We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
Review of The Point Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Point Cusco
Ranked #68 of 431 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I found this place as a result of staying at The Point in Lima, and I was certainly impressed, not only by its size, but by everything it had to offer.
It has a great restaurant with a huge menu, all at good prices. The bar itself was awesome and had some great parties put on by the really friendly staff.They even gave out a heap of free drinks too which is good for those wanting to party on a budget.
And for those who want to have a quiet drink in the day, it also had a huge beer garden and bar out back.
As for the beds, they were extremely comfortable and even come with huge feather Duvet and all required bedding.

And not to mention it is located right next to the Main Plaza.

Definitely going to be back when in Cusco again!

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the 6 bed rooms with private bathroom located next to the beer garden. It was pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    68
    36
    30
    22
See reviews for
1
21
73
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

loved my stay in this hostel, staff were friendly and made my stay feel very welcome. the nights at the bar were amazing good fun. Beds and the rooms were well kept and tidy, the food here was definately a highlight i havent eaten such good food at a hostel before

Room Tip: they offered a solo room with a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrone81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The dorm rooms are functional with clean and comfortable beds and it is possible to request a quiet room which we did. The Dutch guy who is manager was very friendly and helpful. The bar is decent with a nice atmosphere, there are 2 computers with free Internet and lots of places to sit. The bathroom/shower room is very clean with hot water. I loved this party hostel and want to go back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a big generic hostel, set up for those wanting a party. The bar staff were intimidating to the women in my group and at times slightly abusive. We stayed here either side of our inca trail, hoping for some rest but it was not to be. Rooms are functional but very cold and dark. The shared bathroom was kept relatively clean though. Reception staff were helpful and we were able to leave our bags. But the atmosphere wasn't friendly and open unfortunately.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJLvsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice location with good facilities. The price for cuzco it's the normal rate. Bar and a lot of parties. I spent two days in this hostel in june 2013 and It was very cold in cuzco, and it was not available heatind in the rooms. The rest it's ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I found The Point hostel online while looking for the best price for a bed. Indeed it was the best option as I discovered in the 2 nights I stayed there.
Located at 3 minutes walking distance from Plaza de Armas, The Point was so comfy and friendly that I would go back anytime.
Staff was very nice, price per night was 8 USD in a huge wooden room with big beds and high ceiling, with a lovely bar and eating area uniquely decorated, clean bathrooms and own cooks in the kitchen from where you can have tasty food at very good prices.

Bottom line if you're going in Cusco stay one night at The Point. Just one and you'll love it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and clean. Choose according to your budget, you'll love them anyways :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papillonul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

When I first arrived to ask for availabilities they told me that there was only one space left for 30 soles which was the most expensive, thats only when I was about to go that they told me there was also a space in a 22 soles dorm.
I hardly slept at all as the other guests were noisy and the bar from the hostel was pumping loud music until very very late that night.
I got up early the next morning to have a quick breakfast and head to Macchu Picchu but I had to wait almost 45mn for them to prepare it to finally have a coffee and a piece of bread with butter.
A friend was meant to meet me at my hostal to leave together but the reception staff told him I had left earlier and so we wasted even more time waiting and find each other...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieNCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
#20 of 431 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 431 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#5 of 431 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inka Wild Hostel
Inka Wild Hostel
#27 of 431 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 431 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Cusco

Property: The Point Cusco
Address: Meson de la Estrella 172, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 431 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Hostel Cusco is only two blocks from the city's centre. Opened in 2006, this hostel provides a fun, safe and relaxed atmosphere and makes a great starting point for your explorations of Cusco, Machu Picchu and the Sacred Valley. We can book attractions for you directly from our onsite travel center. Like all Point Hostels, you'll find our friendly staff to be some of the best in Peru. Also enjoy our restaurant, garden and loungh área. Our bar is one of the hottest nightlife spots in Cusco and after the bar closes at 1 am, our nightlife guides will take you out to the vibrant clubs and bars of Cusco. Visit us and enjoy the ultimate hostel experience! Please check out our websites for more info about our Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your The Point Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing