We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Cheap” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlon's House Cusco-Peru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Ranked #20 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convenient and Cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my first experience staying at a hostel. Overall, it was pretty decent considering the cheap price. We stayed there for two nights during the last week of May and returned for one night in June.

Airport Pick Up - Marlon's House provides airport transportation for $10. The drivers were on time.

Location - Very close to the main plaza. Everything we wanted to see in Cusco was a close walk away from Marlon's.

Bedroom - For the first part of our stay, we had a room with a private bathroom on the first floor. We ended up having an extra bed in our room, which was kind of nice because we could put all of our clothes and stuff on the extra bed and not have everything on the floor. My only complaints are that the bed was really hard/uncomfortable and the room was very close to the breakfast dining area so it was always very loud. For the second part of our stay, we had a room with a private bathroom on the second floor. This room was fine and a lot quieter than the first room. My only complaint was that the covers on the bed had a few stains on them.

Bathroom - The bathrooms in both rooms were clean and the toilet worked fine. The shower never really got warm, which kind of sucked considering how cold the temperature was in the early morning and late night. I never really felt warm the entire time I was at Marlon's.

Food - The breakfast was great! There was pound cake, eggs, bread, yogurt, etc. And tea...I swear that is the only thing that warmed me up on those cold mornings!

Luggage - While we were on the Salkantay 5 day trek, we were able to keep our extra luggage at Marlon's. Everything was fine and I picked my luggage up after the trek. Nothing was stolen.

Security - I felt very safe at Marlon's. They have a doorbell on the door and no one can come in unless you ring the door bell and someone lets you enter.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor...it gets very loud on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mreszka14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    46
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
59
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for around 7 nights in Marlon´s House, Cusco at the start of May. It was a really good base to explore Cusco. It was a 5 minute walk into town and the staff were really helpful at showing us on the map where everything was! We had a private en-suite room, which was clean, spacious and always had hot water. Breakfast was included and there was bread, cereal, coffee/teas etc and even eggs, which was nice! They had facilities for you to cook if you wanted and there was a fridge too - although we only really cooked quick meals like soup/pasta. They also had a computer for guests to use free of charge, which was really useful! Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and continued on to stay in Marlon´s Houses in Arequipa and Puno afterwards.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy and Lindsa... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and felt that the room, staff, breakfast and travel agency were adequate to good. The location was great and we felt safe. We did run into an issue with some boots left on the tour bus. Although we called and they arranged to pick them up, in the end they said the bus company threw them out. Highly unlikely! Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siszazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in total in two stays, had a room with 3 beds for a couple, the main double had seen better days as it was pretty uncomfortable and left you rolling to the middle. The place is small with not enough room at breakfast for everyone. Staff were helpful and always provided hot drinks. Good location and still good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Marlon's house is a nice, inexpensive little hostel that has your basic needs met. Three of us stayed in a room that had three twin beds and a private bathroom. No bugs in the room. It was quiet and a pleasant stay. Marlon helped us out with arranging our Machu Picchu tour. It's only minutes to walk to the main area of Cusco. Would stay there again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AshE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here! The staff were very helpful with information about the area, extending our stay, etc. The free breakfast is pretty great, I loved that the food is set out and you help yourself. If they run out of anything and you inform them of it, they run out to go grab more right away. The room that we stayed in was a matrimonial room, with television, on the main floor and was very spacious, although it did get some noise from the common area in the mornings ( one aspect where I felt the staff could have done a better job keeping the noie to a minimum ). The house is very safe, in a good part of town, with locked doors and a buzzer to get in and out. Very comfortable beds and the travel agency is very helpful. The night guy was really great and helpful. Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Get a room with a private bathroom as the shared bathrooms are not in the greatest condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Even if you don't mind the rudeness of the staff you will never get over the filth!
The room was really dirty and it was impossible to stay in it.
No consideration of safety what so ever... plugs in the bathroom uncovered.

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon Edwin S, Owner at Marlon's House Cusco-Peru, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear Customer.
Thank you so much for your visit to Perú, To Cusco City and specially to Marlon's House Cusco.

Well the hostel is clean but sometime our first staff weren't so good but of course from all this negative things we learned and now we have a NEW STAFF and everything is much better tha's why we have better review.

Anyway your contribution was good to improve this little problem.


Kind Regards.

Atte.

Marlon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#104 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#34 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#24 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#3 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#7 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlon's House Cusco-Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlon's House Cusco-Peru

Property: Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Address: Calle Nueva Baja 496, Cusco 084, Peru (Formerly Marlon's House)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlon's House Hostels, a new option hospitality for over 7 years ago in southern Peru in the cities of Arequipa, Puno and Cusco, it is aimed at travelers who like to enjoy a comfortable and safe family travel, Pleasant,. It offers more comfort without neglecting the familiar home environment, which characterized us since our inception.Three Cities a single quality of service.Our hostels have young, friendly and highly qualified staff, that make the traveler feel at home in our facilities, we have all the services that the traveler needs. This commits us to continue providing personalized and responsible care to all our visitors.Our priority is to offer a friendly and accessible to all services environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Marlon's House Cusco-Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing