We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pumacurco 336 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We were in Peru from Feb. 20 - March 2, 2013. This was my wife's favorite hotel. Ain't was vy comfortable, the food was great, location excellent, the staff was very service oriented, and the restaurant had excellent food and would cook to order.
Would recommend to anyone and its worth the money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Busyguy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    45
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
110
271
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Staying here at this hotel before and after hiking the Inca Trail has been a great pleasure at this hotel. The restaurant the food they make is seriously stunning. Even the breakfast even the breads were made by themselves. Every evening we got a complimentary drink and after the 4 day hike on the Inca Trail while relaxing in the warm swimming pool they gave me a nice juice to go with. Also the Fresh Coca Tea at the entrance for you to take when you want is also an added Bonus.

The Spa is also a recommendation I had a traditional massage that was excellent and prepared me for the 4 day hike on the Inca Trail.

Also the distance from the Main Square is really good. I would seriously recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: In busy time try to get a room not on ground floor as the floors are from wood so you would hear you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlinder_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm so thrilled to see Casa Cartagena receive a few Trip Advisor rewards this year. After much searching for a "boutique hotel in Cusco," we decided to book a reservation for September of 2012, as we needed to book a stay a couple days prior to (in order to acclimate), as well as the day after, our 4 day Inca Trail expedition. The location is perfect (only a couple of blocks down to the main square, but also set back enough that there are no noise issues whatsoever). The rooms are gorgeous, the property lovely, and the food fantastic (breakfast on the balcony is one of my favorite memories). I only wish that I had one more night there before heading back!

They really do deserve their "best service" award, and just to give you an idea of why they do - when we arrived back from our very long hike to Machu Picchu, the kitchen was closed (it was about 11pm). They knew how exhausted we were, and were more than happy to put together a salad and a couple of sandwiches for us so we wouldn't have to leave the property and search for dinner. Just phenomenal.

P.S. The "learn how to make your own Pisco Sour" class was so very enjoyable. Be sure to drag yourself down to the bar and take advantage of it!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony (or a patio) - lovely for enjoying breakfast in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cass_tran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed one night at Casa Cartagena and it was a pleasure from start to finish. After a smooth check in (they knew my name and were waiting for me) coca tea, juice and aperitifs were brought to the room. A free pisco sour at the bar was also very much appreciated. The room was very spacious and the bed incredibly comfortable. There was even a private balcony with a gorgeous view on to the courtyard. When I arrived the spa was closed but they organized a mineral bath in my room instead. The staff helped me organize a taxi to the airport and were extremely attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hheart_142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at Casa Cartagena twice during our Peruvian holiday organised by Kuoda Travel, before we headed off to Sacred Valley and on our return from Machu Picchu. The hotel is a very short walk to the main square. The staff were professional, helpful and friendly. The rooms are mix of contemporary and traditional as is the whole hotel. It is a luxury boutique hotel that has all the amenities of the larger hotels down the road. The restaurant was excellent and the breakfast choice was plentiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in lovely hotels on our Peruvian trip, but this one took the prize. It was so perfect in every way - the setting, the amenities, the decor, the service, the location, the restaurant - would go back to Cusco just to spend a few more days there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escapetonature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

When we arrived here they could not find our reservation, but asked us to sit while they sorted it out. After a little while, they ended up upgrading us to a beautiful and spacious 2 level room. It was really nice-the only downside was that the smell of the air coming in through a vent had an odd sulfur smell. I could not find how to shut of the vent off. I should have mentioned it to the staff, but they were so friendly I did not want to complain. I thought it would not be a problem for 2 days since I could open a door to let fresh air in. Viktor was the star of the hotel! He took our luggage, handled our check in and also offered to recommend restaurants and arrange for transportation and reservations. I thought all the staff members were helpful, but he seemed to take the extra initiative. The breakfast buffet was terrific and the two woman who worked there were very friendly! Overall, a great stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 011235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona
Inkaterra La Casona
#2 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Pumacurco 336 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cartagena CuscoHigh in the Peruvian Andes lies the historic city of Cuzco, famous for its unique blend of Spanish and Incan cultures. Located just off a tranquil square behind the main plaza of Cuzco, Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa Cusco emerges after years of restoration, which respected the original design of the historic house, to become one of the most exclusive boutique hotels in the city. Its walls of carved stone, which combines warmth, elegance and perfection, invite you to experience the fascinating magic and traditional mysticism that will transport you through time in this historic Spanish house declared a cultural heritage site of Peru.Its lovely atmosphere was built on an ancient Incan site, occupied by the ruling nobility of that time and from which it takes its name: Casa Cartagena, former property of the local Spanish ruler of Cuzco, Don Fernando Cartagena and Santa Cruz.This luxury hotel in Cuzco is an intimate refuge that has only sixteen spacious and comfortable suites, which perfectly blend the modern with the ancestral and luxury with the historical. The rooms are distributed symmetrically along a spacious patio of your dreams where time is suspended. It is located in the historic center of Cuzco, which was declared by UNESCO as a world heritage site.Recovery from an exhausting trip to Machu Picchu or the Sacred Valley of the Incas with our Qoya Spa will be something truly unequalled. It can be perfectly complemented with a delicious dinner in our restaurant which offers the best of local cuisine, "La bodega de la Chola", where poet Pablo Neruda was inspired and Che Guevara shared bohemian nights; it is considered one of the best restaurants in Cuzco.All of these unique features of Casa Cartagena and our warm and personalized service will make your stay in Cuzco an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Cartagena Cusco
Hotel Casa Cartagena And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing