We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unsurpassed dirt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Ranked #21 of 366 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hellas
1 review
“unsurpassed dirt”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Even if you don't mind the rudeness of the staff you will never get over the filth!
The room was really dirty and it was impossible to stay in it.
No consideration of safety what so ever... plugs in the bathroom uncovered.

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon Edwin S, Owner at Marlon's House Cusco-Peru, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear Customer.
Thank you so much for your visit to Perú, To Cusco City and specially to Marlon's House Cusco.

Well the hostel is clean but sometime our first staff weren't so good but of course from all this negative things we learned and now we have a NEW STAFF and everything is much better tha's why we have better review.

Anyway your contribution was good to improve this little problem.


Kind Regards.

Atte.

Marlon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    50
    26
    13
    8
See reviews for
16
68
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The WORST hostel experience in all our trip on Bolivia- Chile and Peru. We read the reviews and we dedided to ask for a room for our second night in Cusco. WRONG!!! The staff is unpolite (ESPECIALY IN THE MORNINGS) and the rooms are so small and dirty. Worst of all is dangerus as electricity cables are not protected from water on the bathroom. Finaly note that the travel agent located in the Hostel is OVERCHARGING for all tours and tickets. They charge 15-20% more than other companies in Cusco

Check other hostels in the same area..you will find many offering better services (cant be worst than this Hostel) and bigger rooms.

The location and the building architecture (colonian style) are nice but this is not enough

Room Tip: do not choose this hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanishca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon Edwin S, Owner at Marlon's House Cusco-Peru, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear Client.

Thank you so much for your visit to our Family hostel and also for your contribution about our property which was probably at the begening a cheap price but of course we decide to improve and charge a reanoable price for a good service.

So everything we improve but of course thank you for your comment that now we changed everything even the staff.

Kind Regards.

Atte.

Marlon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The double rooms are a bit small, but comfortable nonetheless. Very friendly and kind staff. Marlon is very sweet and really tries to help his customers. The breakfast is decent, you have to ask for eggs, but they are very tasty! Good location. Would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Karin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked 2 nights at this place 3 months prior to our trip and when it's one month prior we knew that our schedule was gonna change. So we emailed this hotel to postpone our stay for 1 night but after sending emails to several different email address for 5 times there were no response. We called to the numbers too by long distance call but there was no answer. So unsurprisingly when we arrived they said we were late for 1 day, and our room has been given to other guests already. We could only stay in a share dorm while we booked a private ensuite.

It's 10 mins walk from the main square but it's an upslope to walk from the main square. So with little high altitude sickness when we arrived, it became a tough walk when return to the hostel. No heater in the room, it's ok but there is no hairdryer so I had to sleep with my hair wet while the bed sheet provided wasn't really warm for the cold weather in Cuzco.

The staff was very nice and friendly and the hostel has stable hot water which is not a guranteed in Cuzco. but there was one night I took shower right after my friend did, and the water slowly turned to cold water. Generally the place is clean and tidy.

They also arranged some local tours for us. it's convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milky_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentine, France
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I felt at home. The hostel is tiny but very colorful and familiar. The private rooms are very spacious, hot shower, cable tv towels more could you want. Great breakfast fresh juices, coffee, milk, cereal, yogurt actually very good and the staff very friendly and helpful all the time.

Room Tip: The room from the top are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grasiela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is one of the best hostel I'v stayed very clean,close to the main plaza just 05 minutes,one block to the central market.Rooms are very nice wiht private bahts &hot shower.They also organized my tour to Machupicchu which was awesome.the staff speak good english, breakfast is great.

Room Tip: The cheapest room are the dorms in cases you want to get private bahts make your reservation in adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved this hostel! The location is good, not too close to the main square so it's nice and quiet. Breakfast is filling, with eggs, cereal, bread and more on offer. The staff were fantastic, Magda is a major asset to Marlon's House in Cusco - she's brilliant! Wifi can be a bit flaky and it gets a little colder at night, plus the courtyard can be loud sometimes.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the courtyard if you want a bit of peace and quiet after hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#125 of 169 in Cusco
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#64 of 169 in Cusco
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 465 in Cusco
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 465 in Cusco
505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#7 of 465 in Cusco
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 465 in Cusco
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlon's House Cusco-Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlon's House Cusco-Peru

Property: Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Address: Calle Nueva Baja 496, Cusco 084, Peru (Formerly Marlon's House)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlon's House Hostels, a new option hospitality for over 7 years ago in southern Peru in the cities of Arequipa, Puno and Cusco, it is aimed at travelers who like to enjoy a comfortable and safe family travel, Pleasant,. It offers more comfort without neglecting the familiar home environment, which characterized us since our inception.Three Cities a single quality of service.Our hostels have young, friendly and highly qualified staff, that make the traveler feel at home in our facilities, we have all the services that the traveler needs. This commits us to continue providing personalized and responsible care to all our visitors.Our priority is to offer a friendly and accessible to all services environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Marlon's House Cusco-Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing