We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Humantay Lake
from $40.00
More Info
from $47.00
More Info
from $40.00
More Info
from $30.00
More Info
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveler rating
584
80
15
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
584
80
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful lake day trip hike starts steep hike salkantay trek winding road breakfast and lunch elevation gain high altitude worth the effort altitude makes worth every step horse ride sunny day hiking sticks sea level take your time
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 685 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pictures are somewhat deceiving. The walk is steep and there is no shade. Most of our group stopped about every 20-30 feet to rest on the way up. You can rent horses for the climb up (probably a good idea), but due to the steep trail with loose rocks and gravel they would not let our group ride the horses back down. Bring plenty of water and sunscreen.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Kurt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my favorite Peru experience. Trekking is not that bad and the lake is simply amazing. Profile pic is from there!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank alonsoog09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Laguna Humantay was unbelievably beautiful and I highly recommend visiting this lake when visiting Peru. The trek up and back down was strenuous and steep, but well worth the breathtaking views. Arrive before 10AM and you will share the lake with only a few others before everyone else starts arriving thereafter. If you go on a tour, more time can be spent at the lake if you make the trek quicker than the rest of the group; make it up last and you’ll get less than 30 minutes to take everything all in.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank BOMBTWINZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a photographer, I am always looking for stunning scenic destinations and Humantay Lake will not disappoint. The lake is beautiful, it´s surroundings gorgeous. Our agency machupicchu center provided us with horses because I am not a very good hiker. The horse took us right to the lake. A great experience.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank KathrynMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Incredible day spent with Carlos from Exploor at Lake Humantay. Carlos picked us up at our hotel in Cusco and brought us to the Lake area, and then guided us to the main site. He also took us to a charming spot for both breakfast and lunch. Carlos is a professional trekker and knows Peruvian history so well. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank TRAVISM353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews