We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for 1-2 nights, no more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Walkon Inn Cusco
Ranked #74 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Ok for 1-2 nights, no more”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hostel is located near the plaza de Armas, but be aware that you'll need to "climb" all the way up. The staff is nice. The place is clean and ok. However, we could hear a radio, or dogs, or cars all night long. So we slept correctly only the days that we were previously exhausted. One of the staff members has a baby, so don't expect to sleep until late...They kept our luggage for several days in a locked place for free.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Suecia room, maybe it will be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    70
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
4
75
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Where to start?
Pros: relatively clean, cheap, no bed bugs and hot water but that's about it!
Cons: to many to list... But if sleeping in the middle of the street with busses, trucks, motorcycles and wild barking dogs in the room is your thing, you're at the right place... Unless you're drunk-dead do not expect a good night of sleep! Did I mention the pungent sewer smells that float around the room?

Room Tip: Try not to have a room with a "view" on the Pisac road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i stay 5 nights in Cusco and loved it. Cusco is an amazing place with many things to do in the city and also you can make excursions for a day or afew. Luisa and the staff from Walkon inn was very friendly and willing to go the extra mile to inform and share experiences about trips and places that you should and should not visit. They helped us organizimg trips to Machu picchu and sacred valley as well as Puno, lake titicaca and colca valley. We compared prices with other agencies and they were the bet. we would definitely recommend this place to stay in cusco. Thank you Luisa!! Arturo and Ulrike from Mexico

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anavarr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpfull staff, Nice rooms with a nice view! I really recommend this hostel! Hot showers! Very clean bathrooms And rooms. You'll get clean towels everyday. Nice breakfast for a good price!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judithhazelzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The attitude of the staff has a bearing on my enjoyment of a hostel and the attitude of the staff at this one was negative. From the off they were not particularly welcoming and we had several problems, for instance, there was no pillow provided for my fellow traveller and when the staff were informed they just shrugged as if it wasn't their problem. We asked a member of staff to book a taxi and they did not do this until we had to prompt them again on departure. On the bright side, facilities were clean and location-wise hostel was not too far from main square in Cusco (if up a steep hill). Yet little things, such as having to pay extra for a mediocre breakfast, meant it was not my favourite hostel and what's worse, this assessment probably wouldn't bother the staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Walkon Inn deserves its 'our pick' from Lonely Planet. Located just a few quiet blocks from the Plaza de Armas it's easy access to great restaurants and attractions in Cusco. The street is quiet, the rooms are fine and the water is hot. Free hot tea all day in the comfy family room upstairs. Nice breakfast for a few extra soles with eggs made to order. Our room (#1) actually had about 6 outlets, unheard of in South America. The staff helped out with all of our needs. I would go back any time.

Room Tip: Room 1 downstairs is big and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This backpacker hostel is located a few min. walk from the main Plaza, a little bit uphill. The room (twin room with shared bathroom) was basic but clean, and extremely cold. There is no heating in the room and not anywhere in the hostel, also not in the breakfast room, so you sit at the breakfast table in a fat winterjacket. The breakfast is good (not included, pay 10 soles pp). The good thing was that the shared bathroom has a hot shower, really nice and hot. Free internet pc in the breakfast room. Our expectations were high as this hostel was the Lonely Planets ''our pick'', the hostel did not live up to our expectations, mainly because it was so cold which made it uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-travelfraggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 167 in Cusco
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kurumi Hostel
Kurumi Hostel
#34 of 454 in Cusco
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 454 in Cusco
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
0.4 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 454 in Cusco
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 454 in Cusco
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walkon Inn Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walkon Inn Cusco

Property: The Walkon Inn Cusco
Address: Suecia 504, Cusco 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkOn Inn Cusco can be found in a quiet street at hardly more than one block from the main square (Plaza de Armas). Our rooftop terrace offers a spectacular view of the city. At our reception desk you will get correct and complete information about trips,and you can reserve bus tickets to your next destination, all of this at very competitive prices. Some of our rooms have private bathroom and tv cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Walkon Inn Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walkon Inn Cusco Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing