We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostal & warm hospitality!”
Review of Hostal Quipu Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Ranked #20 of 379 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lida and her staff know how to deliver warm hospitality, accompanied by equally warm beds and copious amounts of coca tea. The hostal is clean and tidy, and the courtyard has a pleasant ambience – perfect for comparing notes with fellow travellers, and easing into life at altitude! Within easy walking distance to the main plaza and markets, laundry facilities, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globaltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Quipu Cusco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 283 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Thank you to Lida and her team for making us so welcome. We arrived feeling a bit weary and our Coca tea and rest in the courtyard was just what we needed.
Rooms were quaint, locks historic but worked. Was a bit concerned about the cold nights with the gaps the door left but need not worried. Beds were warm, shower hot, breakfast good with hot tea.
Would be lovely to go back when the other side is finished. Unfortunately when we were due back she was booked but happily booked us into another hostal around the corner.
Another "I wonder what is behind this door" moment in Peru and it was a treasure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kakiroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you've been on the road too long, are worried about the altitude, or just want a nice place to relax and a bit of mothering, this is the place to go! Lida and her family run this small hotel in a sidestreet in Cusco (a short walk from the Plaza de Armas and the centre of town). It's comfortable, very quiet at night, and you get a nice breakfast, but Lida's personal touch makes this place special. When our group of 10 arrived she came out to greet us all individually, sat us down the in the sunny courtyard and brought us coca tea (always available), gave us excellent information about where to eat, and generally provided a really friendly service. We all appreciated it! Muchas gracias to Lida and her smiling staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights and found it to be a good location. Breakfast and coffee were good. Kitchen is small but sufficient to make dinner for yourself. The owner is very friendly and we enjoyed practicing our Spanish with her. All staff were friendly.

The hotsel was being worked on while we were there. It could use some updating. Our only complaint is that the door to our room was locked in such a way that there was a large space between the door. Easily dealt win by leaning a backpack against it.

Hot water the whole time. Called a cab early for us on our last day. May need to knock on reception door for a super early breakfast, otherwise when ever you wake up, they will make it for you.

There's a delicious chocolate shop directly across ("de ti, para mi" I think it's called) try the Beso Andino and you will thank me!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Warm rooms with free breakfast. The place was under construction while we were there, but had a nice courtyard to sit in the sun. The showers were not always hot. Ask the hostess to check the small propane tank before you start showering or you might be miserably cold.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaronthegreat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

A small budget place that is modern, well furnished and close to the clifftop parks, The rooms here are small, basic, but clean and proprietor speak english is helpful, There is a shared kitchen. hot water and laundry service, Fess include breakfast. There`s a small interior garden for relaxing.. Recommend

Room Tip: Ask for a discounts, in a low season...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had an awesome five day stay in cusco. Hostal quipu is around 10 mins walking from the plaza de armas and very quiet. Still, we always felt safe, even when walking home at 2am.

Lida is a great a host and provides restaurant recommendations as well as an awesome breakfast with rolls, jam, eggs, orange juice and tea. Courtyard in the hostel is great for relaxing!

For only 30usd a great place to stay in a beautiful city!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tim289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#68 of 170 in Cusco
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 481 in Cusco
1,431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#1 of 379 in Cusco
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#9 of 379 in Cusco
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 481 in Cusco
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Quipu Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Quipu Cusco

Address: Calle Fierro No. 495, Cusco 05184, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 379 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $33 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel Quipu, a beautiful colonial house, whose balconies and carved doors and the charm of her yard invite you to a different space. What we hope to assist in rooms in single, double, triple and Additional bed. Rooms with private bath, it with a decor and family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Quipu Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing