We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style space and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Style space and comfort”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is built around a charming courtyard. The suite rooms are huge. Ask for room 13 - it comes with a balcony and the free wifi signal is strong and consistent. Breakfast is lavish and service is wonderful!!
Its a mere 3 minute stroll to the main square so access to money changers, the PeruRail office, shops and restaurants is very easy.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FootlooseSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    53
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
133
332
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa/england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We spent 6 nights here in total - both before and after a 6 day trek to Machu Picchu via Salkantay, staying at the Mountain Lodges of Peru. Casa Cartagena is wonderful in every way. The staff, rooms, common areas, breakfast and touches like bottomless cups of tea, cocktail hour, and the atmosphere in the spa all combined to make us wish we had another week in Cusco! The staff is extra special - from the reception to the bellmen to the waitstaff - we always felt well looked after. The owner, Stefano, was often present and always available with information and advice. He has created a very special oasis in Cusco.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordBoddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The staff was the most helpful in all of Peru (more so than the Miraflores Park Hotel or The Sanctuary - and I'm not saying that to brag where I stayed, just to put it into context). The room was huge, the bed was comfortable. The staff kept bringing special little treats to us. The breakfast was the best I had in all of Peru. Dinner on the balcony would have been amazing, but the steak was too salty for my taste. But hey, from what I heard, that's how they serve it so that's on me.

The decor might be a bit too modern considering the surroundings, but if that is my only complaint, and I use the work complaint very lightly, then I consider this a win. It isn't the cheapest hotel in Cusco, but they make you feel like you get your moneys worth. Also, I never once got the feeling that I was getting hustled here, which is something you will get used to feeling in Cusco.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeljaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This lovely property was a beautiful ending to our amazing Andean/Amazonian adventure.....the staff (Arturo, Monigret, Fernando, John, Eddy, Juan Carlos) embraced us with warmth, enthusiasm, and excellent service. Casa Cartegena will long live in our memory as one of the best places we've stayed anywhere. Oh,yes, breakfasts yummy, lunch out on the lawn even better! Probably the most impressive feature of our overall experience at Casa Catergena is the pride its employees have for their country. We found nothing really amiss, and every request was acknowledged promptly, from missing matches to no WiFi service, which was immediately resolved by giving us a hotel laptop to use for the duration of our stay! AWESOME!!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and looked out on a sweet common green bordered with colorful flower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBillandME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Chapter 1-
Checked into our travel agent recommended hotel, Casa Cartagena in Cusco, Peru for our pre-Machu Picchu trip. This boutique hotel has just 16 rooms and suites and is lovely and welcoming after a long flight.

Upon check-in, we were served hot coca tea (for the altitude adjustment) and later, complimentary bon-bons and "special cocktails" were delivered to our room.

The room was modern, yet vintage, quiet and well appointed. Oxygen is available for a $50 per night upcharge, which we took for 1 night, and it was helpful in getting acclimated to the altitude. Although the pump proved to be problematic as it went off and on throughout the night. They did fix the problem and we were not charged for the oxygen usage.

The location is in a quiet area just blocks from the town square. That square is where everything is "happening." Shopping, restaurants, people watching, etc. Cusco is a friendly town, loaded with culture and bargains. Taking the city tour is also highly recommended.

Service at the hotel is wonderful, friendly and English is widely spoken (as it is in town).

The food at breakfast is tasty and just the right size buffet with some local delicacies added to the mix daily. Room service was also great. We had dinner out and recommend Cicciolino (just down the street) and Limo (in the town square).

Checked our luggage with the hotel and left early to catch the train to Machu Picchu. Be warned that this is a 90 minute ride through the hillside and small towns on winding, bumpy, roads.

Chapter 2-
See my review of the Santuary Lodge at Machu Picchu.

Chapter 3-
Returning from Machu Picchu (and the long ride back from the train station) to the Casa Caragena was a surprise, as the staff moved us into the "Presidential Suite" just for the fun of it!

What a great room! 2 bedrooms, enclosed front porch, and a giant in-room jacuzzi with plenty of hot water.

The longer we stayed at the Casa Cartagena, the more we liked it and its staff.

This hotel was a true jewel and is a must-stay in a must-see city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwcharacters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Casa Cartagena was one of 5 hotels (including the $1500/night Sanctuary Lodge) we stayed during a recent trip to Peru and it was a breath of fresh air. I read the other (negative) reviews and can only think shame on picky, picky people! This is a small boutique hotel in a developing country. It is not perfect. The tile in the bathroom may not line up perfectly, the lighting may not be close enough to the bed (really?), the typeface on the bathroom amenities may be too small for some to read, the pace of service may reflect that of South America and not the U.S., but THIS is a really nice, comfortable place that made us feel welcomed and relaxed. Relatively speaking, it was a really good value for the money (about $300 US/night for a suite).

The front desk greeted us by name upon arrival. They promptly showed us to a large and beautiful suite with a stunning balcony overlooking the courtyard. After settling for a few moments, they sent up some coca tea and sweets to welcome us. We took a short walk around the property to see what was available. Every staff member we encountered was warm and friendly. As evening descended, they sent up complimentary appetizers and a welcome cocktail - some strawberry pisco deliciousness and some tasty appetizers. Because we were beat - and to take advantage of the terrific balcony - we stayed in and ordered room service. The food was delivered promptly and was as good, or better, than anything we'd had in Peru.

The bed was enormous and comfortable. The shower was amazing.

The included breakfast buffet the next morning was the best we had during our entire trip. A better than average selection of fresh fruit, eggs and omelettes cooked to order, croissants that would make a Frenchman weep with jealousy (no joke!) and a host of typical Peruvian selections - all tasty and fresh.

We visited the spa for a quick dip in the hot tub/jacuzzi. While not a true "spa" by American standards, it is uncommon and luxurious by Peruvian standards. A nice cost-free addition to our stay. We were so relaxed we didn't want to leave.

Our checkout was smooth and uneventful. In fact, we stayed a couple hours beyond checkout without a hitch. The front desk arranged a taxi to the airport for only 8 soles - we paid much higher rates from other places in Cuzco.

It is a tough task for a hotel to offer a traditional Peruvian experience while offering the amenities typical of Western standards. I think this hotel does a terrific job of maintaining an authenticl local identity while still providing the creature comforts that us spoiled Americans consider necessary. Considering your surroundings, this was a beautiful and well-run property that made us feel pampered. I'd recommend it to anyone staying in Cusco.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellerrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The hotel has a lot of potential but let's itself down by too many small errors. Some examples are the shower floods the bathroom floor as screen is too small, bathroom set out with fantastic candles no matches!, second dect phone base is only a holder does not charge so battery runs out in the middle of the night and beeps to wake you up,hotel built round cobbled court yard so luggage gets dragged over so early departures wake you up. Could get the porters a good soft wheel trolley! Room service 50mins for two sandwiches which were cold on arrival. Nice touches such as complementary cocktails sent to room. I must say the staff try very hard and have a good attitude but the attention to detail needs looking at!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adsjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.3 mi away
Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Pumacurco 336 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Business Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cartagena CuscoHigh in the Peruvian Andes lies the historic city of Cuzco, famous for its unique blend of Spanish and Incan cultures. Located just off a tranquil square behind the main plaza of Cuzco, Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa Cusco emerges after years of restoration, which respected the original design of the historic house, to become one of the most exclusive boutique hotels in the city. Its walls of carved stone, which combines warmth, elegance and perfection, invite you to experience the fascinating magic and traditional mysticism that will transport you through time in this historic Spanish house declared a cultural heritage site of Peru.Its lovely atmosphere was built on an ancient Incan site, occupied by the ruling nobility of that time and from which it takes its name: Casa Cartagena, former property of the local Spanish ruler of Cuzco, Don Fernando Cartagena and Santa Cruz.This luxury hotel in Cuzco is an intimate refuge that has only sixteen spacious and comfortable suites, which perfectly blend the modern with the ancestral and luxury with the historical. The rooms are distributed symmetrically along a spacious patio of your dreams where time is suspended. It is located in the historic center of Cuzco, which was declared by UNESCO as a world heritage site.Recovery from an exhausting trip to Machu Picchu or the Sacred Valley of the Incas with our Qoya Spa will be something truly unequalled. It can be perfectly complemented with a delicious dinner in our restaurant which offers the best of local cuisine, "La bodega de la Chola", where poet Pablo Neruda was inspired and Che Guevara shared bohemian nights; it is considered one of the best restaurants in Cuzco.All of these unique features of Casa Cartagena and our warm and personalized service will make your stay in Cuzco an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Cartagena And Spa
Hotel Casa Cartagena Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing