We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little cute place but not a comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Ranked #23 of 398 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked 2 nights at this place 3 months prior to our trip and when it's one month prior we knew that our schedule was gonna change. So we emailed this hotel to postpone our stay for 1 night but after sending emails to several different email address for 5 times there were no response. We called to the numbers too by long distance call but there was no answer. So unsurprisingly when we arrived they said we were late for 1 day, and our room has been given to other guests already. We could only stay in a share dorm while we booked a private ensuite.

It's 10 mins walk from the main square but it's an upslope to walk from the main square. So with little high altitude sickness when we arrived, it became a tough walk when return to the hostel. No heater in the room, it's ok but there is no hairdryer so I had to sleep with my hair wet while the bed sheet provided wasn't really warm for the cold weather in Cuzco.

The staff was very nice and friendly and the hostel has stable hot water which is not a guranteed in Cuzco. but there was one night I took shower right after my friend did, and the water slowly turned to cold water. Generally the place is clean and tidy.

They also arranged some local tours for us. it's convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milky_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 191 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

I felt at home. The hostel is tiny but very colorful and familiar. The private rooms are very spacious, hot shower, cable tv towels more could you want. Great breakfast fresh juices, coffee, milk, cereal, yogurt actually very good and the staff very friendly and helpful all the time.

Room Tip: The room from the top are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grasiela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is one of the best hostel I'v stayed very clean,close to the main plaza just 05 minutes,one block to the central market.Rooms are very nice wiht private bahts &hot shower.They also organized my tour to Machupicchu which was awesome.the staff speak good english, breakfast is great.

Room Tip: The cheapest room are the dorms in cases you want to get private bahts make your reservation in adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved this hostel! The location is good, not too close to the main square so it's nice and quiet. Breakfast is filling, with eggs, cereal, bread and more on offer. The staff were fantastic, Magda is a major asset to Marlon's House in Cusco - she's brilliant! Wifi can be a bit flaky and it gets a little colder at night, plus the courtyard can be loud sometimes.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the courtyard if you want a bit of peace and quiet after hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

the room was good, location was great. The hot water was inconsistant. 5 minutes into my shower, the water would get cold. Also, it was often difficult to find someone at the front desk. I rang the doorbell (there's no other way to get their attention) several times, and often waited over 10 minutes before I just left. breakfast was great though- eggs, bread/jam,tea. AND it's from 6-10am.

the travel agent was nice but not knowledgeable. we booked our salkantay hike thorugh her because she gave us the best deal. she did NOT tell us however that you need a separate ticket to hike up Macchu Picchu Mountain (also true for the other mountain). She also did NOT tell us that the mules would not be traveling with us (or carrying our packs) the fourth day. no matter where you book your hike (unless you book it with an expensive place like llamapath, which seems to have small groups and very luxurious hikes) you end up with the same group.

Room Tip: don't get a room on the first floor because its only a few feet from the common area and the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Marlons is good value Hostel. We opted for private en-suite, which was small and lacked storage space. It is suited to short stops for backpackers, but we had longish stay and are not backpackers. The main problem is that all the rooms open onto a central courtyard, (which is very colourful), but means that you can hear everyone coming and going at all hours. Staff are helpful. Location is quite good. We stayed here coz of personal recommendation, so I guess compared to other Hostels it could be good ?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulmusikman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights to acclimatize before trekking to Machu Picchu and it was great. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the location was pretty central to the main plaza. They had quite a breakfast spread every morning and even woke up early the morning of our trek to feed us some breakfast and call us a cab. We stayed in the 6-person dorm and it ended up being fine, but I think there were also some private rooms if you want a bit more privacy as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Hostal Quipu Cusco
#19 of 398 in Cusco
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kay Pacha Hostal
Kay Pacha Hostal
#51 of 398 in Cusco
27 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostal Atlantis
Hostal Atlantis
#26 of 398 in Cusco
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#60 of 398 in Cusco
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Dreams House
Hostal Dreams House
#22 of 398 in Cusco
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlon's House Cusco-Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlon's House Cusco-Peru

Address: Calle Nueva Baja 496, Cusco 084, Peru (Formerly Marlon's House)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 398 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $18 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlon's House Hostels, a new option hospitality for over 7 years ago in southern Peru in the cities of Arequipa, Puno and Cusco, it is aimed at travelers who like to enjoy a comfortable and safe family travel, Pleasant,. It offers more comfort without neglecting the familiar home environment, which characterized us since our inception.Three Cities a single quality of service.Our hostels have young, friendly and highly qualified staff, that make the traveler feel at home in our facilities, we have all the services that the traveler needs. This commits us to continue providing personalized and responsible care to all our visitors.Our priority is to offer a friendly and accessible to all services environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marlon's House Cusco-Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing