We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where are the Backpacker's” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Point Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Point Cusco
Ranked #73 of 401 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Where are the Backpacker's”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I wanted to like this place I really did.

upon arrival the girl at the front desk wouldn't even look up and help me for about one minute, all she had to do was smile and say one second.

There is no friendly vibe here, most of the people staying there were people that worked there, they didnt interact with us at all, the one time some one spoke to me they were trying to sell chocolate's
please don't say "do you want a chocolate " if its not free, say "chocolate's for sale."

And where are the Backpacker's? in my room of 6, nobody checked in, in 3 days...
the people in the common area seemed to work here, or be friends with people who worked here.
nobody was greeting anybody or asking where there from.
the people who did talk seemed to be a couple.

I wanted to like this place because I loved the layout, decor and location.
I am starting to wonder if they make all there money from the locals at the bar
and us backpackers are just in the way.

When I rains, it floods the couch and carpet, a potential for mold.

A 5 in the morning people stood infront of my door, no not on the couch but my door step, taking in really loud in spanish, I think they worked here, I closed the door, they continued to talk.

I dont mind my dorm not locking, but they allow any one in the hostel to go to the bar, so I did not feel safe.

the Wifi was down from 1pm to 9pm, so I gave up on booking my trip to Puno. Will stay another 3 days at loki hostel.

The hot water would only last 15 seconds every 3 minutes, not sure why, spent allot of time
shivering in the corner.

Room Tip: Away from the front and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelDembenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    66
    35
    29
    22
See reviews for
1
20
70
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We arrived to Cusco via PeruHop and were super excited to check out the town! When we arrived to the hostel, we were kindly greeted by Sue who was absolutely incredible. She told us everything we needed to know, showed us around the hostel, and gave us tips on the surrounding restaurants and shops. Throughout our entire stay, Sue was SO helpful and kind to us; we appreciated it so much.
As for the hostel... The dorms were very spacious, however they didn't have enough lockers, the room sprayer that went off above my bed every 30 minutes drove me insane and I felt like I was being poisoned, the bathrooms were always clean, but the showers were awful with temperature and water pressure. The bar was well equipped and always hopping with friendly staff and guests. The breakfast that was included was never on time and was never enough to feed everyone. However! Minus a few of the small petty things, we really enjoyed the hostel and its staff. The price and location were great and we would recommend The Point for a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had to stay here one night as there was no more availability in the hostel we were staying in before doing the Inca Trail.
There are only 2 lockers in a dorm of 4, there was 3 of us which was fine but this is a really stupid idea if you're travelling alone and there isn't a locker free. There are no locks on the room doors meaning idiots in other rooms just barge in thinking it's funny.
There was an automatic room spray above my bed, sounds like a pathetic complaint but it drove me crazy. It sprays every half an hour which woke me up every single time and it's extremely intoxicating!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lash1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I arrived quite late and the taxi driver told me this was a party hostel,. something I didn't want. However the staff were super friendly and gave me a room next to the garden, which was quiet and suited me. There are parts of the hostel to party, and parts to chill out, just ask the super friendly reception guy for a room which suits your needs. The hostel is very clean and the showers are super hot. When I came back from Machu Picchu I booked myself back in here. A great place to stay in Cusco

Room Tip: Ask the friendly guy at reception if you want a quiet room rather than a party room. There are rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magpie_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

years of traveling and tens of thousands of miles crossed and I've never had as much fun as we did on those nights we can barely remember out with friends I'll never forget. The Point is a great place to start/ finish/ spend your South American adventures

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amigodelosanimales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nomad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Spent A Total Of Almost Three Weeks There. The Worker Were All Great People And Were Very Accomidating. The Rooms Were Clean And Well Set Up. Food Was Great And Reasonably Priced. O Yeah, They Also Have An Awesome Bar With A Pool Table And Beer Pong. Check It Out!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbreezy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Point Cusco reminds me of something out of an american movie - It has an essence to it which just boasts a great time .. walking in the entrance door and seeing a huge kangaroo flag makes me happy , being a fellow australian . The place is run by aussies who are such cool dudes - much respect for Andy who is a wicked manager and knows how to run this awesome place .The staff are well chosen , from all around the world ... the bar upstairs is mad fun . beer pong and great tunes are cranked and the space is filled with sooo much Juagar ...sooooooooooooo much Juagar ! I absoulutley LOVE the Queen Salad - my god filled with so many vegetables and a generous dose of Palta - wow !!! anyway i would recommend this wicked hostel to anyone who has a fun loving nature - and who wants to have a truely memoriable time ! x x laula perey

Room Tip: If your planning on partying - whatever room you choose will be choice - if your wanting a good slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laula p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#33 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#8 of 401 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
#20 of 401 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Cusco

Property: The Point Cusco
Address: Meson de la Estrella 172, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 401 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Hostel Cusco is only two blocks from the city's centre. Opened in 2006, this hostel provides a fun, safe and relaxed atmosphere and makes a great starting point for your explorations of Cusco, Machu Picchu and the Sacred Valley. We can book attractions for you directly from our onsite travel center. Like all Point Hostels, you'll find our friendly staff to be some of the best in Peru. Also enjoy our restaurant, garden and loungh área. Our bar is one of the hottest nightlife spots in Cusco and after the bar closes at 1 am, our nightlife guides will take you out to the vibrant clubs and bars of Cusco. Visit us and enjoy the ultimate hostel experience! Please check out our websites for more info about our Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Point Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing