We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unique experience... in a good way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse
Ranked #77 of 401 Cusco B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed at Casa de Mama's mid April before and after hiking the Inca Trail. As soon as we were picked up by Mercedes and her family at the bus station we knew we were onto a winner. Despite our lack of Spanish we had a very comfortable stay with Carmen looking after us very well. We also got to learn heaps about Peruvian culture thanks to Mercedes wealth of knowledge. Also whilst we were walking the Inca trail they looked after our bags for us and put then in our room for our return. The guest house itself (as this is what is it really is, if you like boring chain hotels this is not the place for you) is very cool and unique with rooms that despite being chilly at night and having erratic hot water (which i think they have now fixed) it has amazing views and great little kitchens that we used after visiting the local markets to buy fruit and vege, after getting some guidance from Mercedes. The location is also perfect being far enough away from the square for it to feel very relaxing but close enough when you need to go and do stuff. For the money we thought that Casa de Mama's was great and we would definitely return on another visit.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank reeva24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2010

Casa de Mama (CDM) has some strong positive attributes, as well as some material drawbacks. It's important when choosing CDM to know what you're getting and what you may not be getting:

Pro's: Carmen, as well as the Juan and Marco who help out around the Casa, are very friendly. CDM offers a small inn type of hospitality, which is nice. Also, it's a bit off the Plaza de Armas, but not too far. This location provides a quieter, less frenetic experience. CDM has a rustic charm.

Con's: First, if you don't speak good Spanish, you may have a lot of difficulty communicating with the staff. Carmen can often call Mercedes, put you on with her and then translate, but this is an imperfect method of communicating and can be a hassle. Next, it gets cold in the room at night--really cold; I didn't have this issue at my next hotel. Also, the showers aren't great. In particular, it can be difficult to get hot water or properly modulate the temperature. Finally, the internet, while free, is extremely slow and difficult to use.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Traveldude40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falbala1000, Propietario at Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2010
Google Translation

lamentamos mucho, que la calidez que caracteriza a nuestro staff, haya sido opacada por la ola de frio que azota la ciudad, le informamos que ahora cada una de nuestras habitaciones tiene calefaccion permanente de modo tal que en su proxima visita , la calidez de nuestro servicio estara a la par con la calidez de las habitaciones.
En cuanto a algunas dificultades en la temperatura de las duchas, ocasionadas por el irregular suministro de agua en la ciudad, en algunas horas, ya se ha solucionado con un sistema de provision de agua permanente.Gracias por haberse hospedado con nosotros, estamos a sus gratas ordenes cuando Ud. guste.
Mercedes Aguilar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Casa de Mama is a charming, well located, tiny hotel in the center of Cusco. Invaluable personal attention to all your needs from Mercedes, the owner. It is clearly a basic and rustic set-up, and it is priced accordingly, so do not expect chain hotel luxury. Do expect sincere, warm and personal service to your Cusco experience....

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIMON5255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I've stayed at about a dozen places using tripadvisor recommendations and this is probably the first real letdown I've had. It's a real shame because this place had a lot going for it - superb location, friendly staff and funky decor to name a few.
The major drawback was the temperature. Cusco is cold in June and when you pay this kind of money in Sth America you expect a warm room. There were visible gaps between the ceiling and the top of the wall, allowing cold air from outside to enter. After the first night sleeping in our thermals, we were given a small heater which helped a bit. Our second concern was the inconsistency of the hot water. We managed to get a couple of warm showers during our 4 day visit but on a number of occasions the water was simply cold.
There must be better options for $50 a night in Cusco.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBoneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I stayed at Casa de Mama for three nights in late May/early June and it was amazing. The location is perfect - right off of Choquechaca, a couple blocks from Plaza de Armas and a couple blocks from Plaza San Blas. My friend and I were picked up at the airport by Mercedes and Antonio who could not have been more welcoming. As soon as we got there, Carmen made us coca tea while we took in the amazing views from our room. Everyone was so accommodating and helpful. They let us leave our big backpacks there overnight while we went to Machu Picchu for no charge, which was awesome. The only issue was our shower - freezing water and a slight electrical jolt when you touched the faucet! They tried to fix it for us though, and let us use the shower in another room that had lukewarm water. Other than that it was an absolutely magical place to stay while exploring Cusco.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyssamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Casa de Mama is a wonderful place to stay either long term or short term. The location is perfect, very central. There are only six rooms, each with a kitchenette, which is perfect for breakfast and easy meals. Carmen and Mercedes are instant friends, contacts and substitute mothers. They helped me in many ways and fulfilled any room requests that I had (like needing a heater on the cold nights). Hotel was designed by an artist and is funky, elegant and fun. Internet service is a little slow.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This place is great to stay at, very central. Quite a few stairs to get to it so pack lightly. The host is well connected and has a great Restaurant on the square Los Balcones. I would recommend booking your own tours as we used the host to book our tour and we did pay a surcharge for that service.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclist2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#160 of 172 in Cusco
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.5 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#59 of 529 in Cusco
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#65 of 401 in Cusco
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 529 in Cusco
774 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 529 in Cusco
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse

Address: Calle Atocsaycuchi 539, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 401 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $35 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little house in the traditional quartier of San Blas, each room is a studio, equiped for your confort.Each rooms has a maarried bed, tv, refrigerator, microwelle, table, chairs, kitchenette, private bathroom, towels and linning, hair dryer and heater.The breakfast is included in the rate.Casa de Mama is located in a quiet pededstrian street, only 5 minutes far from the Central Plaza.We organize the tours in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Mama Cusco Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing