We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Andean South Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Andean South Inn
Ranked #99 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed May 28, 2010

It's not a luxury hotel, however the service is excellent. The rooms are the perfect size, the neighbourhood is safe and very well located. The only thing I could point is the noise. The rooms are quite noisy and if you are not a heavy sleeper it will be difficult for you. Other than that, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazz_Girl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 125 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2010

I loved the artistic flair of this hotel. It was clean and attractive. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is in the mountain area of Cusco, far from the main plaza, but extremely close to a smaller plaza of its own. Great area, less polution than the main part of the city. Lots of great places to eat and shop close by without being harassed by people trying to sell you cheap tourist junk every 5 seconds (which is a huge and annoying problem in the main city). THe best area to stay in Cusco, and one of the most attractive hotels in the area. If you do want to go to the main square it is only a 5 min. cad ride. This hotle had a nice staff and good food.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR-BRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed in two rooms--both kind of small. The first room was on the lower level and had no windows to the outside (only one window to the inside lounge area). The second room was on the upper level with a window to the outside. Great hot shower. Breakfast was just ok, we had much better breakfasts and more variety in other places. The location was excellent, except that taxis could not go there because the street was too narrow. We were able to walk to the hotel from San Blas Plaza because we didn't have a lot of luggage to carry. The staff was friendly, and the reservation process was reliable and flexible.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susialpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I couldn't say that the South Andean Inn was a bad place to stay, but after all the great reviews that were listed, I guess I expected more.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. They had gone to a great deal of effort to make the place look good, which it did. It was also a good location, the San Blas area of Cusco is a nice place to stay, and not too far away from anywhere.

There were a few things though which I had issues with.

Firstly, there was no running hot water (apart from the shower....mostly).

Secondly there was no heating, and Cusco can be cold at night.

Thirdly, the room was not vacuumed the entire 8 days we were there.

Fourthly - breakfast. great if you liked fruit, if you didn't then tough luck because there was nothing else.

Lastly, you were often kept awake at night because every last mortal thing that happened in the place was heard in every other part of the building.

Like I said, I can't say it was a bad place, but I wouldn't stay there again. Looking at other accomodation around the area, I think we could have done better.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stabler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We booked the andean inn because of its great value and the great reviews however i think its fair to say we were disappointed. the room was extremely basic, very cramped and small, no wardrobe or storage, and there was no hot water tap. The only way to get hot water was to have a shower, which we thought odd.

breakfast was also pretty poor, just sliced fruits and bread rolls. after our first night we headed down the road for a sandwich and a coffee in the mornings as when you have busy daysyou need a good breakfast.

The rooms were cold and our room no 103 WAS SOOOOO NOISY!!!! it was in the basement, and inbetween cars coming in and out, bikes, the radio being switched on at 6.30am every morning i was pretty pissed off.

on the good side you get a TV, the staff are very friendly, and its location in San Blas is brilliant. Be warned you have to climb steps and a steepish hill from the main plaza. It was cheap but i think w could have got a hostel which was more comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparklyJuanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

This hotel is located in Tandapata Calle of San Blas. When we arrived the taxi driver could not find the hotel as the numbers along the street are out of order. After walking up and down the street at 6am the taxi driver left us to find the place ourselves. We did eventually find it up the far end of Tanadapata Calle. It is located at the top of San Blas Plaza, which is about a 10 minute walk down to the main Plaza de Armas. It is a steep walk down a narrow cobble stone road, but plenty to see on the way. The hotel looks quite nice, lots of art work but really lacks in facilities for a longer stay. We stayed 5 nights and had a room with a balcony, only the balcony did not get any sun and was always quite cold so we didn´t sit out there. The rooms are small and cold, so you need to ask for a heater. There is no closet or anywhere to hang your clothes or stow your luggage, which on 5 day stay would have been great. The bathroom had no vanity or anywhere for toiletries. There is a nice lounge area, but cold and no TV or anything so we didn´t sit there. They did not change our sheets during the 5 days stay and we had to ask for fresh towels as they just folded up our wet dirty ones and hung them back up. Overall staff had limited english, friendly enough, breakfast very basic and doesn´t vary so tiresome after 5 days. We did have dinner there one night which was very nice. So great for an overnight stopover but not for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IncaPerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Do not go to this hotel. It is very noisy, sleepless nights!! The rooms are smelling...
The shower did not work at all. Later when they try to fix it the shower was cold or to hot.
Breakfast is terrible, dry bread, as hard as stone!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casona Real Hotel
La Casona Real Hotel
#93 of 171 in Cusco
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
#146 of 171 in Cusco
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#37 of 171 in Cusco
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Inkas Inn Cusco
Hotel Inkas Inn Cusco
#123 of 171 in Cusco
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#49 of 171 in Cusco
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andean South Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andean South Inn

Address: Calle Tandapata 635 | San Blas, Cusco 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $40 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andean South Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Andean South Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing