We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel with great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Welcome Cusco Hostel
Ranked #161 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hostel with great value for money”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you are looking for a cheap place that offers nice rooms and has a great breakfast included (pancake, eggs, bread, tea) look for this place!
It's a bit uphill, so you have to walk some stairs to get there (good exercise).
It's a quiet hostel, so don't expect a bar and lots of entertainment. It's basic, but clean and the owners are very nice and helpfull. I would recommend to all backpackers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
27
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We've stayed quite a while in this hostal. Son and father working in this hostal are really nice and hospitable. They helped us out to call for a cab and to call the tour agency who was going to pick us up at 5 in the morning but they were a bit delayed. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are nice. It can get a bit cold in there during the night, but hey, thats Cusco!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Obviously a great view from the hostel, although walking up and down the steps several times a day can get tiresome. Hostel is very cold, with communal areas unheated and open to the outside through gaps in the windows.

Owner is very helpful and speaks perfect English, we booked a jungle trek through him which worked out pretty well, and the details of the trip were almost as described.

We had hot water about one third of the time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sageofwhimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and loved it! The view of the entire city from the breakfast terrace is incredible. Its a few steps up to it, but its totally worth it!
The breakfast is great, pancakes, eggs, tea, orange juice and toasted bread.... exactly what you need to start the day to explore the beautiful city of cusco :)
The staff are amazing, the two woman that cook, clean and wash your clothes are lovely, and Luis and his dad (the owners) are awesome!!!! Luis speaks amazing english and is really cool!
There is even a huge wide screen tv where you can chill and watch a dvd....(they have hundreds to chose from).
The rooms are really clean and nice too, with a lock on the door, and the bathrooms always have toilet roll and hot water. It can get a little cold at night, but we were given a little plug in heater....amazing!!! Also there is free wifi and they provide towels. And even better its super cheap...11$ a night!
Ok so as you can see, we really loved this hostel and would highly recommend it, I have nothing bad to say about it......Definately stay and experience it for yourself!! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLnKETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights to begin with and then an additional 4 nights after returning from Machu Picchu. The view from the hostel is amazing, well worth the steep climb up the stairs (it gets easier over time!).

Breakfast is great with pancakes, bread rolls, butter, jam, eggs and tea/coffee. It does get very cold though, as we could see our breath when breakfasting in the dining area/tv room. We had plenty of blankets and an electric radiator, but as June is mid-winter, we still needed our sleeping bags too.

Room 2 has dodgy electric sockets, which short circuited our room heater but the view was incredible. On the whole, the staff were friendly and helpful and it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great hostel, the staff make an effort to take care of things. The room we had was small but had the best view in town, was clean, had loads of blankets plus a heater.
Breakfast is good, and you get that great view again while eating it.
The big screen tv and collection of dvd's available to use in a common area.
The walk up the hill is not that bad, and worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights in total - first in single room, then in 4 bed dorm. beds are comfy (but in dorm is a downward slope, but magazines under lower end of bed help ;-) ) cold at night but plenty of blankets provided. Lovely sitting area overlooking Cuzco, staff very friendly and helpful. Great view from hostal and only short walk to city centre, restaurants, shops etc.
First few days had to stop every few steps on my way up the stairs to the hostal but gets better after a few days. Not all taxi drivers or people know the hostal so had to drag my luggage around unnecessarily, but owner Luis speaks english very well and is always ready to help in person or by phone if you struggle to make it there. Helpful advise and selling of tickets) for tours and busses. Nice breakfast provided also w egg, juice, tea, pancake and 2 buns. Hot water in shower. Well working Wifi plus computers for use.
Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohnblumenblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 167 in Cusco
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
VIP House Hostel
VIP House Hostel
#59 of 454 in Cusco
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grasshopper Hostel
The Grasshopper Hostel
#89 of 454 in Cusco
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 454 in Cusco
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 454 in Cusco
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Cusco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Cusco Hostel

Property: Welcome Cusco Hostel
Address: Asociacion San Marcos A3, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Welcome Cusco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden place with unique atmosphere. The family run hostal with its amazing view is waiting for you. Located in the heart of Cuscos picturesque neighborhood San Blas, above the city center, it's a perfect place to chill and calm down. And at the same time it's close to the touristic spots of the city. New owners since 2016, waiting for you to come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Welcome Cusco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing