We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welcome Cusco Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Welcome Cusco Hostel
Ranked #89 of 363 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great hostel, the staff make an effort to take care of things. The room we had was small but had the best view in town, was clean, had loads of blankets plus a heater.
Breakfast is good, and you get that great view again while eating it.
The big screen tv and collection of dvd's available to use in a common area.
The walk up the hill is not that bad, and worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
27
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights in total - first in single room, then in 4 bed dorm. beds are comfy (but in dorm is a downward slope, but magazines under lower end of bed help ;-) ) cold at night but plenty of blankets provided. Lovely sitting area overlooking Cuzco, staff very friendly and helpful. Great view from hostal and only short walk to city centre, restaurants, shops etc.
First few days had to stop every few steps on my way up the stairs to the hostal but gets better after a few days. Not all taxi drivers or people know the hostal so had to drag my luggage around unnecessarily, but owner Luis speaks english very well and is always ready to help in person or by phone if you struggle to make it there. Helpful advise and selling of tickets) for tours and busses. Nice breakfast provided also w egg, juice, tea, pancake and 2 buns. Hot water in shower. Well working Wifi plus computers for use.
Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohnblumenblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Home Sweet Home was like a home away from home. We stayed here after the 5-day Salkantay trek. It was one of our best stays throughout our travels. The hostel / family run B&B is located on a hill over looking Cusco.
Every morning we woke to the amazing view while enjoying the filling breakfast of eggs / pancakes, bread, jam, coffee and juice.
We stayed in a dorm room on the top floor and it was always very clean, secure and with comfortable beds.
They had a great range of books & dvds and the people running the hostel were always more than happy to help us out with any information about Cusco.
The hostel attracted a very positive, social group of travellers.
A very comfortable / chilled hostel to return to after a tiring 5 day trek! :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TranquiloTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We spent the best part of a week in this hostel and were very pleased with it overall. The rooms are very reasonable in comparison with others in the area and the complementary breakfast includes eggs or pancakes.

The staff there were very nice and accommodating and we were able to leave our things locked up there for a couple of days while we went to Machu Picchu. Only nigles were that some attention to detail and a slightly more proactive attitude would improve the customer experience a lot, for example one of the bathrooms was slightly faulty the while time we were there and the lock on out door needed fixing but overall only minor worries.

It´s a bit of a walk up the stairs but the view is great so don't be put off by it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

High up but worth for the stunning view - just take it easy... you are on holiday, isn't it?!
Because of it's altitude it get's fresh at night and in the morning. It's a basic hostel but with the most friendliest staff i've ever met on my round the world trip. Keep in mind, It's much cheaper to buy bus tkts with the hostel, instead in a travel agency. I made this mistake!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

This a very good hostal. We had the private room with the views and it's pretty special. Yeah, you have to walk up to it, thus the work. It is hard work but you then have the views and it's nice and peaceful. it's only 10mins walk to all the bars and restaurants. Stayed here a week!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

Guys are really helpfull and provide relevant advise.
Room with a amazing view. At least it's worth only for the view. But the breakfast is excellent, the people really kind and prices very interesting.
It's a place where to stay

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterpanlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#7 of 363 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antis Hostel Cusco
Antis Hostel Cusco
#106 of 363 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Feel at home
Feel at home
#44 of 363 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
#24 of 363 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Hostel Cusco - Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Cusco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Cusco Hostel

Property: Welcome Cusco Hostel
Address: Asociacion San Marcos A3, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 363 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Welcome Cusco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden place with unique atmosphere. The family run hostal with its amazing view is waiting for you. Located in the heart of Cuscos picturesque neighborhood San Blas, above the city center, it's a perfect place to chill and calm down. And at the same time it's close to the touristic spots of the city. New owners since 2016, waiting for you to come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Welcome Cusco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing