We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Casa de la Gringa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de la Gringa
Ranked #81 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed here in May of 2008 while vacationing in Peru. It was wonderful. The casa has a very homey and friendly feel to it. Backpackers stay here (or at least they did while we were here) and were out the door much earlier than we were so sharing the bathrooms was no problem at all. Breakfasts are provided and are very good! We scheduled our trip to Machu Picchu, Ollantaytambo and Pisac with Simon, who was very helpful. Everything went according to schedule and we had a great time. We will be going back in October of this year and will be staying here again. Can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhawk37750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
25
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

THey were great, very nice and kept our bags while we went to the inca's way

Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Casa de la Gringa was welcoming from the very beginning. Tucked away in a little corner of the hip neighborhood of San Blas, but also only a 5- 10 minute walk to Cusco's center, it was the perfect hostel for me and my week stay in Cusco. The staff is wonderful, breakfast is lovely, the rooms are adorable and Lesley (the owner) rocks. I met amazing people, learned some beautiful things and am certainly one of those who loved the arsty, spiritual vibe goin' on. Also, I stayed alone for the first week and my boyfriend joined me on my trip the last night, which proved Casa de la Gringa suitable not only for solo travelers but couples as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuraLocura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south america
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed at Casa De La Gringa for 2 weeks, initially only for a few days, but really fell in love with the place, all rooms are individually named and decorated with a unique style and feel, we stayed in Spirit, spacious, comfortable beds, fresh towels, and warm showers. Always hot water for drinks and fresh herbal teas, breakfast is in included, with either a choice of eggs and breads or fresh fruit salad.
You can use the kitchen whenever you wish, there is a TV room with a selection of DVD’s and cable, also free internet. I have met some great friends here, and the owner, staff and her sons are very special people, friendly and very helpful. The hostel is very safe and in the San Blas area, 3 minutes from the main plaza, there are a many small bars playing live music just a minute away, white wash cobbled streets, and artisans and locals selling jewellery and clothing.
I highly recomment staying at the Casa De La Gringa

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy1SouthAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We began our Cusco trip staying in a hotel right on the Plaza de Armas. By the end of the tip we were so comfortable with the area that we wanted to stay in a more cultural place. Casa de la gringa is a bit of a hike up an inclining street but I have to say it was worth it. We actually began wishing we had stayed there the whole time. It is run by a lady from South Africa. Each room is individually decorated and the place as a whole is just beautiful. A tip though, go for one of the rooms in the main hostel, they cost a bit more but are worth it. (When I say cost a bit more I mean about 80 soles total, so its under $30 for the night.) We stayed in the Green Room. It was spacious and beautiful. The common areas are so great. there is a room with a TV, dvd player, a ton of movies and a computer (also Wifi!). There is also a patio area where you can hang and a small area where breakfast is served (bread, jam, butter, coffee, tea and juice). Well worth the stay. Contact me if you want any more info.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLPudlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Casa de la Gringa is just one of the places we keep on returning to again and again. It's not luxurious at all, but its got a very cozy, homely atmosphere and the staff are really friendly. It is a little on the coldish side, but so is every hostel in Cusco for less than $60 per night. Speaking of money, there is no doubt that Casa de la Gringa is the best value for money hostel in Cusco. The other plus is that it's in San Blas, I would just not recommend staying anywhere else in Cusco.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernhardandLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

This was a great hostel. The rooms were nice, and the atmosphere was awesome. If you are backpacking through this is a great option. I wouldn't recommend if you are traveling with kids. You have to share bathrooms, and there is breakfast served in the morning with everyone else that is staying there. It is a great way to meet other travelers. We met the owner, who was this crazy awesome lady from South Africa. If they still offer SanPedro experience, take it! Lovedthis place.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank perfectsquare4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Illa Hotel
Illa Hotel
#40 of 165 in Cusco
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
0.1 mi away
Pantastico Bed & Bakery
Pantastico Bed & Bakery
#40 of 445 in Cusco
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pisko & Soul
Pisko & Soul
#18 of 445 in Cusco
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Madre Tierra
Hostal Madre Tierra
#63 of 445 in Cusco
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hospedaje Turistico San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de la Gringa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Gringa

Property: Casa de la Gringa
Address: San Blas, Tandapata & Pasnapacana 148 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa de la Gringa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing