Though the accommodations were wonderful, I think we were most impressed with the staff at the hotel. We assumed that since we were staying at the hotel before it opened, the staff would be preoccupied with other tasks and we shouldn't expect the same amenities of a hotel that was open for business. That was not at all the case, and from the time we landed in Cusco, the hotel staff arranged transportation for us, recommended great places to visit and eat, and helped us find our way around. They also serve a complimentary breakfast for guests.

The location is also perfect - it is just a block or so away from the center of the town, and an easy walk to anywhere you want to get.

If we go to Cusco again, we definitely plan to stay here, and I'd highly recommend it. It is a great value for the price, and the people working at the hotel were wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachtraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Costa Del Sol Ramada Cusco
0.5 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#1 of 400 in Cusco
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andenes al Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andenes al Cielo

Address: 176 Calle Choquechaca | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 400 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $73 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andenes al Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Andenes al Cielo, a boutique hotel situated in the charming artisan’s district of San Blas, in historic Cusco. A short two blocks from the main plaza, our comfortable and well-appointed 15 rooms offer a distinctive level of comfort combined with an Andean hospitality that will inspire a truly memorable stay. We invite you to enjoy our hotel’s colonial ambiance, modern amenities and many custom services tailored to your travel needs. Our friendly staff awaits you here in the imperial city of the ancient Inca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Andenes al Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andenes Al Cielo Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing