We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Ranked #14 of 463 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The rooms are clean, with comfy beds and plenty of blankets. There is plenty of hot water for showering. Breakfast was wonderful with eggs, bread, jam, fresh fruit juice, coffee and teas. Hot water available in a flask all day for hot drinks. Good Wi-fi. The staff are excellent and can't do enough for you. They understand how people can get affected by the altitude and are really kind. It was great to be collected from the bus terminal when we arrived. James was fantastic organising our Salkantay Trek to Machu Picchu and helping with Marie to organise our bus journey to Guayaquil. They looked after our bags while we were trekking. After our trek, our bags were waiting in our room for us on our return. We stayed another week after that. It is in a very safe and nice neighbourhood and the views from the room were excellent. We have nothing negative to say about the place or the people here and we were sad to leave.

Room Tip: We had a double deluxe with a fantastic view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    125
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
179
56
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Samay Wasi three different times as we traveled Peru. They stored our bag for a week while we explored the sacred valley. The staff is great, they pick you up from the airport, help you with what you need, breakfast in the morning and all day there is hot water for tea. Clean, quiet, with a great view of the city. James, their in-house travel agent booked us a trek on the Inka Trail, which was awesome. Thank you Samay Wasi!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Samay Wasi hotel was the perfect location for our stay in Cusco! Located in the beautiful old part of town and close to the main square we couldnt have asked for more. The hostel and rooms were very clean and the hostel had a nice homely atmosphere. The staff were always more then willing to help out with anything and even arranged to pick us up from the bus station at 5am.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brookefuhrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was fantastic, I have been in South America for nearly a year and this is the best, friendliest, most comfortable, cleanest, and most welcoming hostel I have stayed in. All the staff were super friendly and very helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble. I would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markyparka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, Gerente at Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We are delighted that qualify us that way, we appreciate your comments and hope to have you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We picked the place b/c we needed an airport pick-up (which is included) and we wanted to relax our first few nights in Cusco with a big room and cable tv. All was as expected! When we arrived everyone was very nice and offered us a big thermos of hot water right away for tea in our room (there was about 5 different kinds of tea). There were many channels in English on tv and lots of movies to veg-out to. The location is up a steep hill, so taking the cab from the airport was very helpful, but it's got a great view over the center from San Blas. Very close walk to Plaza de Armas and lots of cool streets and shops. The shower was VERY nice! Good pressure and HOT water! Our only problem was the bed was a little hard for us. They could do for a mattress topper I think but if you don't mind a firm mattress then you'll do fine. We spent a little extra for the upper room which has the view and a little better of a breakfast. The breakfast was great! Eggs, yummy juice, two different kinds of bread (one whole-wheat) and coffee or tea. The only other thing I didn't like is you get margarine and not butter. I much prefer butter. But if you don't care then you're set. Overall, super friendly staff and really great stay.

Room Tip: I would go for the tip rooms. They are a bit pricier but if it's for a splurge I think it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, Gerente at Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks for your comments, much appreciated, it's a sign that we are on the right way and help us continue to improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Samay Wasi is an excellent hostel if you want to be out of the city center and if you like a nice and comfortable place to stay. It's a beautyful place with good vibes and friendy staff. The view over the town is beautyful and the rooms are sunny and comfortable.

Room Tip: Go in one of the single rooms on the 2nd floor (I had room 8). From there you have a beautyful sight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Samay Wasi for a few days. The rooms were nice and the staff were always happy to help with cabs, early breakfasts and other info. The hostel has a great view over Cusco and a nice deck.
It is quite a steep uphill walk to get there from the Plaza but still felt close to most things.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KayC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#124 of 169 in Cusco
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 463 in Cusco
1,404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 463 in Cusco
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 463 in Cusco
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 463 in Cusco
748 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intro Hostels Cusco
Intro Hostels Cusco
#17 of 463 in Cusco
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco

Property: Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Address: Calle Atoqsaycuchi No 416 - San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 463 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samay Wasi is located in The turistic San Blas neighborhood, in a small hill which give us an amazing view of the city, 10 minutes walking distance to Plaza de Armas, close to restaurants, pubs, souvenirs stores, etc.Personalized service that will make you feel like home.We offer you private and dorm rooms with private bathroom, 24 hours hot water, included breakfast, internet access (WiFi), kitchen facilities, luggage storage and pick-up from the airport or bus station to Samay Wasi when the booking is for two or more nighrts. Laundry service and tourist information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing