We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good or bad first?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Ranked #23 of 398 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Overall impression ok. I'm a bit disappointed that I couldn't give it a better review. First off, if you went to the website and saw the stay longer for 2 days you get a reduced rate deal....they don't honor it. Why I don't know since it's on the website. They said they couldn't do it since the owner wasn't there. Isn't that what telephones are for? The discounted price was one of the reasons why I stayed here. Very disappointed. The people are nice that work here, but at night the young guy working played the music very loud and talked very loud...past 10. People were sleeping. And smoking inside? Not cool. The shower is nice, although there is only one for the dorm rooms. And one toilet with no handsoap at the sink to wash your hands. Gross. Not too bad, but I'm sure when it's busy it sucks. The building is cold in the mornings, so wear layers. The beds are a bit outdated with a few broken springs, but I got used to it and have had good nights sleep. Besides the snoring people....if you know your a snorer, get your own room. The breakfast tho makes up for everything. Bread, butter, jam, eggs cooked how you like, fruit and vegetables. granola with yogurt, coffee, tea. Very yummy. Oh...a recycling bin here would be awesome! Empty plastic bottles all over. Basically if they kept their word (per the website) about a discounted price, and made a few changes I would have given a better review. I felt a bit screwed tho. Oh well. I would recommend it tho just for the breakfast and location!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmfirelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 191 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Marlon's House is a very good hostel for a very reasonable price. It's located in a quiet street about 5-10 minutes walk from the main square. The staff is very nice and helpful, even if you don't book the tours with them or when you arrive in the middle of the night. We had a big room with a clean bathroom, there is a beautiful patio where you can relax and where the (very good) breakfast is served and they have a well equiped kitchen.
Very much recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon Edwin S, Gerente at Marlon's House Cusco-Peru, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2015

Dear Customer.

It was a pleasure to have your visit to Perú and specially to our hostel in Cusco. we hope that you really enjoyed your stay at our hostel and of course you took some good memories about our country.

We really appreciatte your contribution about our hostel and you know we are very happy for the time you join with us.

God Bless you!!!!

Kind Regards.

Atte.


Marlon's House Cusco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my first experience staying at a hostel. Overall, it was pretty decent considering the cheap price. We stayed there for two nights during the last week of May and returned for one night in June.

Airport Pick Up - Marlon's House provides airport transportation for $10. The drivers were on time.

Location - Very close to the main plaza. Everything we wanted to see in Cusco was a close walk away from Marlon's.

Bedroom - For the first part of our stay, we had a room with a private bathroom on the first floor. We ended up having an extra bed in our room, which was kind of nice because we could put all of our clothes and stuff on the extra bed and not have everything on the floor. My only complaints are that the bed was really hard/uncomfortable and the room was very close to the breakfast dining area so it was always very loud. For the second part of our stay, we had a room with a private bathroom on the second floor. This room was fine and a lot quieter than the first room. My only complaint was that the covers on the bed had a few stains on them.

Bathroom - The bathrooms in both rooms were clean and the toilet worked fine. The shower never really got warm, which kind of sucked considering how cold the temperature was in the early morning and late night. I never really felt warm the entire time I was at Marlon's.

Food - The breakfast was great! There was pound cake, eggs, bread, yogurt, etc. And tea...I swear that is the only thing that warmed me up on those cold mornings!

Luggage - While we were on the Salkantay 5 day trek, we were able to keep our extra luggage at Marlon's. Everything was fine and I picked my luggage up after the trek. Nothing was stolen.

Security - I felt very safe at Marlon's. They have a doorbell on the door and no one can come in unless you ring the door bell and someone lets you enter.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor...it gets very loud on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mreszka14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for around 7 nights in Marlon´s House, Cusco at the start of May. It was a really good base to explore Cusco. It was a 5 minute walk into town and the staff were really helpful at showing us on the map where everything was! We had a private en-suite room, which was clean, spacious and always had hot water. Breakfast was included and there was bread, cereal, coffee/teas etc and even eggs, which was nice! They had facilities for you to cook if you wanted and there was a fridge too - although we only really cooked quick meals like soup/pasta. They also had a computer for guests to use free of charge, which was really useful! Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and continued on to stay in Marlon´s Houses in Arequipa and Puno afterwards.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy and Lindsa... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and felt that the room, staff, breakfast and travel agency were adequate to good. The location was great and we felt safe. We did run into an issue with some boots left on the tour bus. Although we called and they arranged to pick them up, in the end they said the bus company threw them out. Highly unlikely! Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siszazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in total in two stays, had a room with 3 beds for a couple, the main double had seen better days as it was pretty uncomfortable and left you rolling to the middle. The place is small with not enough room at breakfast for everyone. Staff were helpful and always provided hot drinks. Good location and still good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Marlon's house is a nice, inexpensive little hostel that has your basic needs met. Three of us stayed in a room that had three twin beds and a private bathroom. No bugs in the room. It was quiet and a pleasant stay. Marlon helped us out with arranging our Machu Picchu tour. It's only minutes to walk to the main area of Cusco. Would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
Thank AshE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Hostal Quipu Cusco
#19 of 398 in Cusco
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kay Pacha Hostal
Kay Pacha Hostal
#51 of 398 in Cusco
27 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostal Atlantis
Hostal Atlantis
#26 of 398 in Cusco
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#60 of 398 in Cusco
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Dreams House
Hostal Dreams House
#22 of 398 in Cusco
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlon's House Cusco-Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlon's House Cusco-Peru

Address: Calle Nueva Baja 496, Cusco 084, Peru (Formerly Marlon's House)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 398 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $18 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlon's House Hostels, a new option hospitality for over 7 years ago in southern Peru in the cities of Arequipa, Puno and Cusco, it is aimed at travelers who like to enjoy a comfortable and safe family travel, Pleasant,. It offers more comfort without neglecting the familiar home environment, which characterized us since our inception.Three Cities a single quality of service.Our hostels have young, friendly and highly qualified staff, that make the traveler feel at home in our facilities, we have all the services that the traveler needs. This commits us to continue providing personalized and responsible care to all our visitors.Our priority is to offer a friendly and accessible to all services environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marlon's House Cusco-Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing