We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place in Cuzco”
Review of Andenes al Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Andenes al Cielo
Ranked #6 of 357 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool place in Cuzco”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Spent a wonderful few days at this affordable hotel near Plazas de Armas. I was greeted upon arrival with a steaming hot cup of cocoa leaf tea by the ever helpful manager, Javier. The included breakfast featured lots of fresh fruit, and David prepared an omelette to my finicky tastes.
I felt lucky that the Andenes al Cielo hotel offered me a closer glimpse into the real Cuzco. One beautiful starry night, I was on the roof top terrace and Javier introduced me to several local "Cusquenos " and shared some delicious Pisco's and stories.
When I needed to recuperate from my hike on the Inca Trail, the room and bed were quite comfortable and I soaked in the bath-tub for hours.
I'd recommend this picturesque hotel over many of the 5 stars that I visited.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    130
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
103
206
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in a standard double room. Pros: the hotel is in a fabulous location, probably one of the best locations in Cusco; it's very pretty and stylish; the rooms are clean and comfortable; the staff are friendly and helpful; it's excellent value for money (I did a lot of research!). Cons: sound proofing is terrible and as a light sleeper I was awoken before 7 each morning by very loud guest and street noises, particularly early risers above us who were ridiculously loud - aim for a top floor room; wifi was extremely weak in our room though fine in other areas; the room was small and I rather regretted not splashing out the extra $25 on a deluxe room; our shower leaked and the bathroom was always wet; the breakfast was mediocre; the place where we left our keys wasn't always attended, raising security concerns.

Overall, this is a great choice for a stylish, central, good value hotel. I much preferred it to the more expensive Tierra Viva Saphi where I also stayed (see review) and would book this hotel if in Cusco again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here in July/August of 2011 for a three week visit in Peru. We stayed here at the start of our trip, after trekking to Macchu Pichu, and again after a visit to Manu. Each time we had a spacious, clean, comfortable room, and truly appreciated the kind, helpful and accommodating staff. Hotels of this standard and size in Cusco are often cold, and Andenes has very effective portable electric heaters in the rooms, and we never ran out of hot water. Our last room was one of the exceptionally beautiful large ones at the front of the building with a fireplace. We loved it, but beware because the street noise in these rooms is noticeable. Breakfasts were filling and tasty, the coffee was excellent, the supply of coca tea endless, and the views from the rooftop terrace were wonderful. I am giving 5 stars because it was an outstanding experience for us, but am aware that some readers will take that to mean this is a luxury hotel, which it is not. But it is an exceptionally pretty, well run, comfortable, perfectly situated small hotel. Outstanding value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0ldc0untrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Spent almost a week at Andenes al Cielo with a few friends. It was clean, a perfect location, friendly and very helpful staff. The only complaint - and it's a small one - the noise. The walls aren't very thick or insulated, so that we heard every step and conversation outside our room. Earplugs were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Andenes al Cielo was our Cuzco hub for our 2 week trip last month. The hotel was well kept. There was free computer/internet access, and coca leaf tea flowing all day. And the rooms were clean and comfortable (with portable heaters and blow dryer upon request). The location was great: It's in San Blas area. A short walk to the plaza, just down the street from Jack's Cafe. We walked everywhere in town.

The staff was amazing. Everybody was friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They prep'd breakfast early because we had to leave early on our hike. They stored our luggage when we went on trips and placed them back in our room when we returned. When we returned from Puno at 5am, they put us in a room, so we can get some sleep before the 10am checkin time.

I would recommend Andenes al Cielo to anybody.

Room Tip: We stayed in 4 different rooms, and they are all simple and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed 3 days in the city of Cusco and chose Andenes al Cielo for its location. We were very happy with our rooms, the beds were comfy and and the room had everything we needed. Everybody was very attentive since the moment we arrived, we were received with hot tea - which was brought to our room, and the next morning we enjoyed a very good breakfast with eggs cooked to order. The hotel is located two blocks away from the main square, giving you the perfect base to explore and walk around but still being near to all the main attractions. My husband is a vegetarian so we were very pleased to find this little gem of a veg restaurant right across the street. Give it a try if you like to change up your diet. They prepare typical Peruvian dishes but everything is vegetarian, their juices were yummy too. And the prices? OMG I couldn't believe how cheap everything was! We thoroughly enjoyed our time in the city of Cusco, and if we go back we will definitely stay at Andenes al Cielo again. Thank you so much for making our stay so pleasant!

Room Tip: If you are not used to the altitude, you may want to ask for a ground floor room. We live in Florida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babykatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benbrook,
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed four days with these people and would stay again. As with other hotels there were no washcloths, kleenex or hairdryers which is typical of the area. Although no heat in the rooms they provided a room heater for us and it was very comfortable. The rooms were small, but very clean and the hotel provided everything we asked. The only thing I would add is a sandwich or soup restaurant in the breakfast area. They served breakfast and cooked our eggs as we wanted. Limited english, but were more than able to communicate. There are restaurants very close, so no problem. They had an oxygen tank on hand, which I needed, but it had been used for another guest and they were waiting on a replacement, so I got what was called "Oxyshot" at the pharmacy two doors down for $30 us dollars and it had 50 shots which helped me tremendously on the trip to Machu Picchu and the Sacraed City tours. Coca tea helped a bunch. I also bought Coca candy and Coca to suck on. Very helpful. Inca remedy for altitude. I was advised by my pulmonary doctor not to go, but at 68 I was going or else. Only had two scary trips at 13,000 feet but oxyshot worked. I cannot say enough about the service and the personnel of the hotel or of Peruvacationrours. Our guides were there everytime for whereever we were going; I may never make this trip again, but glad I did. Wonderful experience. One guide especially stands out, Rolando was always on time. One of the main squares is only two blocks away and although I had to stop some, it wasn't hard to get to. I would suggest at least a whole day and night to get acclaimated and definately Coca tea even if your health is good.

I was trying to go to their 'infor@' website, but it isn't set up where you can access it.

Room Tip: We had two single beds, one window which looked out over small pretty courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandiftworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 167 in Cusco
1,460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 167 in Cusco
1,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andenes al Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andenes al Cielo

Property: Andenes al Cielo
Address: 176 Calle Choquechaca | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 357 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Andenes al Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Andenes al Cielo, a boutique hotel situated in the charming artisan’s district of San Blas, in historic Cusco. A short two blocks from the main plaza, our comfortable and well-appointed 15 rooms offer a distinctive level of comfort combined with an Andean hospitality that will inspire a truly memorable stay. We invite you to enjoy our hotel’s colonial ambiance, modern amenities and many custom services tailored to your travel needs. Our friendly staff awaits you here in the imperial city of the ancient Inca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Andenes al Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andenes Al Cielo Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing