We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Quiet and endless coco tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Hosteria de Anita
Ranked #49 of 512 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our Machu Picchu tour company booked this accommodation for us and we couldn't be happier. The rooms and property were really nice and impeccably clean. There was coco tea available all day and the breakfast was big and proper with eggs, toast, muesli and fruit, juice and coffee. The only complaint we had was that our shower didn't have hot water. Unfortunately, I waited until the last day to say something and they said they needed to change the propane bottle. Then it was hot! When we returned to the hotel late after Machu Picchu and a night in Aguas Calientes, they put us in a 2 bedroom suite overlooking the city, I guess it paid to arrive late in a fully booked hotel. Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asquaredadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 232 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hostel is very comfy and lovely, with nice spaces to relax in the garden, for example… I stayed there for 3 different times, the rooms are wide, clean and iluminated, with big windows… I don't recommend staying in the rooms on the first floor because you can hear all the noisy coming from the guests on the floor up to you… I would suggest to the staff starting to clean the rooms after a comfy time to the guests, my cousin and my aunt were in the first floor and 8 in the morning the lady was cleaning the room above them.

The shower was really hard to set between cold and hot water… the breakfast is very good and the location is great, you can do everything by foot. Well, the staff is lovely so I would go back to this place… not for the faintest hearts, coming from the Plaza de Armas you have to climb some steps, what can be difficult for the first days in Cusco if you are not acclimatized.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana Carolina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We could only stay here one night before moving on to Machu Picchu but would have returned if they had availability.

We chose an upstairs room which was massive - wardrobe space, extra bed, television and table. The bathroom was equally spacious. There wasnt a view through the window as such but trees and bushes from the central garden area. The decor makes an impression with wooden furniture used throughout.

The bed was firm but comfortable with plenty of blankets. The shower was okay but lacked pressure and heat. The breakfast was pretty poor - we did leave early but no eggs! Considering all that is generally offered in Peru is jam, bread, coffee for breakfast a bit of egg should be included.

There is a complimentary airport pick up which is great and they arranged a taxi to take us to the train station.

The location is decent, although it is up some steep steps.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

After hiking 4 days in the mountains, sleeping in a tent, and visiting Machu Picchu we needed a place to rest with a lot of space to move around. We were quite satisfied because they had a large room for us, just under the roof, overviewing Cusco. Beautiful day and night that room 14.
Many doorbells and keys to work with to get in, but quite safe and secure. They had a good breakfast and helpfull staff; and they even done our laundry, on the same day a sunday. If I ever go back to Cusco, it will be at the same place.

Room Tip: In room 14, overlooking a part of Cusco, there are 4 beds, 5 sleeping place and it is quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonandreanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was my first hostel experience and it was a nice one. This wasn't a traditional hostel, where you were sharing bathrooms and rooms with other people. We elected to have our own room and own bathroom. The room was cure and cozy and the shower was just awesome - lots of water pressure and warm water. They were stingy with the toilet paper (would only give us one roll at a time, but I think that is how all of Peru is - toilet paper is a hot commodity!)

The room got chilly, because there is no heat (where thick socks or slippers because the floor is tile and can get COLD). The beds were comfy and the front desk staff was helpfull. The breakfast was good, although it was a little on the light side (i.e. - your plate of scrambled eggs is just one egg - so make sure you also eat the bread and yogurt they supply or you'll be starving in an hour).

It is located in a safe part of town and there are some cute stores and restaurants close by. They serve free tea with cocoa leaves in the lobby, to help with altitude sickness. I took advantage of this and had many cups. I think it helped!

Overall, it was an affordable and cute little hostel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim7493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Wonderful location and architecture/setting - old style houses set around courtyard gardens, off a pedestrianised calle two minutes walk from plaza des armes (note: can only be reached by climbing 54 steep stairs, not great for the infirm or if you have masses of luggage).

Good points: lovely, friendly staff who want you to enjoy your stay. Very efficient tour arrangement service - thank you Herlinda. Breakfast available from 5.30 am for people visiting Machu Picchu with lovely fresh orange juice and homemade jam. Spacious, clean rooms. No traffic noise. A nice mix of fellow guests (no one nationality or age predominant). Good value

Bad points: Absolutely no soundproofing between rooms! If you are not a very heavy sleeper, insist on a top (2nd) floor room, as you can hear EVERYTHING that the guests in the rooms over you do and say. Many guests return at 2 am from treks, and others get up at 5am for other treks, so sleep is horribly disrupted. Damp (though clean) towels - laundry takes forever to dry, so the daily towel change may give you wetter towels than your used ones. Cold coffee at breakfast

We would return to Anita as we loved the location, staff and value, but we would reserve a top floor room and a heater to dry out the towels!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Pennydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great breakfast every morning, room was spacious, clean and well cared for. The grounds are really nice. Staff was always friendly and helpful. For the low price it cannot be beat! Perfect as our base for Inca Trail trekking and Cusco sight seeing.
Only negative: No central heat, reserve your space heater when you check in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchsea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 171 in Cusco
788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#42 of 171 in Cusco
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 171 in Cusco
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#24 of 171 in Cusco
1,130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#68 of 171 in Cusco
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hosteria de Anita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hosteria de Anita

Address: Alabado 525, Cusco 08003, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 512 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $39 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Hosteria de Anita 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Hosteria de Anita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hosteria De Anita Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing