We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best host in Cusco, best hotel in Cusco.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Second Home Cusco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Second Home Cusco
Ranked #2 of 321 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best host in Cusco, best hotel in Cusco.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This little hotel is just wonderful - the absolute best place to stay in Cusco. The nicely decorated rooms are spacious and clean and the hotel is very centrally located in old Cusco. It is also very safe. The best thing about this hotel, however, is the host, Carlos. Carlos arranged tickets, day trips and transfers for me. And as I was a female travelling alone he made sure I was safe at all times whilst doing my day trips and made sure my airport/train transfers were waiting for me. I have celiac disease and travel with my own food and Carlos cooked it for me without any problems. He was gracious, kind, went out of his way to help me. It really was my second home whilst travelling through South America.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaMilan_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
67
189
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles Area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Can't say enough good things about our three day stay at Carlos' B&B. Everything everyone has written about him is true - he could not have been more helpful and gracious. Breakfasts were excellent, with the best French bread this side of Paris. Carlos arranged taxis for us to tour the Sacred Valley ruins and sights. Our rooms were clean and comfy, with firm mattresses and Wi-Fi was included. Go and enjoy Cusco and Peru!

Room Tip: Any room is fine (including Carlos' "emergency room").
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocGerry_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed there in june 2014. You can’t find a better place in Cusco. Wonderful, quiet suites, excellent breakfast. Best of all is host Carlos Delfin himself, such a welcoming, friendly and charming person. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed a total of 7 nights here. Carlos was fantastic in helping us make arrangements for sightseeing, and didn't mind the early morning starts we needed on a couple of occasions. 2nd Home is superbly located in 'old Cusco' & close to some very good restaurants, plaza's, museums, and very safe for walking at anytime.
We appreciated that Carlos was able to store our un-needed luggage for us while we went to the rainforest for 6 days before returning to Cusco/2nd Home for a further stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

What a great find. Rooms are very spacious and such great value. Carlos is a great host that is always there to help you with any suggestions or to make things happen. Toby the dog is quite a mascot and so cute. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Cusco. We would also recommend spending at least 4 or 5 days in Cusco or more if you have the time. Breakfasts are more than ample with great bread! The location in San Blas is very convenient as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

If you plan on spending anytime at Cusco and the Sacred Valley, Second Home is far and away your best bet as a place to stay. Second Home is in excellent location, but what makes it special are the quality of the rooms and the outstanding service and attention provided by the proprietor. From the moment we arrived, Carlos really did make us feel at home, and provided us excellent advise on how best to see the local area. Every single one of his suggestions - from advice on visiting Machu Picchu, arranging for a driver to show us the area, and restaurant suggestions - was just perfect. The hotel is quiet and the rooms are clean, comfortable, and well appointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artsphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you are looking for a place to hang your hat while visiting the Cuzco area I can't imagine anywhere better than Second Home Cuzco. We arrived in Cuzco on a 7:30 am flight from Lima and were greeted at the airport (transfers included) by a driver who delivered us to the bed and breakfast before 9:00am. The proprietor, Carlos, served us coffee and breakfast before showing us to our room. Our room turned out to be a two room suite with a private bath and a very comfortable bed. There are only a few rooms at second Home and they are so quiet and secluded that I am not even sure where the other rooms were.
Carlos was able to give us valuable advice about the area and even set us up with a driver as the ruins are really far apart. His restaurant recommendations were right on the money and we enjoyed every one of them. His advice about our trip out to Machu Picchu saved us some money and freed up a whole day for other pursuits.
Aside from the clean and comfortable lodging, hot fresh breakfasts and advice we appreciated Carlos ability to always make us feel welcome in his home. i wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 161 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 161 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Home Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Cusco

Property: Second Home Cusco
Address: Atocsaycuchi 616 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Second Home Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Second Home Cusco is a Bed and breakfast in the historic district of San Blas. Second Home Cusco offers 21st-century comfort in a colonial house. Second Home Cusco feature three juniors suites furnished in an eclectic style. Each suite has a private bathroom with shower, Queen-size bed, cable TV, telephone, wireless internet access and other amenities to ensure an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Second Home Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Cusco Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing