We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Botique Hotel in Peru - World Class Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Botique Hotel in Peru - World Class Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have stayed at the Casa Cartagena four times now and each year we return, the hotel continues to get better and more spectacular. Having traveled in more than 50 nations, this continues to be the best hotel I have ever stayed at while in one of the most amazing locations on earth - Cusco, Peru. The ambience, architecture, staff, service, food, spa, rooms, energy and experience is only something you can experience by staying. Having recommended this hotel to all of my friends and family as simply the best, I would offer the same to any interested travellers who would like to make their journey to one of the most amazing places on earth, even more incredible.

Room Tip: If this is your honeymoon or your once in a lifetime trip to Cusco & Machu Picchu, this is the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allisterwilmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    50
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
126
307
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broughty ferry
Level Contributor
132 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is a mixture of modern and colonial Architechture and furnishings,with a quirky boutique feel. The hotel is within a 5 minute walk of the central square of Cusco. There are 16 modern suites. Our room was on the ground floor overlooking a courtyard with fountain and flowers. Enchanting. We had a king sized bed ,iPod docking station, huge bathtubs and bouquets of long stemmed roses. We stayed in room 1 and had a lovely balcony although it was too cold when we were there to use. There is a nice spa and steam room,gym all free to use,as well as a range of treatments for which there is a charge. Breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly and efficient. I have marked the hotel as a 4 star because the public rooms were very cold and unwelcoming. Really just a corridor and not at all places where you would linger,at least at the time when we stayed. A fire,for which there is scope,would have improved the ambience no end. A nice touch is that every night at 6pm guests are offered a free pisco sour.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Huddersfielddermot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We just came back from a great trip to Cuzco and Macchu Picchu. We stayed at Casa Cartagena while in Cuzco, for three nights.The hotel is in a great location, very comfortable and the staff is super nice and with such a great attitude.
We don't know exactly how much our room was since we book everything with the travel agency.
We definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano B, Gerente at Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to leave your home appraisals of Cartagena, I am personally very grateful for your words and I am delighted that the quality of staff has filled your expectations.
We will be pleased to serve you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Juan Carlos Burneo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We were on South America for a month, not only was cusco our favorite but this hotel is magnificent. Almost all the staff speak English. We paid $300 per night and stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the garden, it was HUGE. The spa is beautiful, with scenic views of the mountain and a perfect way to end a day of hiking in those altitudes. The restaurant was great and the history photos in there are truly amazing. This place made our holiday and when we saw the trip advisor award for 2013 we knew we were on the right track. Thankyou

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano B, Gerente at Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Casa Cartagena, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel and I am delighted that staff have fallen short of their expectations.

We will be pleased to serve you again in the future.
Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Burneo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently and thoroughly endorse all the recent positive reviews. The location, ambience, comfort and facilities are excellent but above all the staff are outstanding. I'm still not sure exactly what it cost us, as our travel agent hasn't yet given me a breakdown of the various components of our trip, but I would not hesitate to stay there again. he only criticism is that the noise from the air con (on heat mode, as it was cold at night) was quite loud in our room, particularly in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is exactly what a luxury boutique hotel should be. Set up in a fantastic location right in the center of the colonial district of Cusco, the property occupies a magnificent historic building and is decorated in an elegant, sleek fashion. The rooms are beautiful, hugely spacious, extremely comfortable and perfectly appointed (We noticed one particular malfunction, though. Probably as a consequence of the state-of-the-art design in the huge and astonishingly beautiful bathroom, the water from the futuristic shower spills around rather easily, causing the normal unconveniences of a wet floor...) and the service is gentle, welcoming, warm and professional as can be. Simple but excellent peruvian fare is served at the cozy restaurant or in the delghtful patio. And you can trust the ever solicitous and smiling Fernando at the bar to mix the ultimate Pisco Sour.
This place is what hospitality is really all about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

beautiful boutique hotel in cusco. everything was perfect during our stay : the room, the service, the spa, the quality of the food in the restaurant, the pisco sour, the people at the reception desk, the people at the bar and the restaurant !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona
Inkaterra La Casona
#2 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Pumacurco 336 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cartagena CuscoHigh in the Peruvian Andes lies the historic city of Cuzco, famous for its unique blend of Spanish and Incan cultures. Located just off a tranquil square behind the main plaza of Cuzco, Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa Cusco emerges after years of restoration, which respected the original design of the historic house, to become one of the most exclusive boutique hotels in the city. Its walls of carved stone, which combines warmth, elegance and perfection, invite you to experience the fascinating magic and traditional mysticism that will transport you through time in this historic Spanish house declared a cultural heritage site of Peru.Its lovely atmosphere was built on an ancient Incan site, occupied by the ruling nobility of that time and from which it takes its name: Casa Cartagena, former property of the local Spanish ruler of Cuzco, Don Fernando Cartagena and Santa Cruz.This luxury hotel in Cuzco is an intimate refuge that has only sixteen spacious and comfortable suites, which perfectly blend the modern with the ancestral and luxury with the historical. The rooms are distributed symmetrically along a spacious patio of your dreams where time is suspended. It is located in the historic center of Cuzco, which was declared by UNESCO as a world heritage site.Recovery from an exhausting trip to Machu Picchu or the Sacred Valley of the Incas with our Qoya Spa will be something truly unequalled. It can be perfectly complemented with a delicious dinner in our restaurant which offers the best of local cuisine, "La bodega de la Chola", where poet Pablo Neruda was inspired and Che Guevara shared bohemian nights; it is considered one of the best restaurants in Cuzco.All of these unique features of Casa Cartagena and our warm and personalized service will make your stay in Cuzco an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Cartagena And Spa
Hotel Casa Cartagena Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing