We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry, it's in decline”
Review of Saya Wasi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saya Wasi
Ranked #32 of 351 Cusco B&B and Inns
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Sorry, it's in decline”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed 10 days at Saya Wasi, and the reviews are now out of date that praise it. Yes, the view is still fabulous, but the room we had was shabby, shop worn. The stairs to get up to the building were a killer. Open sewer along the sidewalk and stairway made the difficult breathing even worse. Shower head attachment was so loose that water sprayed everywhere. It was COLD, and the tiny room heater was running 24/7 to barely make it to the 60. The doorbell in the hallway rings for everyone, people going up/down stairs at all hours (including us!) sound like they are right in your room. Light from hallway leaks into the room, making it hard to sleep. Only phone was locked in maid's room, so it would ring for us, but no way to answer. Staff was a sweet as could be, but can not make up for downsides. My wife and I were glad to get out, and only stayed because we paid cash in advance! Get a hotel that has phones, a front desk, and doesn't look and feel like a Goodwill showroom at the end of a breathtaking (literally) climb.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrZ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2010

It was by far the best place I had been in Cusco. This was my 5th time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaJCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

This is another of those special places that one is difficult to recommend as I do not want it to be booked up next time I visit.
Perched above San Blas, access is gained by walking up some steep steps but the reward is the spectacular views of Cuzco,there are three self contained apartments above which the owner Marta lives who also owns the Retama restaurant in the Plaza de Armas,which is also worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricomundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2010

It was the best place where we stayed during our trip in Peru. The rooms were so comfortable, in felt like a home. The only disadvantage were all the stair you have to climb if you walk from the plaza to the appartment. But if you are only a bit sportive it is no problem. I you ever want to visit cusco, stay in Saya Wasi! the view you have from your appartment is stunning!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Transport arranged from airport by Saya Wasi
Good advice on acclimatising to 3,300m altitude! Courteous & helpful staff.
Room was large, light, airy with fantastic views over Cusco. Furnished well, tastefully decorated, self catering was possible.
Location quiet, away from traffic, about 20min walk to Plaza de Armas, wonderful centre of Cusco. Excellent restaurant la Retama recommended, (can deliver food to Saya Wasi if you want to stay in) with its live traditional music & dancing. Many other restaurants, bars, music etc. available. Information provided for shops, market, gym & many agencies catering with trail walking, backpacking, all outdoor sports, including Machu Picchu of course.
Best features come from the wonderful location & the attitude of the staff, nothing is too much trouble.
Only slight drawbacks the uphill walk from the Cusco centre at altitude & the need to pump water when the pressure drops but that is provided for.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trikkydickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andenes al Cielo
Andenes al Cielo
#6 of 351 in Cusco
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
0.1 mi away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saya Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saya Wasi

Property: Saya Wasi
Address: Kiskapata 1000 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saya Wasi in Cusco (the upper house in Quechua) is a private house that offers you the pleasure of staying in a cozy B & B of only two rooms, located in the San Blas area in Cusco, 5 min from Plaza de Armas. This small haven will bring you peace of mind in the more rustic area of the imperial Inca city. This place is the meeting point for artists, close to cafes and galleries. You will comfortably walk in the pedestrian streets or stay at the hotel to laze off on the terrace and admire the view of the elusive historical center of the city. Excellent location. Close to museums, cafes, restaurants. 5 Min walk from Plaza de Armas. 10 Min by taxi from the airport. 30 Min from the train station of Poroy if you are planning to visit Machu Picchu. We speak English, French and Spanish and we will gladly help you in your travel planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Saya Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing