We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to stay in Cusco”
Review of El Tuco Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Tuco Hostel
Ranked #32 of 533 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Cusco and we could NOT have been happier with our hostel choice. This place is located about 10 minutes from the Plaza de Armas which is the focal point for all things touristy in Cusco. The location is excellent because the Plaza is accessible via walking or a 5 soles taxi ride. Three minutes away from the hostel is a local grocery store, so if you need to stock up on water for your tours or just to stay hydrated that is a huge plus. They also sell meat,produce, and all the things you would need to cook a meal yourself in the hostel. In addition to its prime location the owner CoCo is simply amazing. He is so kind and laid back. He seems to truly understand what it means to be a stranger in unfamiliar territory and he does an excellent job making his guests feel at home. He answered any and all questions I had and really made our stay that much more memorable. The room we had was clean, the shared bathroom cleaned on a regular basis and the kitchen had utensils, pots, pans and everything else you would need to cook. This place is an overall win. If or when I return to Cusco I plan on coming right back here.

**Side note: Don't listen to the Taxi Scam artists trying to redirect you to another hostel through fear or incorrect information. This place is legitimate and provides a great experience. Thanks Coco!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelOT-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 267 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

I can't say enough nice things about our experience at this hostel. Coco and his wife Anna Maria, are such wonderful people. They made us feel so welcome. The hostel is in a great location, about a 10 minute walk from the main square. It was quiet, very safe and also very clean. I would highly recommend this hostel for anyone staying in Cusco. It was my favorite hostel of our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The owner of this hostel Coco and his wife Anna Maria made our stay in Cusco wonderful. We arrived to El Tuco and they were so welcoming and told us to relax and that we were in our home now. We stayed two nights, and returned for a third night after our trip to Machu Pichu. The hostel was quiet, beds were comfy enough and water in the shower was warm. Coco gave us lots of information and advice regarding our stay in Cusco and in Machu Pichu. People like this deserve much success. It was my favorite hostel stay of this trip. If I were to ever return to Cusco, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Coco the owner operator was very courteous and accommodating. He makes Pisco Sours for the customers once in a while, but unfortunately we weren't around when he did. My girlfriend and I had one of the private room with a shower. It usually had hot water. You have to pay a few extra dollars for towels. Free wifi throughout the two story building. If you're concerned with sleeping late, the street noise may bother you. Although we didn't spend much time at the hostel, when we were there it was comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckuempel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our stay at Tuco Hostel was really good! First the hospedaje is well-situaded, not far from the centre of Cusco but not in a touristic area, which is nice. Then the hostel is great, with nice rooms (our room was big and its price was cheap!), common areas, kitchen etc... Finally, the staff is nice and Coco, the owner, is really helpful providing a lot of precious advices.

The only thing : don't do the touristic bus trip between Cusco and Puno (Coco might propose to you), it's a rip-off!! Just go with a regular company.

If I have to come back to Cusco, I'll go back to El Tuco, for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahd448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We recently stayed at El Tuco Hostel in Cusco Peru. The following are the reasons we loved it:
1. Friendly staff. The owner speaks Spanish and English. He could suggest places to go, where to catch a bus,etc. He also could inform us of Peruvian customs. Very interesting.
2. Convenient: An easy 10-15 minute walk to Plaza de Armas. Taxis are very easy to catch right in front of El Tuco.
3. We would use the kitchen to make our breakfast (you can pay a bit extra to have them make breakfast for you if you wish) and dinner. Thus saving time and money.
4. A market and grocery store was close by.
5. This hostel was filled with quiet, but very interesting guests from all over the world. We did not want to stay at a loud partying hostel so this one worked out perfectly.
6. People of all ages stay here.
7. HOT showers!!!
8. The owner, Coco, made us delicious Pisco Sours one evening.
9. Very clean.
10. They were very nice to us when it was necessary to check in at 2am due to our train/bus arrival time.

I would highly recommend this hostel and I hope I can return here someday. I would not look for any other place to stay in Cusco but El Tuco.

-Valerie Marquardt
(along with daughter Anne Brooker)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Really close to the main square, you have everything you need to relax and chill after a lond day of walking around the place you visit during the tours. The staff is great, also; Coco, the owner, is really cool and will make feel at home

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ximena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Backpacker La Bo'M
Backpacker La Bo'M
#5 of 533 in Cusco
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#3 of 533 in Cusco
1,498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 533 in Cusco
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kurumi Hostel
Kurumi Hostel
#34 of 533 in Cusco
301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#160 of 172 in Cusco
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tuco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tuco Hostel

Address: Av Grau 835, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 533 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $20 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Tuco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your El Tuco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing