We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff, basic accomodations at a GREAT PRICE!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacha Hotel Museo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacha Hotel Museo
Ranked #82 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, basic accomodations at a GREAT PRICE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed 4 nights, which included the free airport pick-up. We booked directly with the hotel, which saved a lot of money. Location just 8-10 minutes to the main square..no hills to climb! Very professional, friendly owner suggested a great local restaurant near the corner of the round-about two blocks towards town..we went twice and tried to go back another time, but they were closed that Sunday night. The hotel entrance is a little hard to find but it is near a petrol station. You might get off there and walk the last 20-30 meters. The front desk staff was the best we had in all of South America..all very friendly, helpful, speak great English..they go the extra mile to please their guest..esp. when the laundry service lost one of my wife's socks..we got it back 5 minutes before leaving for the airport..due to their heroic efforts..much more than expected! But it might be best to skip the laundry service since it wasn't up to par, with soap stains remaining on the clothes. We had to rewash them. The room was large enough for our ton of luggage, which they gladly took up to the room. The double paned windows cuts down on the street noise, so it wasn't a real problem. The beds were comfortable.The hot water/shower was fine. The place next door (behind?) sometimes plays loud music, but again it wasn't a major issue. The city tour and Sacred Valley tours offered were both great, and somewhat underpriced! Longer and better than expected! They also arranged private taxi tours for us to other attractions at a reasonable price..and we are careful with the money! The breakfast, with freshly cooked eggs, was standard, nothing special..about the norm for Peru. Free hot drinks thoughout the day in the restaurant area. Also typical of most hotels in Peru. Free computer also available. The BEST thing about Pacha is the price/quality of service ratio..and wonderful staff! The BEST was found in Peru! Don't expect luxury, and you will leave very satisfied and wanting to return soon! Nice job!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street might actually be quieter than in the back..with double-glassed windows. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jinbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
17
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We did not stay in this hotel as the second floor was flooded out. But the owner took us to a different hotel on the same street. It was nice except for the location. It is a very busy street and with a lot speed bumps may be. We thought the traffic will die down but it never did. All through the night it was constant sound. We felt like we were on a roller coaster ride or something. We booked this hotel on our way back from Macchu Picchu and were leaving for Lima very early next morning. It served that purpose very well. Taxi was 10 soles and the airport was only 10 minutes away. But if you want to look around Cusco stay closer to city center.

Room Tip: I would rather stay close to city center cusco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ushdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel was disappointing for out first hotel in Cusco. It is on a busy street and too far from the cute part of town. Loud car and people noise all night long. Rooms are clean, but outdated with holes in blankets and dirty carpeting. Also, rooms are cold. The staff is very nice and helpful. For the same price you can do better. We stayed as Los Aticos after our hike and were happier. Casa Andina looked cute too.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jurzyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice hotel, but no so centrally located. The staff were great. The beds were nice but way too short and I am only 5'9". There was no hot water. After a cold rainy day to Machu Picchu, a cold shower was a disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljbannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I sent an email request to book a room the night before me and my family were to arrive in Cusco and Jose replied immediately with a confirmation.

When we arrived late at night we were greeted by Jose's parents (I think), who were very warm and welcoming.

As we were travelling with a child we were given a matrimonial room (4 beds) and because it was the off season we got the room for $45 USD per night which I thought was fair. The room had hot water and was cleaned daily during our 3-night stay. The wi-fi connection was similar to most places I've stayed at in Peru (i.e. spotty), but downstairs in the lobby was a computer for guests to use that had a solid connection. Breakfast included the standard Peruvian fair of bread, jam, cheese and ham (if requested), coffee, tea, and juice.

Pacha Hotel Museo is about a 15-minute walk to the Plaza de Armas, but along the way you'll find some of the higher-end shops and also handicrafts shops that are more reasonably priced than the handicraft market. Speaking of which, if you walk in the opposite direction, the Central Handicraft Market is about 10 minutes away.

The best aspect of Pacha Hotel Museo is Jose, his family, and the staff (especially Elena and Tony who can help those who speak English), as they are super friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and will also assist you in any way they can.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank genyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Mellado, Owner at Pacha Hotel Museo, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks a lot for your words, recomendation and for your confidence in us.

Regards to your beautifull family.

Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was secure in the fact that you had to ring a doorbell to get in to the place near the town square but after buying a few trinkets that were stolen from my room... Lets just say I wouldn't stay there again. The management wasn't sympathetic ( if not involved).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrhesprich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Mellado, General Manager at Pacha Hotel Museo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hello mrhesprich,
I don't understand, Do you await one year to write your complain? Because you write your review on January 2013 but supposedly you stay on February 2012? Is rare because we don´t have complains on February 2012.
Please could you write your full name, and when was your check in?.
I await your answer.
I´m the manager and I ever stay in the hotel. My priority is to avoid problems and if there are any, fix it immediately.
JOSE MELLADO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've stayed her for 3 days in a row. Staffs were super friendly. I highly recommend it!
The hotel was closely located to the plaza. I stayed at the 3rd floor of hotel and room were clean. However, it was a bit hard to catch internet at the room. Other than that, I was satisfied staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hijiyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Mellado, General Manager at Pacha Hotel Museo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank a lot for your recomendation.

Regards
Jose Mellado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Amerinka Boutique Hotel
Amerinka Boutique Hotel
#92 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antawasi Hotel
Antawasi Hotel
#69 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sonnenthal Cusco
Hotel Sonnenthal Cusco
#97 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Pumamarca Guest House
#207 of 339 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mister Inkas Hotel Museo Suites Manco Capac
0.4 mi away
Hostal Atlantis
Hostal Atlantis
#41 of 339 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacha Hotel Museo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacha Hotel Museo

Property: Pacha Hotel Museo
Address: Avenida de la Cultura 220, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacha Hotel Museo 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Pacha Hotel Museo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing