We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold and without a decent bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse
Ranked #67 of 340 Cusco B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cold and without a decent bathroom”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Despite the very positive comments of other guests I have to say that I was quite disappointed by CDM mainly because the room was lacking a decent bathroom. What we had there was a cold room with an even colder corner that was supposed to be a bathroom. Hot water was not available. Only the shower had a sort of heater on the fly with dangling live wires...
I also have to say that the people were charming despite a very weird welcome when Mercedes tried to convince us to forget our booking and move for one night to anmother hotel. Simply unacceptable...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxcapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    41
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
53
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

before, during & after...

- before we checked in: we missed our original flight from lima to cusco (peruvian airlines:)... that delayed our arrival to cusco airport by 3 hours.... we didn't have any way to inform casa de mama about that... and where psychologically ready to be ripped off by airport taxis.... surprisingly, while exiting the airport we saw a young guy holding our names ?!?!? turns out to be mercedes' son still waiting for us !!!!

- during: not gonna say much... first time in my life end up kissing our host before we left to the airport :)

- after we checked out: we forgot some cosmetic products that they posted for us to lima & refused to inform us about the charges... so we can pay it back !!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ro_H_Na123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

I stayed at Casa de Mama for five weeks during the months of june, july, and august. My wife joined me for the last two weeks. the rooms are "self-catering" so we could prepare simple meals. The accomodations are rustic, clean and very cozy and comfortable. The nights are cold which makes for great sleeping. Heaters are available if it it too cold for you, Carmen is on location and is sweet and very helpful. Mercedes, the proprietor, speaks fluent English and has been so helpful in assisting us as we move our daughter to live and volunteer in Cusco for one year. Casa de Mama is in San Blas on a quiet and tranquil street. We didn't hear much noise or traffic. It is located within walking distance of the Plaza de Armes. We were able to walk to most anywhere we wanted to go in Cusco, but taxis are readily available. We recommend Casa de Mama for a longer stay (more than three nights) and for travelers who want to experience Peru in a non commercial way.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPelsinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed at Casa de Mama's mid April before and after hiking the Inca Trail. As soon as we were picked up by Mercedes and her family at the bus station we knew we were onto a winner. Despite our lack of Spanish we had a very comfortable stay with Carmen looking after us very well. We also got to learn heaps about Peruvian culture thanks to Mercedes wealth of knowledge. Also whilst we were walking the Inca trail they looked after our bags for us and put then in our room for our return. The guest house itself (as this is what is it really is, if you like boring chain hotels this is not the place for you) is very cool and unique with rooms that despite being chilly at night and having erratic hot water (which i think they have now fixed) it has amazing views and great little kitchens that we used after visiting the local markets to buy fruit and vege, after getting some guidance from Mercedes. The location is also perfect being far enough away from the square for it to feel very relaxing but close enough when you need to go and do stuff. For the money we thought that Casa de Mama's was great and we would definitely return on another visit.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank reeva24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

Casa de Mama (CDM) has some strong positive attributes, as well as some material drawbacks. It's important when choosing CDM to know what you're getting and what you may not be getting:

Pro's: Carmen, as well as the Juan and Marco who help out around the Casa, are very friendly. CDM offers a small inn type of hospitality, which is nice. Also, it's a bit off the Plaza de Armas, but not too far. This location provides a quieter, less frenetic experience. CDM has a rustic charm.

Con's: First, if you don't speak good Spanish, you may have a lot of difficulty communicating with the staff. Carmen can often call Mercedes, put you on with her and then translate, but this is an imperfect method of communicating and can be a hassle. Next, it gets cold in the room at night--really cold; I didn't have this issue at my next hotel. Also, the showers aren't great. In particular, it can be difficult to get hot water or properly modulate the temperature. Finally, the internet, while free, is extremely slow and difficult to use.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Traveldude40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falbala1000, Propietario at Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse, responded to this review, July 24, 2010
Google Translation
lamentamos mucho, que la calidez que caracteriza a nuestro staff, haya sido opacada por la ola de frio que azota la ciudad, le informamos que ahora cada una de nuestras habitaciones tiene calefaccion permanente de modo tal que en su proxima visita , la calidez de nuestro servicio estara a la par con la calidez de las habitaciones.
En cuanto a algunas dificultades en la temperatura de las duchas, ocasionadas por el irregular suministro de agua en la ciudad, en algunas horas, ya se ha solucionado con un sistema de provision de agua permanente.Gracias por haberse hospedado con nosotros, estamos a sus gratas ordenes cuando Ud. guste.
Mercedes Aguilar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

Casa de Mama is a charming, well located, tiny hotel in the center of Cusco. Invaluable personal attention to all your needs from Mercedes, the owner. It is clearly a basic and rustic set-up, and it is priced accordingly, so do not expect chain hotel luxury. Do expect sincere, warm and personal service to your Cusco experience....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIMON5255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

I've stayed at about a dozen places using tripadvisor recommendations and this is probably the first real letdown I've had. It's a real shame because this place had a lot going for it - superb location, friendly staff and funky decor to name a few.
The major drawback was the temperature. Cusco is cold in June and when you pay this kind of money in Sth America you expect a warm room. There were visible gaps between the ceiling and the top of the wall, allowing cold air from outside to enter. After the first night sleeping in our thermals, we were given a small heater which helped a bit. Our second concern was the inconsistency of the hot water. We managed to get a couple of warm showers during our 4 day visit but on a number of occasions the water was simply cold.
There must be better options for $50 a night in Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBoneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
0.0 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#33 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#17 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse
0.1 mi away
Hospedaje Turistico San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse

Property: Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse
Address: Calle Atocsaycuchi 539, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little house in the traditional quartier of San Blas, each room is a studio, equiped for your confort.Each rooms has a maarried bed, tv, refrigerator, microwelle, table, chairs, kitchenette, private bathroom, towels and linning, hair dryer and heater.The breakfast is included in the rate.Casa de Mama is located in a quiet pededstrian street, only 5 minutes far from the Central Plaza.We organize the tours in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Mama Cusco Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing