We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money and very welcoming”
Review of Hostel Andrea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Andrea
Ranked #69 of 437 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent value for money and very welcoming”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is very close to Plaza San Francisco and all the tourist locations of Cuzco. The owner and his son (who can speak English) are very welcoming and full of helpful advice, including offering to take us to main bus terminal when we left. We were the only guests to take up option of breakfast, so it varied everyday. The rooms higher up have a brilliant view down the valley but may be noisier. This hostel was the perfect home away from home.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynaldo M, Gerente at Hostel Andrea, responded to this review, February 17, 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión. Cordiales saludos desde Cusco, Perú!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
23
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Simply I have a great time at Hostal Andrea, I stayed here for 5 days, it was such a great family home, the owners were stand out just superb, helping me with my plans to visit the city, Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu, so acurate information, good advices with prices and other places to visit, like they really care of me as a friend.
I got a private room at 2nd floor and the view was amazing you can see this lovely teals and the main plaza, not far from here. Rooms have very clean stuff and hot water all the time as well. No noise, great for rest and recover that is exactly what you needed when return from Machu. You also have this panoramic view from the common kitchen where yo have the option to cook your meal prepare some beverages or just sit there enjoying the view. Wi fi speed is good and they offer a good laundry service at 2.5 soles kilo.
I would highly recommand this Hostal for anyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Halfin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynaldo M, Gerente at Hostel Andrea, responded to this review, February 17, 2016
Google Translation
Agradecemos su vista y su comentario!!! Cordiales saludos!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Me and my wife spent 12 nights at Hostal Andrea. We were thrilled by the family atmosphere they have there. We stayed at bedroom 11, which has a nice view of the city (you can see the Plaza de Armas and the Cristo and a good overview of the valley).
We were able to keep our luggage in a safe room during our travel to Machu Picchu and got the same room when we came back.
Strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: Room 11 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

After walking for literally hours looking for avaiable hostels after a booking mistake, me and a group of other 5 Brazilians ended up in Hostel Andrea by a bless from fate!

The environment, the kindness of the service, the tidiness and the charm of the place is amazing. We ended up staying more than programmed and we couldn't feel more secure and respected.

Thumbs up for this place!!

Room Tip: All quiet! The front ones have better internet connection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielCastroBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We choose Andrea Hostel only because it was the cheapest on the list of LP. The description made us a bit excited to see this "falling apart" place in a way that we joked about it nervously on the way to Cusco. When we arrived, we first thought to be in a different hostel than the one we booked. It was very well looked after, clean, fantastic atmosphere as a traditional interior that underlines its special character. The owners were very friendly, very helpful and pleasant at all times. We had a double bedroom with hot water, TV for 40 soles. The wi-fi was not working in the room (due to thick old walls) but it was good in the common areas. I would definitely recommend this place for it's price range, location and general service. I am a bit upset though for the unfair review of the (new) LP which I trust.

Room Tip: perhaps some rooms upstairs may have wi-fi. Downstairs all seem to have thick walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for two days, wondering around Cuzco and looking for a tour to Machu Picchu. The hostal has a delightfully homely atmosphere and our matrimonial room had a great view over the city, which Plaza de Armas is only a 10 minute walk downhill.

When deciding which of the many tour options to Machu Picchu to take, Reynaldo suggested taking the 'public transport' option, including an en-route dive in the aguas calientes of Santa Theresa. He even drew up a map with stops, typical bus/taxi fees, travel times and more. When we asked him why he took so much effort to advise us, he told us of his philosophy that cheap and honest prices will attract more tourists (and thus: employment), whereas scamming and high profit margins result in the very opposite.

We left most of our stuff with Reynaldo on our tour to Machu Picchu and he just as happily welcomed us in upon our tardy return, almost two days later, and in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: Pick one of the upstairs rooms in the courtyard; they have a great view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koenkeboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here both before and after our trip to Machu Picchu. It was great. The family who worked there was really friendly. Our room was fantastic. We ended up in the room upstairs with a bunch of windows and a great view of the city. Pretty cool! The bed was comfortable. Wifi didn't work in our room but worked in common areas decently. The shower was electric, which always makes me nervous, but nothing happened and it got hot enough to shower comfortably. They were willing to store our bags for free while we were gone for a few days. They also do laundry for the same price as a place across the street. It was a bit of a walk from the center but definitely walkable. It was a little bit up a hill, but definitely manageable. Overall good value and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#64 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 437 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Rover Hostel Cusco
Wild Rover Hostel Cusco
#14 of 437 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#5 of 437 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 437 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#155 of 437 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Andrea

Property: Hostel Andrea
Address: Cuesta Santa Ana 514, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 437 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing