We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Samay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samay Hotel
Ranked #99 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I loved the service provided by the hotel. I got there at 8 am and they had my room ready, everything was clean and people were really nice. Location is about 8 blocks from main square. Breakfast was good, a little poor if you are having breakfast later than 8:30, they have limited stock of things so if they run out you missed that part of breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 207 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Samay for 4 nights in late Aug 2013.
Firstly the plus points:
It's really close to the main square, about a 15 minutes up, there is a really good restaurant 1 min. from the hotel
The textile market is right across the street which makes shopping easy
The rooms were nice and big, there was hot water (it does take a few minutes to get hot so be patient) and there was water pressure. The room had a tv with cable.
The place was really clean and the staff were helpful.

The minus -
I ordered Cocao tea (which is served free in the lobby) and was billed $9 for it, which i thought was crazy!
We ordered room service one night since we were too tired to go out and get dinner. Biggest mistake ever. The pasta was undercooked and the steak wasn't done right. Also, we are almost positive that we got sick from the dinner that night. The next day we both weren't feeling well.
The breakfast was not good. The toast was usually cold and hard, they didn't have orange juice and food in general wasn't all that appitizing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ak s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Samay Hotel in Cusco, Peru was located in an ideal location even though the building itself was somewhat dated. Some of the hallways were dark and some of the heaters did not work well.
The food was good and plentiful and the staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Didn't find a quiet room, traffic noise in the front, dogs barking in the rear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have stayed at this place twice. Once in 2007 and another time in 2008. We had been staying previously in a little village named Salkantay. Maybe it was the switch from a dirt house to a real bed, but I really loved this place. We got to know one of the waiters very well, and we have written him a few times. This place has a nice breakfast/dinner and the service was great when we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brttngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel was basic but worked perfectly for what we needed. It was a nice, clean hotel in a great location. The shower water did vary a great deal. It got very hot then cooler, but it was easy enough to adjust without getting burnt.

I am not sure why other reviewers didn’t like the location. The hotel was only about 8 blocks from the main square. I didn’t think the walk took us more than 15 minutes at the most. And there were all sorts of shops and restaurants along the way. There was also a fountain and little souvenir market about a block away.

The staff greeted us with a cup of tea. The breakfast was decent and we found it to be very similar to the other hotel breakfasts we had throughout Peru.

The one complaint we have is that the pillows were not that comfortable and the safe wouldn’t work. Other than that, it was a good place to stay and we would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Myself and five others in my group stayed at the Samay before and after going to Machu Picchu - a total of 3 nights. This hotel was in a travel package.
The hotel was about a 20 minute uphill walk to the Plaza del Armes (challenging when you just arrive in Cusco and are suffering from the altitude). The hotel had an oxygen cylinder in the lobby (thankfully no one in my group needed it) as well as coco tea.
The area felt safe as we walked to some restaurants and a grocery store close by. The water in the store was much cheaper than in the hotel room's fridge ( typical) So stock up there.
After every day filled to the brim with sight seeing, I didn't have the energy to check out the night life of Cusco so I can't comment on not finding any near the hotel.
The rooms were clean enough, but there was no view other than another wall of the hotel. No one in my group had issues with the showers.
The complimentary breakfast was decent - cold cuts and cheese, eggs, a variety of fresh fruit (all peeled, so safe to eat), other hot dishes that i didn't sample, rolls, bread and butter, tea and coffee. Food was made available even when we had a very early bus to catch to Ollantaytambo.
The hotel had 2 computers with WIFI in the lobby. Luggage was safely stored in the hotel when we went to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ontheroadToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed for 4 night during march and I liked. Position is not the best: 20 minute walk to the Plaza del Armes, but the area is safe and not far is a supermarket. Rooms are small but nice and clean. Unfortunately we had no view, just another wall. Staff is friendly even few of them speaks English. Breakfast is ok for Peru: some fruits and fresh juice, 1 kind of cheese, eggs. We were a big group so all the time we had to ask them to refill the plate. Atmosphere is nice, lobby is beautiful. Good choice for groups.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucharestLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.6 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Emperador Plaza Hotel
Emperador Plaza Hotel
#125 of 171 in Cusco
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suenos del Inka
Hotel Suenos del Inka
#47 of 171 in Cusco
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Munay Wasi
Hotel Munay Wasi
#53 of 171 in Cusco
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samay Hotel

Address: Av. San Martin 206, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $84 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samay Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing