We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the hotel to stay in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Andenes al Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Andenes al Cielo
Ranked #6 of 340 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is the hotel to stay in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Look no further! If you are in Cusco, just book this hotel and you're worry free. My husband and I and two friends stayed here for several days before and after our Inca Trail trip. The place is extremely clean, hot water always available, staff dependable, friendly, and helpful, and it felt like a home, even with our very minimal Spanish vocablulary. It is just a hop and skip away from the Plaza de Armas, great restaurants, and everything you'll need. Our friends even got a gigantic room with a balcony, vaulted ceilings with beams, wood fireplace, which the staff got started for them one night, and a skylight! Breakfast was always on time and fresh. To top it off, free wi-fi alllowed me to facetime home every night to check on home!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMJEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    127
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
99
199
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

The hotel looks terrific and very clean. Located on a quiet street, but still just a 3 min walk to the main Plaza. Javier (manager, speaks english) was extremely helpful. He answered emails promptly, which made the booking/follow-up process easy. He gave us advice on where to eat, places to see and arranged a private tour with one of his drivers, who was a great driver (his name is Isaac). Javier even helped us book a hotel at another city and took responsibility for a small misunderstanding we had with that hotel (wasn't Javier's fault), which many wouldn't have done.

Breakfast was delicious every day (fresh fruits, granola, yogurt, fried eggs, hot cereal, teas). Room was cleaned thoroughly daily.

We stored our luggage at the hotel during our 4-day Inca trail hike free of charge, which was convenient.

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel and would certainly stay here again next time I'm in Cusco.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Getaway333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel was great! From the moment we arrived, the service was outstanding. Everyone is very helpful, accomodating, and ready to assist with any questions or needs. They have coca tea in their waiting room (with a cozy fireplace) all day long. The wood work throughout the hotel is beautiful! They also have a nice terrace at the very top of the hotel with a gorgeous view of Cusco. They also have breakfast every morning in their dining room with plenty of fruit, oatmeal, coffee, bread, cheese, and they'll make you eggs upon request. I was able to peek a view into their larger rooms and they were gorgeous!!! They have double beds, a sitting area, and their own fireplace. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This place very central. Close to the Plaza des Armes, the hotel is far enough to be just off the tourist path- perfect! The service was mostly prompt and helpful. The daily breakfast was good- eggs made to order, coffee, tea, juice, an assortment of fruit, and of course granola and buns with jam. Free high speed internet was very convenient. The cons? Shower water pressure and temperature varies in each room. Our group had 4 different rooms and some had great water pressure while others didn't. No tourist map provided by the hotel- this would also been helpful but we had our lonely planet map at least. TIP: Must have? A portable heater...there is no heating so it gets quite cold in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misshellokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed in a deluxe double room for 5 nights at the Andenes Al Cielo. Room was huge and really beautiful with comfy beds and a lovely fireplace. Location was great- close to everything. Very clean hotel, hot water, warm at night, ok breakfast, quiet. Only criticism was the night staff who didn't have a clue about customer service. Every request was agreed to then completely ignored!! We paid for a room with a fireplace but after asking the staff over 5 times to light it for us (you aren't allowed to light it yourself) and no one coming up to light it, we just gave up! Same applies for taxis we booked with night staff- the following day we had to re-book taxis because they hadn't been arranged! Day staff are good and stay at the hotel was pleasant overall. Probably not worth booking a room with a fireplace though.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I booked two days at this hotel and we had a good time.

Pros:
- The rooms are clean. We were on the first floor on the first night, and the second floor on the second night.
- Beds are comfortable and with lots of blankets.
- Glad to have hot water in the showers! I did notice some flooding in the showers, so I would wear sandals inside.
- Someone is working 24/7.
- Nice patio area.
- Breakfast is awesome. There is fresh fruits (kiwis and papaya), cereal, breads, coffee, and tea. We had an early breakfast at 4:30am, so there wasn't any hot foods.
- Wake up call available.
- Free wifi and a computer for public usage.
- Free luggage storage if you are going to Machu Picchu.
- Price of $60/night is a great deal!
- Location is very close to the Plaza.

Cons:
- The first day was rough for us since our plane was delayed 7 hours. I called the hotel and Javier to let them know of the flight delay so we could get our complimentary cab ride from the airport to the hotel. When we arrived at the airport, we didn't see a cab waiting for us. I called the hotel, but no one picked up, so we had to pay 20 soles to get us to our hotel. That was a disappointment.

- Front doors had to be open by hotel workers. In the late evening and early morning, we rang the doorbell for 5-10 minutes since no one was at the front desk to hear the bell.

- Shampoo is not very good. I would bring your own.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeroppiQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

After staying 1 night in a not-so-great hotel in Cusco, we moved to Andenes al Cielo.

Javier, the manager, welcomed us with 2 bottles of water. We were led to the cleanest, brightest double room on the 3rd floor. The hardwood floors were spotless, the bathroom neatly arranged with big fluffy towels. At that moment, we knew we'd found a special place!

Because we were trying to get out of our sub-par arrangements, we arrived at 10:15am. Javier knew we would be there early and had prepared our room. We really got a bonus day out of it thanks to his consideration.

After settling in, we spent an hour just breathing in the crisp Cusco air on the rooftop terrace. Although we didn't spend too much time up there, it was a really special addition to the hotel. The view is fabulous and you can snap a great shot of the "Viva El Peru" sign on the side of one of the hills (you'll know it when you see it.)

The room had a space heater which we used once and then realized the big heavy comforter was enough. It was so nice to sink into that lovely bed after the long days of sightseeing!!!

Javier arranged a private driver for us to go to Pisac which was also a great experience. If you stay at Andenes, request Isaac - He is a really great, safe and considerate driver. I'm not sure if he spoke English (we speak conversational Spanish, so it never came up) - but he was a really great and reliable person. We actually booked him twice.


What else....

Breakfast- VERY good included breakfast. My boyfriend said the eggs were perfectly cooked! They also had hot oatmeal, yogurt/granola, fresh fruits (different every day), juices, coffee/tea, rolls/bread.

For 60 dollars a night, you can stay in a beautifully kept, exceptionally located hotel. Javier and the staff made the hotel even more special... I couldn't thank them enough.

Unfortunately, there was no room at the hotel for our last night in Cusco. We ended up staying at a more expensive place that was an absolute let-down.

You won't get better service, a comfier bed, or better views anywhere else in town.

I should also mention the location. This hotel is in San Blas, but not up a steep hill from the Plaza de Armas. It's basically in between the Plaza and the higher points of San Blas. At night, the street was quiet.

Finally, Javier, the manager asked us for any feedback at the end of the trip which I thought was excellent. He truly cares about his work, which we both really appreciated. My one piece of feedback for him was to try to have the owner get a large water cooler so that guests can refill water instead of buying new plastic bottles. Although this isn't a criticism, if you are asked what hotels can improve in Peru, bring this up! Peru has a plastic/trash problem and it would help if tourists could refill bottles rather than buying tons of plastic bottles each week. One hotel charged 1 sol per litre to refill, a nominal fee considering the positive impact you're having in return.

I am writing in all of my hotel reviews that people push for water refill jugs in Peru hotels!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovintheworld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#17 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.0 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#33 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 163 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andenes al Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andenes al Cielo

Property: Andenes al Cielo
Address: 176 Calle Choquechaca | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Andenes al Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Andenes al Cielo, a boutique hotel situated in the charming artisan’s district of San Blas, in historic Cusco. A short two blocks from the main plaza, our comfortable and well-appointed 15 rooms offer a distinctive level of comfort combined with an Andean hospitality that will inspire a truly memorable stay. We invite you to enjoy our hotel’s colonial ambiance, modern amenities and many custom services tailored to your travel needs. Our friendly staff awaits you here in the imperial city of the ancient Inca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Andenes al Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andenes Al Cielo Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing